We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$295
$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$401
$371
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$269
$258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$306
$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairmont Pacific Rim(Vancouver)
$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$488
$290
Suttonplace.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Waterfront(Vancouver)
$410
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$251
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$317
$269
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveler rating
343
194
40
19
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
194
40
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdenman streetfull kitchenstanley parklost lagoontwo bedroom suitekatherine hepburnclassic suitewest enda quiet residential areahome away from hometree lined streetfew blockswell equipped kitchenfree upgraderestaurants and shopshousekeeping staffunderground parking
Filter
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 615 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We chose to stay here based on the other reviews on TripAdvisor. Travelling with a young child, we were pleased to see it rated #1 by families. The website was nice, the photos of the rooms were appealing as was the location of the building. Upon arrival, we were a little shocked. The building is old. Parking is limited and we assumed it was set up like a hotel with a front desk reception area. We were wrong. Self check-in instructions were left taped to the wall, and to our dismay, the room was not what we had wanted. However, much to his credit, the Manager came in after hours and made sure that we had the type of room we desired. The rooms (Personality Suite) turned out to be a major surprise. Very spacious, open and well equipped. Complimentary snacks and beverages were left by the housekeeping team. This was the perfect place for our family to stay. Despite the fact that our first impressions of the lobby and exterior made us want to run for the hills, we're glad we stayed and would most certainly return again, now that we know what to expect.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the Personality Suite if you want an updated room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuffCityDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

We were very sad to read that you were ready to "run for the hills" on arrival. Rosellen is a 4 story 1959 building that has retained its character and that is very representative of the neighborhood. The front is well landscaped with a small fountain and has what most of our guests feel is a warm and inviting first impression. That said, if a guest is expecting a new contemporary hotel with a modern look and they haven't visited the Rosellen website it is easy to see how someone might be a bit disarmed. However, we are very glad that you did enjoy your stay and that the experience turned out to be a positive one. The hotel does not run a 24 hour front desk and instructions for late arrivals are included on the confirmation notices sent from the hotel. In some cases a guest may reserve a reservation through a third party website that does not provide the hotel with any contact information for the guest. In these cases, the third party website confirmation is suppose to include late arrival instructions but some choose not to. In all cases, including after hours, we do try to make the check in process as easy as possible and there is a Duty Manager available for emergencies or assistance 24 hours per day. We are very happy that you were well cared for and look forward to your return. Thanks very much for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor readers. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you, again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Biggest suiteI have ever stayed in. Clean & comfortable. Close to everything we wanted to see and shop.
Staff was very helpful with anything we needed or ant questions.
We will be back,

Room Tip: We stayed in the penthouse and loved it.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Nice to have you back at Rosellen and thanks very much for sharing your comments. We hope that you enjoyed the recent renovations to the Penthouse bathrooms. Some new photos have been added to the gallery for TripAdvisor readers to review. There are some additional upgrades to the Penthouse in the works so you should enjoy your next visit in that suite even more. Looking forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were very disappointed in our accommodations here. Our drove up from Seattle to celebrate my birthday. We were expecting a suite hotel with services. What it we got was an apartment building. The location was awesome, no doubt. We enjoyed some incredible walks to Stanley Park, restaurants and the Aquarium. But the room looked nothing like what it did on the web site, nor did the the Rosellen have the 'luxury' service quality it portrayed on the web site. We booked a two Bedroom One-Bath Suite. If you look at the pics, this type of suite was supposed to be very nice with modern furniture and carpet, etc. We ended up in a Classic Suite, Rm # 307. The carpet was lumpy and old, the curtains were old, it had 2 beat up couches and an extremely outdated kitchen and bathroom. The rooms all had double beds, so my husband and I slept in separate beds. One room should have a queen size bed at least! The pea green stove had to have been circa 1970! C'mon! Also, no a/c or thermostat equipped in the room. Instead, we had a very tacky looking a/c unit in our living area with a hose to go out the window of the living room. We did have our dog with us, so I'm not sure if that's why we were put there. If you stay here, pay the bigger bucks for the nicer rooms (I'm assuming they have them) and don't bring your dog, even though they say pet friendly. They are pet friendly, but you get the crappiest suite, apparently, when you bring your pooch. I understand they don't want to risk dogs peeing everywhere in a nice suite, but our dog is very well mannered (no barking and house trained) so we felt a little slighted.

Room Tip: Get the best suite available. Classic suite is no good!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mullmanuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

On behalf of everyone with Rosellen Suites at Stanley Park we sincerely apologize that your experience was not up to your expectations. Please do know that the entire staff is typically very good at helping guests find the suite type that best fits their preferences. Had we been aware of your dissatisfaction while staying with us we would have been very appreciative of an opportunity to try to make it right prior to your departure. When you are next visiting Vancouver, please let us know and we will do everything possible to ensure you have a suite more to your liking.

In regards to some of the areas of concern mentioned, again, we apologize if you felt that you were misled. In regards to the website we have spent a great amount of time including obtaining guest feedback to ensure that what is represented on the website is as close as possible to what a guest can expect to receive. If you can share specifically what gave the impression we are a full service “luxury” hotel it would be very helpful for us to be able to make changes as that is not the message or impression we are trying to convey. Rosellen is very proud to be a limited service residential style hotel with some of the most spacious suites in Vancouver nestled in the middle of one of the most sought after neighbourhoods, the West End, just steps from Stanley Park. For comfortable, clean, spacious accommodations (including fully equipped kitchens), a great location, and staff that provides casual personal service, Rosellen is a great choice in Vancouver.

In regards to bedding all suites have one queen or one king bed in the master bedroom, one queen sofa bed in the living room and the second bedrooms have either two twin beds, two double beds or one queen bed depending on the suite type. Each of the 27 suites is individually designed. So if a guest is seeking a more home like experience there are really 27 different choices. The classic suites are of an older style design and the personal-ity suites have been individually themed with the addition of some of the more modern comforts some guests prefer. Suite 307 specifically is a “classic” suite style with one queen bed in the master bedroom, one queen sofa bed in the living room and two double beds in the 2nd bedroom. Each of the beds in this particular suite are typically capable of sleeping two guests comfortably. Maximum occupancy for all 2-bedroom suites is 6 guests.

As a 1959 building the heat is centralized but there are individual controls underneath the
heaters in each room if a guest prefers more or less heat. The hotel does not have air conditioning as the windows do open and Vancouver affords a wonderful natural cross breeze that is comfortable for most guests. For those who prefer AC, a limited number of portable air conditioners are available on request and sad but true these operate by having a hose out the window. This same type of AC is used in many hotels and homes throughout Vancouver.
Pets of all kinds are very welcome guests at Rosellen. And, again, we are sorry that you felt you were given your suite assignment because of your pet. Of the 27 suites, most are available to guests and their pets with a few suites that have intentionally been kept pet free to accommodate for some guests that have allergies to pets. In all the years of accepting pets at Rosellen, there has never been a single incident or challenge with a pet and the hotel does not discriminate in assigning suites based on whether a guest has a pet or does not have a pet. Suites are assigned based on what is available on the day of arrival. If a guest is unhappy with a suite for any reason and we can possibly accommodate their requests it is our pleasure to attempt to do so, pet or no pet.

It is always appreciated when a guest takes time to share their experience. Thank you for sharing yours. We are sorry not to have met the expectations during your stay. But, we do hope to have the opportunity to serve you sometime in the future to attempt to make it a more enjoyable and memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Just spent three nights here and I must say we will definitely recommend this place to our family and friends! We were literally 2 blocks from Stanley Park so were able to get around very easily! The trees were in full bloom as were the tulips so it was a truly wonderful time of year to go! Our check in was a nice surprise as we were offered a very attractive upgrade which we took them up on! This apartment bldg is older but very well maintained and the beds were very comfortable! (Even the pull-out sofa was okay - not like some you might sleep on! No problems sleeping on that!) Will definitely stay here again should we return to Vancouver!

Room Tip: Booked our suites through booking.com and were able to get a better rate this way! Decided to stay an extra night when half our party vacated and the rate we rec`d for a single room with queen size bed and kitchenette was attractive as we didn`t book this thru booking.com
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willardlilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thanks very much for sharing your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. One clarification to share with readers is to confirm that the rates for Rosellen Suites at Stanley Park are the same regardless of where you book. The hotel actually provides the rates each day for all e-commerce channels and Rosellen ensures that the same rate is provided to all websites. For the record, booking direct with the hotel provides the greatest selection of suites and offers a price guarantee. If you find a lower rate for the same suite type on any site, we will provide 105% of the difference to you. We encourage guests to reserve their suite with whatever travel partner they prefer and there may be a number of reasons someone would choose to. But, rates are the same regardless of where a reservation is made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed at the Rosellen suites for three nights whilst on holiday in Vancouver.
The location is good, and there are lots of great restaurants nearby in the West End (Tampopo is particularly recommended - all you can eat sushi for $13 after 9.30pm!)
The apartment was a good size and very clean but we felt it was quite dated. The bedroom was also small. We were also on the ground floor which could be noisy at times.
However for families I could see it would be a very good bet and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosellenVancouver, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thanks very much for the your kind comments and the great recommendation for Tampopo. It is one of the staff favorites. One of the many benefits of staying in the West End neighborhood is immediate access to countless restaurant opportunities for almost any cuisine you would desire. We are sorry that you found your suite bedroom too small and would have been so very happy to try to move you to another suite that might have been better suited if we had known during your stay that this was not large enough for you. Our suites range in size from 600 square feet to 1,900 square feet and there is typically a suite style and size to fit almost anyone's taste and/or budget. On your next visit, please mention this to us and we will ensure you have a suite that best fits your personal preferences. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you, again, on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews