We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost home but better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 52 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Almost home but better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

This was our third trip to Vancouver and The Barclay House where we had an intimate wedding
two years ago in their living room. The House is tucked away in a residential neighborhood. We stayed in the Haidaway for the second time. It is a spacious ground level room that could sleep four but is cozy for two. Its special feature is a jacuzzi. As soon as plans are conceived for a vacation we make our reservation; it is that special. The house is only 2 blocks away from Robson street where we find several of our favorite U.S. stores.

The best part of our stay is the staff. Arty and Dennis were there to greet us on our arrival this year. Once we were settled, we spent a little time talking in general about plans and any special needs. Dennis was ready with suggestions including a day trip to Victoria which was not in our thinking when we arrived. What a great addition to our usual wandering around the city. Somehow he came up with new and different things to do remembering our previous trips.

The highlight of each day was breakfast. Arty comes up with a delicious and creative meal every day. They are well presented and the servings so large that I took something away for a snack each day. I think I put on a couple of pounds during our stay even while watching the amount of food I ate. Part of his job was to supply us each with a fresh cookie snack at the foot of our bed each evening.

It was just like home without having to do any work. We cold not have done it better ourselves. This will be our home of choice whenever we travel to Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mwillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    76
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
89
397
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Barclay House while we enjoyed Vancouver before taking a coastal cruise. We loved our time at The Barclay House MORE than the cruise!!! The stayed in the forest room and wow! What a comfy bed! We were overwhelmed with the great service from Dennis and Art. The breakfast was outstanding everyday. Our fab was the eggs benedict. Dennis had great suggestions for dinner and activities. Everything was within walking distance. Quiet neighborhood but close to thecity center

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbunch04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband, daughter and I recently spent five nights at the Barclay House. This is our third stay and every visit is most enjoyable thanks to the hospitality and friendliness of our host Dennis and the delicious breakfasts provided by Art. Breakfast usually consists of some fresh fruit, muffins and a hot entree, more than enough to carry us through the day. The location is excellent within walking distance ( a few blocks) of downtown , Stanley Park and water taxis to Granville Island.
The Inn is tastefully decorated and offers a more intimate environment than a large hotel. We stayed in the Peak Room which offers a day bed for a third person. It is on the top floor and is quite spacious. I read the other reviews about the noisy neighbours.The only disturbance we experienced was from annoying seagulls in the early morning.The problem was solved by shutting our windows. For those of you who like the B and B experience, Barclay House will not disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 155004Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this charming B&B for two nights and we were very delighted by our stay there. We were put in the "Peak Room", which is on the top floor. The bed was very comfortable with good sheets, large sitting area, skylights, and a good size bathroom. One minor complaint, the ceiling fan only goes on with the light, so we had to use the portable noisy air-conditioner.
The breakfasts we were served were delicious and we didn't go away hungry. Lovely presentation in a charming dinning room. Our server, Dennis was great and made sure we were comfortable during our stay there. He always had a smile and more than happy to help with whatever.
The B&B was in a good location. Quiet neighborhood and there was parking in the back. It was a bit pricey, but it was well worth it. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Narrow stairs to the room on top floor, but like that it is a very large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PortlandLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.i.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in the Forest room.Barclay House is beautiful and very well preserved.Our room was lovely with a very high but comfy bed.Breakfast was nice but a choice would be a good ! Dennis was friendly and helpful,checking out things on the computer and getting us a taxi etc.Downside was a very noisy man in the building next door who woke us up at 4 am shouting at some-one,so not much sleep after that.However Dennis said they will get that sorted.Also the room was a bit hot and we had to close the window due to the noisy neighbour.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokelumne Hill, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed in the "Haidaway", which is in the basement of this old house. It was finished very nicely, with a very open space. This was great, except that the soaking tub was in the public area, and we were traveling w/our 21 year old son! Oh well. It was quiet until breakfast time came. Then we were awakened by the preparations, quite a while before we actually needed to get up. This room is under the kitchen, so if you like to sleep in a bit, don't get it! Also, breakfast was definitely so-so. Of the 3 b&b's we stayed at on our trip, this was by far the worst food. Disappointing for such an expensive place. Otherwise, location is great, walk to see the fireworks at the beach and eat at wonderful restaurants. NIce neighborhood. Easy parking behind house.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs if you don't want to hear your breakfast being made early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muttenz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Many Thanks Art and Denis for the nice stay in your B&B. We loved the mountain room, the very delicious breakfast and your help for the taxi, please note that we were on time,-). To stay at a lovely b&b as yours is always so much nicer than in a big hotel, we also liked the short ways to Downtown and other neighbourhoods. Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bausi32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,337 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1351 Barclay Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barclay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban living at its finest! The 1904 Barclay House has entered the 21st century as a luxurious, modernized five-star Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the heart of downtown close to major Vancouver attractions including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Canada Place, Granville Island and Vancouver's finest, trendy restaurants and shopping on Robson Street and Yaletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barclay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing