We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not bo be recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maple Beach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 52 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not bo be recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

Maple Beach B&B is a place we cannot recommend. The hosts were polite but we did not experience them as helpful or friendly. The breakfast was extremely plain, something we had not come across in any B&B in Canada before. Our room was the Paty-O-Suite. This means two rooms with ensuite bath in the basement with very low ceilings (brushing your hair you knocked on the ceiling), one tiny window and part of the furniture which left there because perhaps there was no room for it elsewhere. We only stayed on because of the one advantage it has and that is the location. It is close to Kitsilano Beach and there are some eateries and a bus stop nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarlisIrmgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    14
    10
    4
See reviews for
6
17
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights and there are clear pluses and minuses to the experience at Maple Beach.

+ great location; 1 block from bus stop, walking distance to numerous shops, restaurants, cafes, beach, pool
+ affordable room, although it was not exactly what I expected - see below.
+ okay breakfast; food was solid; frittata one morning with toast and fruit; pancakes another day
+ hosts were nice, especially Patricia (who interacts mostly with guests). Kim is quieter but polite.
+ free wireless internet; each room is lockable and you get a key.

Arrival is a bit tricky because the owners are not always around so you should coordinate ahead of time with them. We got the driveway parking spot so that was good (beware of the fig tree sap drippings).

I understand that this b&b offers a budget experience, but I was disappointed in the room and the condition of the premises. Basically, the home needs some improvements (not modernizing per se; more like painting and fixing drywall in bath; retiling shower, etc). I understand it is an old house and it has charm (beautiful wood stairwell; cute exterior, nice front garden), but as an owner of a 100 year old house myself, I expect that there will be fixes that need to be made and I wish the owners would do so. Both the bath and bedroom (en suite) were clean, which I appreciated, but my headboard was not attached to the bed and the mattress and pillows were not at all comfortable. My dresser drawers were broken. I think Kim (the owner) mentions this being a "budget traveller" b&b in another posting, but I did not expect the condition of the premises to be what they were. For this reason, I would not stay here again...but if you get a good rate and are okay with what you'll get, then it might be the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC&WW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed at the Maple Beach B&B on a short break to Vancouver. Our hosts, Kim and Patricia were BOTH welcoming and helpful. During our 3 day stay, we had 3 different breakfasts, all of which were home-cooked, well presented and tasty. We also had the pancakes and, even with our hearty appetites, are baffled by another reviewer's description of them as "small". Coffee was refilled as needed too. Over the years, we have stayed in a variety of Vancouver B&Bs, some expensive and "upmarket", and others across the board. This time, we had a limited budget and looked for something. still in Kits, that offered good value for money. Maple Beach definitely did, and we would certainly stay there again. Our room was clean and spacious, and we had the hall bathroom (however some of the rooms do have en suites) which was clean and more in keeping with the age of the house than the modernised ensuite bathrooms. The bath linen is changed every couple of days and/or upon request (an environmentally friendly policy with which surely most reasonable people would agree?). The hosts have good local knowledge and were accessible without being an overbearing presence. Once, in another Vancouver B&B we seemed to be constantly, tediously and unnecessarily watched over by our hosts in a way that destroyed the privacy needed to relax when on holiday! There was no such oppressive atmosphere here, but the house is quietly and efficiently run and I felt secure on the premises. There is some street noise from along the road (near, but not on, a busy route) and my only quibble is that as a very light sleeper I would have welcomed heavier curtains to keep out the light. The location is excellent, and I would recommend the Maple Beach to travellers who want a comfortable, safe base from which to explore the city: it is a B&B not a rental suite, so not designed for hanging around during the day. It is also a family home thus not suitable for the "party animal", we and our fellow guests were quite mellow types and I thought the place offered great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

I had to wait 30 minutes outside in pouring rain because they were late letting me in on arrival!! They don't live there. Heat was switched off at 9 pm until 4 pm - I was freezing cold and had to sleep in my clothes. Dirty tablecloth, unfriendly and very nonchalant service. Not a full breakfast - 3 small pancakes on a cold plate. No fan in bathroom, window catch is broken, whole place needs a good coat of paint. Never again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

- unfriendly host
- dated furniture, surprised not to see or get bed bugs
- breakfast was a wee piece of cantaloupe, an egg with bits of cheese spread over it, and 2 pieces of toast - not what to expect for $80 a night!
- whole place needs to be updated and some money actually spent on it
- this place takes the name "bed and breakfast" literally - that's all you'll get.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

We had an excellent time at this B&B, which offered a fabolous location being close to shops, restaurants, bars, beach, etc..etc...Breakfast was lovely and nice attentions from host.
Well recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombardia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

The B&B on itself it's not bad, but we had a very tiny room on the last floor under the roof which we didn't aspect looking at the picture on their web site. We would have preferred to be informed when they confirmed our reservation in order for us to decide to look for something else or not. We had the feeling of being caught in trap, because when you have few days to spend in a foreign city there is not much time to go around to search for an alternative. Our suggestion is to make clear in your reservation that you don't want the rooms under the roof.
Gabi from Italy
[--]

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Kitsilano
Suite Dreams Vancouver Bed and Breakfast
Kitsilano
A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage
A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage
#24 of 52 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Kitsilano
Alma Beach Suites
Alma Beach Suites
#5 of 49 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#30 of 52 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Kitsilano
Kitsilano Garden Suites
Kitsilano Garden Suites
#16 of 49 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
West Point Grey
House On Dunbar B&B
House On Dunbar B&B
#18 of 52 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Beach Bed and Breakfast

Property: Maple Beach Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1533 Maple St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6J 3S2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Kitsilano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maple Beach Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing