We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the B&B in Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 56 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is our 3rd time at the Barclay House bed and breakfast and as expected, we were not dissapointed. We stayed in different rooms this time, first 2 nights at the Peak, our favorite and its clean, spotless and cozy. Another 3 nights at the Forest room, huge king size bed and the beautiful extension room with a comfy daybed. The last room for another 3 nights was at the Haidaway and we are like a child when we get into the jacuzzi after a long day of walk from Stanley Park to Canada place.

The breakfast shouldnt be missed in the morning, everything is well prepared everyday. YUMMY! The staff are very friendly. And the manager Dennis is always around even in the middle of the night or early morning when you needed him. We wont get tired of coming back every year to celebrate our anniversary. Thanks Dennis for all the endless recomendations. All the best.

Room Tip: No matter what room you choose, its all BEAUTIFUL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 770 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Barclay House Bed and Breakfast for our honeymoon for 5 nights over this past New Years. We were VERY satisfied with the whole experience! We stayed in the Peak Room and it was clean, cozy, and well-kept when we got there! House cleaning came daily and we had fresh chocolate chips cookies every day when we got back from our day!
The breakfasts were amazing! Every morning was a 3-course breakfast, with some sort of fruit, pastry, and hearty/protein component, plus water, tea, and coffee.

The location of the Barclay House is ideal as well. We had our car, but we often walked to meals or our destinations because the house is literally in the heart of downtown. And the drive to Granville Island or Whytecliff Park wasn't long at all!

I DEFINITELY recommend staying here. We are definitely coming back as well!

Room Tip: The Peak Room had the entire top floor to ourselves, a quaint couples getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jimmy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We read good reviews of this B&B before booking. Upon arrival, the big yellow house was lit with Christmas lights and the entryway was very welcoming. The house was decorated for Christmas and was very homey. We were greeted by Dennis and given the keys to our "cozy" room, aka: small. We stayed in the Mountain room which has a detached toilet and washroom. The bed took up 75% of the room which also had a refrigerator, coffee maker, electric kettle, tv, and small balcony. The washroom had a claw foot tub with shower head. Honestly, I was a little disappointed, thinking maybe we should have gone with a mainstream hotel. In the morning, my mind had changed. We were served a wonderful breakfast by the staff who were so friendly and helpful. Every breakfast we had was just so good which made the stay worth our while.
Dennis and his staff are friendly and so helpful. The location of the B&B was close to Robson street (great for food) and close to shopping.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at this bed and breakfast and found it to be very homely and inviting. We stayed in the Peak room which was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We only saw the owner really when we arrived but the other staff seemed obliging. The only real complaint we had was on our final day we asked if it would be ok to leave our car in the parking space at the rear until about 2 pm as we were not due to fly home until the evening. We were initially told it would be ok and then 10 mins before we were due to check out one of the maids came to us and said the owner had said he wanted the car gone by 12. It wasn't a problem but we wish we had been told this initially. The property was quite centrally located but it was a little dark when you were walking back at night. There was nothing to fault about this hotel and the interior was beautiful but I just cannot get excited about it and I cannot put my finger on why. Vancouver itself was a very nice city. During our stay we visited Grouse Mountain which was so enjoyable and we got to see the bears before they went into hibernation which was an amazing sight. We spent hours walking around the waterfront and Stanley Park and could have easily have spent many more hours there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auntie-ellie-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I just came back from visiting Vancouver and chose Barclay House B&B based on reviews, relative cost and location. We stayed in the Beach room - It was the perfect choice for what we were looking for. Dennis and staff were on site and always available, the three course breakfasts were absolutely outstanding and filling, and the attention paid to decor and furnishings (and fresh cookies on the bed!) was wonderful. Minutes to walk to shops and restaurants, yet quiet at night, in a residential neighborhood. I can heartily recommend Barclay House without reservation!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I arrived to the Barclay B&B last Friday after booking a three night stay back in March of this year. We were greeted by a female who had a confused look on her face, who denied our booking and stated they were in fact closed for vacation. I provided this female with a printed copy of my confirmation of booking, and she retreated back into the house and left us out in the freezing cold porch. After approximately five minutes we were told to wait inside, where another female came out and explained that the owner had gone on holidays therefore the B&B was closed for two weeks. She said that we had not paid for the room yet, and I explained that I liaised with the owner to pay upon arrival. She then said there was another B&B around the corner, and when I asked if the place was nice the response I got was "ummm it's ok". As we had no where else to go she offered to contact this other B&B for us, but she was advised that they did not have any availability. She then advised that her B&B was having a party that evening, so there was not much more that could be offered. It was getting late and my husband and I (mind you we were on our honeymoon) decided to leave then and there to give us time to find somewhere else to stay before it got too dark. We were both absolutely appalled and disappointed in the lack of communication this B&B clearly has, and the way the situation was handled. I hope for the sake of this B&B they take this review on board and use it so that other unfortunate people are not left in the middle of winter late in the afternoon having to try and find somewhere else to stay whilst carrying luggage.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KatieJono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoshiko C, Manager at Barclay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Katie Jono,

It is with deep regret that we were not able to cater you at the time, we are posting the email and advisory we sent to our patrons who wished to be booked on dates December 1st until December 16 every year; as we are closed for maintenance purposed to be rebooked on dates our B&B will be available.

Again we apologize that we were not able to serve you at that time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

if you're a little tired of hotel and motel scene, make the move over to Bed And Breakfast. You'll discover personal touches, friendly hosts and a delicious breakfast waiting for you in the morning. Barclay House is a wonderful B and B to stay. I thank Dennis for his enchanting singing voice during our wedding anniversary one breakfast morning. And a farewell song for our late departure. This man is really talented. thank you for the warm hospitality and thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Choose the Beach Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yolanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,986 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
818 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 56 in Vancouver
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1351 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: $87 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barclay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban living at its finest! The 1904 Barclay House has entered the 21st century as a luxurious, modernized five-star Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the heart of downtown close to major Vancouver attractions including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Canada Place, Granville Island and Vancouver's finest, trendy restaurants and shopping on Robson Street and Yaletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Barclay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing