We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous weekend in Vancouver at my favourite accomodation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Langford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous weekend in Vancouver at my favourite accomodation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was my 4th time staying at the Rosellen Suites on Barclay Street in Vancouver. Not only does it have one of the quietest surroundings in the city it is close to Stanley Park, downtown Robson Street and Denman, great restaurants and bike and roller blade rentals. There is lots of room for lounging, cooking a meal in the kitchen and eating at a dining table. We took advantage of a great deal they had this spring break with a very affordable and wonderful discounted room rate.
The staff take extra good care of you and I always find it hard to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soluna13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
It is always such a pleasure to read a review from our guests that have made Rosellen their home over and over again. So glad you enjoy your visits and we look forward to your return soon! Thanks very much for taking time to share your experience with others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    171
    38
    15
    16
See reviews for
245
165
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Rosellen Suites at Stanley Park offers a level of warm, personalized service that’s hard to find. Tag and the lovely ladies who took care of our suite were very accommodating to our needs. Its convenient location and tranquil atmosphere couldn’t be more perfect. We had fun adjusting to the elevators in which you had to close the gate first to enable the main door to close to go to your floor. Tip: When you push the button waiting for the elevator, and then see the light inside the elevator it’s at your floor and you can open the door. The copper facing of the elevator doors is art in itself.

We stayed in the “Personality Suite” for 5 days which is on the 4th Floor, 2 bedrooms, 1 bath, dining area and a full kitchen. It used to be an apartment building now turned into a hotel thus giving you a larger space… like being at home. The green shag carpet was a little “garish” for my taste but not a problem. There’s a mini stove electric heater that we left on continuously as there are no thermostats to control the heat and it was a little chilly in February, but the electric stove heated our suite, keeping it nice, warm and cozy. It’s not a 5 star hotel or modern, but comfortable, clean and great personalized service. We overlooked Barclay St where the view was of other apartment buildings across the street but we were mesmerized by the Great Blue Herons that sat on the rooftops keeping warm sitting by the heating vents. At first we thought they were wooden statues of birds to keep other birds away but be patient and you’ll see them move and their feathers fluff in the breeze.

Rosellen Suites is away from the core of the city’s hustle and bustle, 5 minute walk from Stanley Park and Denman Street where there’s a prolific amount of restaurants to choose from. Raincity Grill is a must for Breakfast, Brunch, or Dinner. We only experienced breakfast. Great food, stellar service and an awesome view of English Bay, plus it’s perfect for people watching. Check out the “Laughing Men”. We also had breakfast at the Sylvia Hotel, a landmark of Vancouver built in 1912, all in a 5-10 minute walking distance. Denman Street is not ideal for gift shopping but you’re close to Robson Street 5 minute drive, which is a shopper’s paradise. Looking for groceries “Safeway” at 1766 Robson St and BC Liquor Store a few doors up at 1716 Robson St.

All in all we had a great stay and would certainly stay at the Rosellen Suites again. Parking is secure $20 a day, first come first serve basis and they are pet friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for password for wifi when registering and remember when you see the light inside the elevator i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarmonyInSeptember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
So happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and the many wonderful amenities the neighborhood has to offer. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you, again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We're foodies from Vancouver Island and like to stay near Vancouver's best restos so we can waddle back to our suite nearby...which is how we discovered the unique and friendly Rosellen Suites bordering the best walking path in Canada, (around Stanley Park, the ocean and Lost Lagoon), and nearby the romantic Adesso Bistro, our fave for Italian when we're there.

The staff go out of their way to please and accommodate you and this time there were 3 of us, and although the pull out Queen in the 1 br would have been sufficient, we were graciously upgraded to a 2 bedroom personality suite with fireplace...the Diva!

With full kitchen and dining room, a spacious master with walk-in closet AND ensuite, luxurious linens, 3 flatscreen tv's, surround sound, and decorator appointments....we felt like celebs! Indeed the theme room did reflect the age of glam with hallway lined in black and white autographed photos of tv and movie stars as well as some sports heroes who stayed here during the Olympics and Cultural Olympiad.

One must note that the luxurious penthouse suite above us, which we were able to view, was Kate Hepburn's spacious hideaway in Vancouver, and while renovated has kept much of the 50's ambience and modern leather furniture she used. The 1700 sq ft wrap around deck with BBQ and seating we have our eye on for a future soiree and stay during the Firework displays at English Bay!

The Rosellen is charming and spacious, and a great value... well worth a stay just to see the Art Deco elevator and lovely copper doors on the suites! Passes for a fitness centre nearby are available and our other favorite restaurant, Raincity Grill just blocks away. The location so close to Denman and Robson Street shopping is ideal, between the sea, the park, and the downtown core...all in walking distance but with transit available just blocks away.

Take time to enjoy nature during your stay. Half a block away and a short walk through the park, we mingled with raccoons, blue herons, an assortment of ducks, and birds and squirrels that eat nuts and seeds out of your hand! Kids will love to take bread down to feed the ducks at Lost Lagoon or play in the nearby playground. We can't say enough good about Rosellen Suites and the friendly staff!

Room Tip: Trust the staff to meet your expectations. They will go out of their way to be sure you are pleased...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparklemarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We can only say thank you for sharing all the best the West End has to offer with TripAdvisor readers. So glad you enjoyed your visit. And, the entire staff shares your sentiments regarding your favorite restaurant choices. We look forward to seeing you in July, if not sooner. And, remember if you are coming for the July/August fireworks to book early as the West End and Rosellen sells out quickly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife, son and I stayed in this hotel or apartment building for 3 nights from March 11 to 14/2013. We picked the hotel because it has a separate living area and kitchen.
The place is ok very friendly staff and close to shopping areas. The parking is not included in the price like all hotels in DT Vancouver but with good rate. The parking area is very small.
the room is ok not fancy but we have almost everything we needed it the only thing i can say that rooms or apartments are very old and need lots of work. The other thing that nobody in the house after 5 pm in case you need something but otherwise it's a good place for the value and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank massery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
First, thanks so very much for making us your Vancouver home. However, please accept our apologies that you felt the property was worth only a 2 star rating. Please note that had we been aware of any issues during your stay we would have made every effort to correct them to ensure you had the experience you preferred. Just so that TripAdvisor readers are aware the building is a 1959 four story structure very similar to most buildings in the West End neighborhood. The hotel offers "classic" suites that maintain the original character and design and represent the most economical options and the "personality" suites which are more recently renovated to feature more modern decor and include upgrades such as individual themes in each suite, flat screen TV(s), DVD/CD player, and iPod docking station. Parking is currently $15.00 plus tax per night. Competitive hotels in the West End charge as much as $25.00 plus tax per night and some downtown hotels are as high as $35.00 plus tax per night representing a great value for parking in a major city at Rosellen. Though the office itself is not staffed 24 hours per day, there is a Duty Manager available to assist 24 hours per day and they are quickly available by simply calling them from any suite. We do hope you will try us again and suggest reserving a personality suite on your next visit that may be more in line with the type of accommodations you prefer. Thank you for your comments and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked based on the reviews we've read here and it pretty much read true for the positive reviews. We've stayed in downtown Vancouver before and it was fine, but when you have a family, this is ideal for when you just need to get out and go for a walk to witness a bit of nature and/or allow children to play in the playgrounds close by, as its located only about a half block from the park. The apartments were well-appointed and the service was lovely. We were upgraded to a 2-brm apt and it was very cosy. The beds were very comfortable, and it had everything we needed. It was a little cool throughout, but there were two heaters that were provided for the apartment, and only one was needed for a little while. I think there must have been regular temperature control there as well.

A few reviews here stated the rooms were in need of some tlc, but it was really nothing that bothered us. It was very clean and cosy, and the kitchen had everything we needed, including secure parking for I think was $20 a day. We paid this with no issue, as there's virtually no parking on the streets and we saw parking officers ticketing during our stay. We basically spent our 2 days wandering through the park (ideal after having travelled around 20hrs), and even visited the Vancouver aquarium which was fantastic. Tip: a yummy cheeseburger was had near the aquarium near the underpass at Lumberman's Arch Picnic Area, just on the other side of the kids water play area.

We would gladly return to Rosellen in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twoadventurers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Glad that your family enjoyed their stay and that you were able to take advantage of the many amenities available in nearby Stanley Park. We also hope that you got your $1 off coupon from Guest Services for the Aquarium. It's not a bit discount but it is enough to buy an ice cream cone with that burger you enjoyed! Just to clarify on the heating and air conditioning, heating is centralized but does offer individual controls to be able to adjust the temperature. As mentioned, to help guests meet their individual temperature preferences, portable heaters and portable air conditioners are available on request. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Vancouver. And, thanks very much for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The location was great; only a few blocks from Denman. We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite (even though there were only two of us) and although the suite was older, it was clean and very comfortable. The front desk staff was super friendly and the housekeeping staff very organized. Stanley Park is only a few minutes away and there are tons of restaurants nearby. We would most certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the back alley. It looked like they were older.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBrown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. In regards to the the recommendations made there are two different styles of suites available and each is available on either the front or back of the building. Many guests have a preference for the front of the building and many have a preference for the back. As for the two different styles, the "classic" suites have retained the charm of their original design and are best suited for those guests that want to enjoy the extra space in a cozy and comfortable environment where they might feel comfortable sipping a glass of wine with their feet relaxed on the coffee table and perhaps the family pet resting on their lap. The "personality" suites are designed for those guests that prefer a more unique appearance, each is individually themed, with some of the modern upgrades many guests can't live without today like flat screen TV's, DVD/CD Player, iPod docking station and upgraded bedding. Each suite is unique like each guest is unique and the Rosellen team is always available to help assist in matching the suite that meets the needs of each individual guest. We look forward to having you return and to having you experience a different location and suite type on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

If you dont mind a 15 min walk to robson street, then this place is perfect. Rooms are huge, security is good and price is also amazing, but its the location that is slighly waning for me. If you are here for the park though - then its perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avidtravellerbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments. Sorry to hear that you felt the walk to Robson was too far. To clarify, it is a 15 minute walk from the hotel to the main shopping malls and stores on Robson. However, in regards to location, Rosellen is literally steps to the entrance of Stanly Park, 2 blocks from Denman with countless restaurants that cater to almost any palate and a mere 6 blocks from the hotel to the corner of Robson and Denman. On that corner is a Starbuck's, a major Safeway grocery store, BC Liquor store, local shops including flowers, fresh fruits and vegetables, luggage, souvenirs, and restaurants that include Italian, Japanese, Chinese, Malaysian, Korean, Thai, French, Brazilian, Ukranian, and various fast foods. The best benefit is that rather than staying in a hotel on a major street with traffic, you are just a few blocks away nestled in a very quiet residential area of Vancouver. It is easy to start walking and get lost with all the sights and sounds around you finding that you have walked a bit further than you had originally planned. In that case, a public bus or inexpensive taxi will get you quickly back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Lord Stanley Suites On The Park
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#32 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park

Property: Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Address: 2030 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#47 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a very quiet residential neighborhood just steps from Stanley Park, Rosellen offers that largest suites in Vancouver that can accommodate from 1 - 8 guests. Each suite features a full kitchen, separate bedrooms and bathrooms, dining area and living room providing plenty of space for everyone to spread out. The staff provides personal friendly service. The hotel is in walking distance to many different types of restaurants, shops, and major Vancouver attractions including English Bay and Vancouver Aquarium. The hotel provides complimentary high speed wireless internet access, local and toll-free calls, passes to the local fitness center and pool, coffee, tea, and popcorn with two premium high definition movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park Hotel Vancouver
Rosellen Hotel Vancouver
Rosellen Hotel At Stanley Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing