We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for exploring Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location for exploring Vancouver”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at Barclay House for three nights in April 2013 and really enjoyed it. The location is perfect for seeing the main sights on foot. Despite being near to everything it is in a very quiet residential road. All the staff were very friendly and the three course set menu breakfasts were delicious, though it would have been great to have some choice. It was good to have access to a computer and free parking. This B&B comes highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Suite and found it very cosy. We especially liked the gas fireplace, the cla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    77
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
91
402
49
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
485 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was a very enjoyable stay. A fairly easy walk or bus connection from Vancouver Center station, this place is well connected to all West End neighborhoods and Waterfronts, Stanley Park, with easy access to Granville Island and North Shore by public transport. Free parking is provided, but Vancouver is easy without a car.

The old house, built in 1904, is well maintained. Staff is friendly and helpful, the place is impeccably clean.

Dennis Kusin makes a great homemade breakfast daily. Only complaint is it is not served before 8 AM, but a pre-breakfast morning walk is good for your health!

Free wi-fi and a big screen desktop computer are available for the 6 rooms. Also, flat screen TV and iphone dock were in room. The queen size bed and duvet were very comfortable.

The tulips and cherry blossoms in the neighborhood are awesome this time of year.

The house is quiet and peaceful. all in all, a great experience, I hope to return soon. Rarely do so many TA reviews serve up only accolades, but this is one place and it is well-deserved.

Room Tip: Every room is different. The rooms in the front of the house have a nice view, especially the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshua b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I prefer to avoid the crowds in a big cities and big hotels. Until my husband searched the Barclay House in the internet which is located in a quiet downtown residential area. Overall, I would stay at the Barclay House again and for a much longer next time. With their good recommendations & ideas where to shop, & dine. This place rank among the best so far with our experience with the staff and the manager. If you're bored look for Dennis he will teach you to dance and sing.

Room Tip: Room at the attic is quiet and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a very happy 3 days with Dennis and his staff. They were all welcoming, attentive but not intrusive. The breakfasts were beautifully presented, by cheerful staff - who are also keen to offer tips on places to visit. The hotel is also very clean, and fresh cookies in the room everyday are a really nice touch.

Michael Edwards.

Thank you to Dennis and his team.

Room Tip: The Beach room has a bay window with lots of natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here one night in the Beach Room. We found the experience to be quite pleasant. The room looks out on Barclay St. with an abundance of natural light. The bathroom was spotless and the bed was sumptuously delightful. The delicious breakfast was gently served by lovely young Japanese women. All in all we are quite happy with our stay at Barclay House and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarlynJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A central location close to the core city. Beautifully presented, a good welcome on arrival and imaginative but not excessive breakfast - a real feature. Useful tips on local restaurants. Dennis (Host) was cheerful and helpful, including doing an early breakfast the day we left. We picked the smallest/cheapest (Mountain) room which was fairly small and a little warm for our liking - next time we will pick a larger room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie_Jane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Your staffs make all the diffrerence. they went over and beyond to help..Checking in with Dennis and his staff is an absolute pleasure. With all my room and booking needs.. I rely on Dennis and he has not let me down. Personalized service plus all the ammenities. I know my dietary issues is so complicated and expensive to everyday breakfast. Thank you to the Chef who provided a gluten free menu for 14 days just for me. I feel so special. Each of one provided outstanding service. If you want serenade in the morning - Dennis is always there to offer you a song with his enchanting voice. I'm impressed!!! I'll be back next year.

Room Tip: Beach has lot of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1351 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barclay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban living at its finest! The 1904 Barclay House has entered the 21st century as a luxurious, modernized five-star Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the heart of downtown close to major Vancouver attractions including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Canada Place, Granville Island and Vancouver's finest, trendy restaurants and shopping on Robson Street and Yaletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barclay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing