We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night out in Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Ranked #50 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised by this gem of a property. Extremely comfortable and everything was within walking distance.clean and quiet and I will recommend to friends.office staff was very helpful with directions and things to do .

Room Tip: We had a suite with kitchen amenities which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Always a pleasure to read when a guest has had a great time. Thank you for your comments. We do very much appreciate referrals so thank you, also, for that offer. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you on your next visit to Vancouver. For the record, all suites feature fully equipped kitchens which makes it great for preparing your own meals and snacks particularly if traveling as a family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 585 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were in the two bedroom personality suite at this hotel-apartment. This place had quite a few problems:
1) There was no 24-7 attendant in the building. As we arrived later than their working hour, I had to check-in myself by calling somebody and get access to the lobby where there was a letter taped to the wall giving me the access code to a safe-box at its side that had the key. They could just tape the key-cards to the wall. I wish I acted on this first clue but I did not. The real problem started when I needed help with the room and there was not anybody and there was not any clear instruction in this regard.
2) There was no hotel luggage cart. There was only a dolly (hand truck) that was too small to move suitcases. There was nobody to help with our luggage either. (Remember there was not any attending service person when we arrived.). The option of carrying suitcases from the main entrance was not available as there was not any place to park our car in front of the building. Moreover, there was not any ramp for carts or suitcases and we had to carry up our luggage for 4-5 stairs and I decided to use the parking.
3) The parking was at basement and I had to get into it through a back alley. SURPRISE: there was not any elevator at basement. Then we had to carry our luggage through stairs to main lobby where we can use elevator from there.
4) The windows in our suite were the old type and they were not close shot completely and this made it cold. It was disturbing as I had my young kids with myself. There was no extra blanket to use inside the suite and I had to ask for it the next day when the attendant was in the hotel. There was also a heater in the sitting room that we were not aware of. We tried it the next night but we decided to leave it alone as it was too noisy.
5) The next day I asked for a baby cot from the manager, and it was provided but they charged me without letting me know that there is any charge associated with it. I have two young kids and I have been in several different hotels with them (at least 4 other hotels in this trip as we stopped in may locations) and this was the first time that I had to pay for a baby cot.
6) The room was OK and relatively clean. The microwave was on a stand that was not very safe for a family with kids. The window and window frames were old and cold breeze was coming in.
7) Stairways from basement to main lobby, and hallways in main floor and 4th floor were smelly and not very clean.

I have been in different hotels in Vancouver downtown. This was my worst experience. In general for the price that I paid for a two bedroom suite, I could rent 2 single hotel rooms with less hassle. I do not recommend this place to anybody and I won't return to this place for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

It is always disappointing when a guest is not satisfied with their stay, particularly when the entire team works diligently to ensure that whenever possible any short fallings are handled as quickly as possible, to the guest satisfaction, with the guest walking away feeling that they had a positive experience. When the hotel is unaware that there is any challenge, until it appears online, there is not much the hotel can do to resolve the issue. There are also times when a guests’ dissatisfaction has nothing to do with the hotel itself but rather experiences beyond the hotel’s ability to control or resolve. Thankfully Rosellen Suites at Stanley Park has a fantastic record for guest service that is reflected in the fact that over 50% of Rosellen guests return. Each year over 18.000 guests are served with a maximum of 6 complaints in any given year. Each of those is typically a misconception of what type of accommodations and what style of service Rosellen Suites provides.

To address the areas of concern in this review specifically:

1) The hotel does not operate a 24 hour staffed front desk. However, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours a day to assist guests with whatever they may need. In this specific case the guest contacted a Duty Manager on arrival and was provided access to the hotel where their late arrival packet and instructions were readily available. Though every late arriving guest is not met personally, interestingly, in this case the Duty Manager did greet the guest, advised on parking and after being made aware that they had a lot of luggage offered to assist but that offer to assist was rejected by this guest.

2) As there are no ramps the best available tool to assist with luggage is a hand cart and that hand cart is available for all guests use.

3) The parking is in the basement and there is also outdoor parking for oversized vehicles and as in most hotels the entrance to the parking is indeed on the back of the building which is typically an alleyway.

4) The building is 1959 and the windows are very large. The benefit is that guests actually have windows that open and the ability to have fresh air if desired. This is rare in many newer hotels that do not have windows that open and is a much appreciated benefit to most guests. In closing the windows properly the secure bars do need to be released and if any guest has a challenge with this assistance is a mere phone call away. All bedding including sofa beds and Murphy beds are fully prepared with blankets and bedding. If additional bedding is needed, again, a mere phone call solves the issue. For those guests who prefer heat, instructions on the heating system are quite easy to follow and assistance is available if needed.

5) Cots, roll aways, extra guests, pets and parking all have a small fee attached and is standard in most hotels. Rosellen charges 25-50% less than competitive hotels for these services. The charges are clearly conveyed to all guests when ordered and are clearly documented on the FAQ page of the website.

6) The original suite reserved was a 2-bedroom 1-bath classic suite. The guest was upgraded to a 2-bedroom 2-bath personality suite. The furnishings and design are fresh and in very good condition for use by young and old alike. We apologize if the table for the microwave was not up to these guests’ personal preferences.

7) All hallways, public areas, carpets, etc. are maintained on a regular basis and the housekeeping team is consistently rated in the top percentages of guest satisfaction. Again, we apologize if these areas were not up to these guests’ personal preferences.

8) In regards to pricing, though one can certainly find 2 hotel rooms in Vancouver for the price of 1 2-Bedroom Suite. The suite includes a fully equipped kitchen, private bedrooms, living room and more space than 2 standard hotel rooms. The hotel monitors the pricing in all of downtown Vancouver and retains a 25-50% savings over the standard hotel. Rosellen also has a 110% pricing guarantee to ensure that guests receive the very best value for their dollar for Vancouver accommodations.

As a final note in response to the statements made in this particular review, the guests interacted with Rosellen’s Guest Services team on multiple occasions and always indicated their satisfaction with their suite. It was only upon check out when a charge for damages to the suite was made that the guest indicated their dissatisfaction with the hotel. Although the hotel does not make a habit of charging for accidental damages, when an item requires replacement and the cause of the damage could have easily been prevented, the hotel has a cost to replace the item and the guest has a responsibility to reimburse the hotel for that replacement cost. Again, this is a very rare situation and the hotel only makes this type of charge when clearly warranted.

Our apologies to this guest for their inconvenience and frustrations. For potential future guests, we invite you to read all of the reviews to get a true feel for what the majority of our guest experiences have been and to learn about the benefits Rosellen has to offer for the perfect Vancouver vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We returned to Rosellen Suites based on an earlier positive experience and were again delighted with the accommodations. The two bedroom is large and well appointed. The bedrooms are roomy, with an ensuite in one. Beds are very comfortable, with plenty of pillows. The area is quiet residential, close to excellent walks in the Lagoon and great Stanley Park. Access to downtown bus route 5 & 6 is 5 minutes away. A variety of restaurants and other shops are close to hand. The front desk, manned by Tag, is very helpful and friendly. This is a place to note for a future trip to to Vancouver. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a two bedroom if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarthGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so very much for your very gracious comments. We are always so appreciative when guests have enjoyed their stay and when they come back time and time again. Everyone is looking forward to your return visit, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The guest relations and location more than offset the lack of luxury. Kudos to Kent and Tag for making our stay exceptionally pleasant. The Rosellen is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, is less than one block from Stanley Park and is three blocks from a wide assortment of places to eat and shop. Also, Granville Island is an easy drive across downtown Vancouver. Will we stay here again...absolutely yes.

Room Tip: Rooms above the ground floor may be brighter and lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coxaloharc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

It is always so appreciated when guests take the time to recognize the great work of the Rosellen Team. Thank you so much for your kind words. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and the West End area. Looking forward to your return where we suggest you try out one of our Personal-ity Suites that may be more fitting to your personal preferences in accommodations! Just ask when you make your reservation or when you arrive at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The team at Rosellen Suites make a place that is already so nice - even nicer each visit! So many thoughtful touches in a place that truly feels like a home away from home. We love the spacious, tranquil suites in their green setting, so close to Stanley Park and English Bay. What also makes the stay exceptional is the welcome and helpfulness of the staff. Nothing is too much trouble, they make sure that their guests have a wonderful time. We highly recommend Rosellen Suites to our friends and family. Rosellen Suites sets a standard for us that few other accommodations meet. Each visit is a delight and we always look forward to next time.

Room Tip: If you check with staff about available suites you will be advised on size and positioning to help y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alias82_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Return guests, many of which have become more like family, are what make working with Rosellen Suites such a joy. Thank you for sharing your comments. Glad that you enjoyed another visit. We hope your next trip to Vancouver is soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Recently my family came together in Vancouver, BC for a reunion. On the recommendation of a friend, we booked at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park. It was the perfect accommodation for us. Some came from abroad, others from shorter distances. We were able to sleep in separate rooms, to have some of us visiting in one living room while others napped or slept in a different room. The facilities, with well equipped kitchens, allowed us to eat in when we wanted, do our own breakfasts, get snacks and refreshments at any time. The staff made sure everything was tidy and replaced items we used. They were very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, just a block from Stanley Park and an easy walking distance to many parts of the city. Management was understanding of our needs and very accommodating. We were able to use the laundry facilities after the staff had finished using them for laundering hotel linen, and we were able to park in the underground area (for a fee) . I can't imagine a more perfect arrangement could have been had anywhere. Thank you Rosellen Suites!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecile B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We are most happy to hear that your family reunion went well and look forward to welcoming you back for your next family event. Thank you for choosing Rosellen Suites as your temporary Vancouver home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I only reserved here after checking the tripadvisor review and I was certainly not disappointed. I had a one night stay and was greeted so warmly by the reception, allowed early check-in and got upgraded from a single room to a 3-bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor with all that one needs for a great family stay.
Next time, I plan to bring my family.
I can only suggest to improve ventilation to reduce humidity during summer days and perhaps renew paint and some furniture.
I wish the hotel and his team all the best as they value human interaction and service. That to me made this place one of the best in Vancouver!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsaqaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thanks from the entire Rosellen Suites family for your very kind words. We are grateful that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Vancouver. Just to clarify for TripAdvisor readers, our largest suites are 2-bedroom 2-bath some of which can accommodate up to 8 guests. The suite referred to in this review could be perceived as 3-bedroom as it has 2 private bedrooms and also a living room with a murphy bed and a queen size sofabed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#25 of 92 in Vancouver
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,559 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park

Address: 2030 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $114 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a very quiet residential neighborhood just steps from Stanley Park, Rosellen offers that largest suites in Vancouver that can accommodate from 1 - 8 guests. Each suite features a full kitchen, separate bedrooms and bathrooms, dining area and living room providing plenty of space for everyone to spread out. The staff provides personal friendly service. The hotel is in walking distance to many different types of restaurants, shops, and major Vancouver attractions including English Bay and Vancouver Aquarium. The hotel provides complimentary high speed wireless internet access, local and toll-free calls, passes to the local fitness center and pool, coffee, tea, and popcorn with two premium high definition movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park Hotel Vancouver
Rosellen Hotel Vancouver
Rosellen Hotel At Stanley Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing