We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“West End marbel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 52 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“West End marbel!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Amazing staff at this beautiful 1904 home, recently renovated with elegance and all the amenities you might need for your downtown Vancouver stay. Several rooms make this B&B a great option regardless of your budget. Friendly staff welcomes you as you enter the well maitained gardens. The house still keeps some of the original architectural elements that made this houses popular in the early 1900s. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    76
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
89
396
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this nicely decorated and conveniently situated B&B. Our room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious. The Host was efficient and friendly. We would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hadjer o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

hey guys, been to Barclay B&B last year. the food were fantastic especially the 'panini'.are made with mouth-watering ingredients - freshly prepared and grilled to perfection when you order. i cant wait to come back again this month. the staff are so accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edsel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford,UK
Level Contributor
203 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for our first two nights in Vancouver. It is a quiet street, so ideal for those recovering from jet lag. The room was small but sufficient for our short stay. We did unplug the fridge overnight as it was a little noisy.
Service was charming and breakfast was a serene, well-presented meal. Fresh fruit and a daily hot entree which was modified for my non-egg-eating husband.
Location is ideal for the beach and Stanley Park. Can be accessed by skytrain but the hills are steep when you have suitcases.
Overall, a gentle introduction to the charms of Vancouver .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Barclay House has a lovely facade but doesn't live up to it. Our room (Peak) was spacious and comfortable, but the bathroom floor clearly has not been scrubbed in recent history. Breakfast the first morning was not bad, but the second morning it bordered on inedible. Egg and bologna panini? Really? Lower the price by a third and don't advertise yourself as classy, and maybe I'll recommend this place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

After a week of skiing in Whistler, my mother and I were looking to stay in a comfortable and well located B&B in Vancouver which would allow us to easily access all the sights. Barclay House was recommended to us and absolutely perfect!

The location is ideal - it is situated on a quiet residential street yet only a very short walk from both Robson Street and Stanley Park.

We stayed in the Garden Room and whilst the room was a little bit dark due to it being at basement level, it offered us every comfort that we needed. The room was equipped with a fridge and coffee making facilities which were welcome after a long day out sightseeing and there was a very comfortable sofa bed, along with the lovely four-poster bed. The cookies that we arrived home to were delicious too!

The level of service offered by Dennis and his team was excellent. The breakfast menu was certainly one of the most unique that I have enjoyed in a B&B, offering different sorts of delights each day! It perhaps would have been nice to have been served with fresh orange juice instead of orange cordial at the breakfast table, but that is only a minor complaint!

Dennis was exceptionally accommodating and nothing was ever too much hassle. Make the most of his local knowledge too - he had some great recommendations of where to go and eat.

If I am lucky enough to return to Vancouver another time, I will certainly be looking up Barclay House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEJ_SlicerCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights on our arrival in Vancouver then a further night on our return from Vancouver Island before moving on to a cruise. Dennis could not have been more accomodating. When we called him to book he was so helpful in helping us choose our rooms for each stay. Both rooms were very spacious, very clean and comfortable with a kitchenette and in the Haidaway, even a jacuzzi !

Barclay House is in a great location just a short walk from Robson Street and Downtown Vancouver and 15 minutes walk to English Bay, yet is in a quiet leafy street. Dennis and his staff made us so welcome and the House is very comfortably furnished.

When we left for a cruise Dennis offered to let us come back to " freshen up" if we wanted or to leave luggage with him on our return whilst we spent ourt last day in Vancouver which was kind.

The staff were a joy so attentive - much better that an impersonal large hotel.

Thanks for a great stay Dennis and the girls and we cannot recommend Barclay House enough

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clivejbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
3,593 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
2,407 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
1,493 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
2,336 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1351 Barclay Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barclay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban living at its finest! The 1904 Barclay House has entered the 21st century as a luxurious, modernized five-star Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the heart of downtown close to major Vancouver attractions including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Canada Place, Granville Island and Vancouver's finest, trendy restaurants and shopping on Robson Street and Yaletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barclay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing