We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and even better staff :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Barclay House while exploring Vancouver, and were really really pleased with our choice. Dennis met us at the door and helped us with our bags, and overall he was just brilliant: always popping in at breakfast to see how we were, and helping with suggestions of what to do and where to go. Most impressive of all, he managed to provide me with a wide selection of gluten-free goodies at breakfast, despite me (stupidly) only telling him I was gluten intolerant when we checked in (and not well in advance). The rest of the staff were lovely, so amazingly efficient and always smiling. We stayed in the Peak Room for the first 3 nights, followed by the Haidaway on the last night. Both were beautifully presented, although having previously lived in a basement flat in London for 5 years, I have to admit I preferred the Peak Room! As with all B&Bs the sound insulation is perhaps not the best, so if this could be a problem for you then try book the Peak Room (no-one above you!).
The location is very good: quiet and leafy, yet just moments from Robson Street; Stanley park is also about a 15min walk away. The rooms we stayed in were both equipped with fridges, kettles, hairdryers, toiletries... and even a bathroom scale in the Peak Room!
I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Vancouver, especially when considering the price of decent hotels in the area.

Room Tip: The Peak Room is spacious and possibly quieter than the others (as there are no rooms above you).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GT_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 764 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our recent two night stay in Vancouver and at the Barclay House B&B was a wonderful experience thanks to the welcoming hospitality offered by Dennis, our host. Our room was clean and comfortable, the food was excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful. Whenever we have the opportunity, we will recommend Barclay House as the perfect getaway B&B.
N and J

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nkurtz577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I just returned from a trip to Alaska and stayed here the night before our cruise left. From the moment I pulled up to the house I was made to feel like the most important person in the world. The house is beautiful and spotless, the location is perfect (walking distance to everything), the breakfast was delicious and our host and hostess were born to run a bed and breakfast. I can't wait to return to Vancouver and be guests in their home again. Look no further, book this B&B right away, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0seph_F184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our mini-moon at the Barclay House. We stayed in the Peak room, which was exactly as shown in the photos. We appreciated the fresh cookies in the room and all the attention to detail. The location was amazing in a historic neighbourhood, but just a 15 minute walk from the sky train and Stanley Park! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masgchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

You enter this beautiful home and you are met by Dennis who is Mr Everything from a tremendous host and he is a wonderful chef and great singer. What more could you ask for. The breakfasts are so great and everyday is different or you may order off the menu. The rooms are spotless and a cookie is placed on your bed when you arrive home from sightseeing. I will be staying there again for sure.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite enters from the street and has its own private entrance. Very Quiet. Hard to find i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 704BigMac41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed there with a friend for three nights during the summer of 2012 and both of us loved it. We spent two nights in the Garden Room and one night in the Forest Room. Both were special and very nicely appointed, but the tucked away charm and interior colorfulness of the Forest Room, together with its more sedate Vctorian-Style bathroom with a unique character made it our favorite!

Innkeeper Dennis is a charmer, as well as a master cook, with impeccable attention to detail. There are always fresh flowers in the common area together with relaxing background music and plenty of good reads. Furnishings are impeccable and elegant throughout and every cabinet & shelf holds something interesting, be it a book, a snack or a movie to borrow and watch in your room.

On our last day, Barclay House had a lot of check-outs, leaving a lot of rooms vacant. Taking advantage of this, Dennis kindly offered to show me some of the other rooms, below is my impression of each:

Outside rooms (street level):

Garden-

One regal four poster double bed set in a small sleeping area attached to the entrance “foyer” which is also the incredibly cozy tv room with a plush L-shaped sofa/day bed. All in a lively combination of yellow, red and white colours (mainly yellow) to compensate for the small windows and resulting lack of natural light. Vintage spacious bathroom with “clawfoot” bathtub, stand alone sink and plenty of flat surfaces behind it. The bathroom is in two tones, with the upper in green and the bottom in white.

Hideaway-

Behind the Garden room. Its open Jacuzzi makes it the romance corner of choice. Colors are colder than the garden room though. Comes with one Japanese-style double bed tuked away in between two walls with the mattres directly on the ground, but elevated from the floor by two steps. Like Jacuzzi, and tucked away bed, but not the colors, lighting or general feel.

Top Floor Rooms:

Forest-

One plush queen size bed in the main bedroom, which is in the middle of the rectangle which makes up the three thirds of this room. To the left of the bed, the last third of the room is the cozy, earthy coloured and homely TV room, minibar, closet room. The middle third is almost entirely taken up by the bed and two minimalistic night tables. The right third is a nicely sized bathroom, with ordinary “best-western” style bathtub/shower, but a classy general feel overall nonetheless.

Mountain-

This is definitely the room with the most nooks and crannies, having the bedroom, TV room, bath area and separate toilet room all branching off from a central, straight corridor. The large queen/king bed takes up almost all of the bed area, the TV room is nice and leads to a small balcony. The bath area is very luminous with and fair sized, whilst the idea of a separate toilet room si great to maintain the romantic feel in spite of dining on curry ensamble. Interesting room because of the many partitions, & the balcony looking out towards Barclay street, but not my favorite at all.

Peak-

This is Dennis’s “crown jewel”; having the entire top floor/attic of Barclay House to itself, the Peak Suite is a distinguished room, not only because it is the most expensive one in the house, but because it sits atop the others and boasts a “single room” layout, meaning the queen bed, the lounge/daybed/ TV area, and the kitchenette are all within the same undivided rectangle. Skylight abounds, the bed is beautifully set on one side, with the bathroom next to the kitchenette occupying the other.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in the Forest Room based on previous trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Dennis was a perfect host and the breakfasts were first class. Dennis was a knowledgeable host and gave us good ideas on places to visit, transport etc. The location was great for Stanley Park and Downtown with plenty of restaurants close by.
The only slight criticism is lack of drawer space in the Forest Room but maybe less of a problem for shorter stays than ours.

Room Tip: Forest room has king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandNSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,524 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,938 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,719 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,111 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#22 of 92 in Vancouver
2,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1351 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: $92 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barclay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban living at its finest! The 1904 Barclay House has entered the 21st century as a luxurious, modernized five-star Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the heart of downtown close to major Vancouver attractions including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Canada Place, Granville Island and Vancouver's finest, trendy restaurants and shopping on Robson Street and Yaletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barclay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing