We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$195
Sandman Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$288
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$319
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$238
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$413
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Burrard(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$225
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Comfort Inn Downtown(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$263
$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Waterfront(Vancouver)
$553
$451
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Sands(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$286
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveler rating
660
81
27
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
660
81
27
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeak roomb bbeach roommountain roomgarden suitewest endstanley parkrobson streetfresh baked cookiesbreakfast was delicioustree lined streetwithin walking distancequiet neighborhoodeach morningdowntown vancouverthree nightslittle touches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 782 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife & I spent five days here in early November. We were charmed by the whole experience.
The owner, Dennis, is very nice, full of helpful travel tips & good advice. The breakfasts are excellent, and the neighborhood wonderful. I highly recommend Barclay House if you are traveling to Vancouver.

Room Tip: We liked the Garden Suite with its private entrance & fireplace
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FastMaxSunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in early November and found the Barclay House to be very tranquil and lovely. It was absolutely perfect for a romantic weekend. The house is full of character. The staff are welcoming, helpful and very friendly. The location is beautifully quiet, which made sleeping a pleasure, even with open windows. You can walk to everything downtown Vancouver has to offer, and if necessary, transit is a short way away. The breakfast is a significant step up from the standard continental breakfast usually on offer in a hotel of similar price: fresh fruit, baking, and a hot offering. The Peak room was the entire length of the house, so very spacious. The overall experience was such a nice change from what you experience in a similarly priced hotel room in the downtown core!! We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent 4 nights in October at Barclay House and had a very nice time. Seeing parking along the street I was concerned that we might have a nightmare concerning our rental car, but there is plenty of free off-the-street parking for guests. Dennis, the innkeeper, helped with the luggage and his staff got us settled into our beautiful room which was very comfortable. I enjoyed watching the neighborhood people walking to school or to work each morning. Breakfast was delicious each day and we met international guests who were very interesting. We chose to walk to dinner 3 out of the 4 evenings and Dennis's recommendations and directions were very helpful. Vancouver is brimming with interesting places to see and the Barclay Bed and Breakfast is convenient to all of them.

Room Tip: Our room, called The Beach, was on the front of the house overlooking the street. It was very quiet. I believe our bed was a queen-size plus there was a single bed in an alcove. There were DVDs available for guests in a cabinet in the hallway. The TV was placed in a very comfortable position. The alcove room did not have access to the TV. There was a coffee maker and a refrigerator and too yummy cookies appeared mysteriously on our pillow each evening. Our room had a unique heater which we could control from the room. The draperies at the large windows were insulated and room-darkening.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in the Peak room and found it beautiful but unbearably hot and stuffy even with windows open and fan on! The staff were friendly and helpful but the Mexican Egg Cup Breakfast was utterly revolting and went down as the worst breakfast my husband and I had ever been offered! We may just have been unlucky when we were there butI don't think we would return......

Room Tip: Peak ROom lovely BUT not when it hot season!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M1SS_G1GGLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Dennis is an outstanding inn keeper. He dishes up a nice breakfast also (eggs benedict for us).
The room we enjoyed was spacious and had a Jacuzzi. Easy walking distance to many of the city's attractions and restaurants yet the house is in a quiet neighborhood. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: the ground floor room behind house (Haidaway room) is large and lovely and has separate entrance.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews