We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low cost and comfortable with friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maple Beach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 56 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at Maple House for a five nights in July 2012. We stayed in an area below the main house with two rooms and a bathroom. The rooms were warm and clean, and were well stocked with a range of books. Cooked breakfast was provided each morning and was very nice. Our hosts were friendly and helpful, and I wouldn't hesistate to recommend Maple House to others.

The location is excellent - less than a 5 minute walk from Kitsilano beach. There is a convenience store and a bus stop around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan314159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

...When six of us arrived at the house, there were slippers for us at the entry.
Our rooms located on the second floor. I believe there is another room on the attic but did not have a look. It is difficult to take your luggage upstairs through a narrow staircase.
The owner live downstairs where they serve breakfast.
First we were looking to do our laundry and found that we have to walk a distance...20mins. with our dirty laundry? We are in the house and no washing machine?
Now the rooms...two bedroom has a small ensuite and one blue room that use the bathroom outside. The blue room that we were in has a bed, one side table , a chest of drawer with an old tv on top. The bathroom has an old bathtub and a shower in it. There was an old wash basin. We had two bath towels and two face towels for the three night that we were there. The rubbish were emptied out everyday.
The breakfast were served every morning with juice and tea or coffee. From previous review,I think the menu is still the same.
The house is OLD but the location is great.You can walk to Granville island and a noodle box. Two big supermarkets are also nearby.
There is a corner store where you can purchase bus ticket, a day pass is great value. Remember to press the button
to open the door to disembark! We missed a stop! lol
The host did answer all our queries, served us breakfast and gave us keys to access the house. If you have a car, inform the host to reserve a parking spot.
I hope this review help you because we did not know what to expect.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lukdoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in July. The hosts are pleasant, the house older and somewhat shabby. The location in Kitsilano is near the beach, shopping and restaurants. We found it very noisy at night. The room was adequate - the bed OK, a wardrobe with plenty of hangers and a chest of drawers. The TV was tiny and perched on top of the wardrobe. WiFi was good.The bath over the shower was fine. Only hair shampoo and a small bar of soap were provided. We have stayed in many B&B's and this one provided the least adequate breakfast. There was a small orange juice on the table and then a plate of French Toast arrived topped with what appeared to be apple pie filling. I rejected it outright and asked for cereal. Only one type was available - no yoghurt or fresh fruit and no toast offered either.
We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eaglebudd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were very disappoined in the B and B. We have stayed in many B&B's and this one was the worse by far. The room was very small, lacking towels, dirty, and the wires running all over are a fire waiting to happen. The breakfasts were also disappoining. No options were given, one choice with no protein included and the fruit one day was the bluberry sauce on pancakes. The lcoation was good for our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here two nights, based on a review in Lonely Planet's Vancouver guide. It was a last-minute choice, but worked out well. The site is fairly convenient, especially to things near Kitsilano Beach. (We went to a performance at Bard on the Beach - excellent!) Our 2nd floor room was smallish, but adequate, with an attached private bath. Shoes must be removed at the front door, a slight hassle, but slippers were available. There's a bus right down the block that goes straight to Downtown in about 15 minutes, and there was free parking on-site included in the $110/night charge. Breakfast was very nice [contrary to some reviews], and the host was friendly and helpful [ditto]. We would heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Sounds like the second floor rooms are better than the one in the attic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The pictures of the B&B were very misleading. The room we were accomodated in was up some attic stairs - very steep. The room was small and old and the bathroom was below standard. The mirror was a small stand mirror off to one side of the washbasin. Towels were inadequate and small. Had requested room with a desk and was provided with a small vanity and a very poor chair. Breakfast was below standard - watery eggs. Had to hunt down the server to request a second cup of coffee. Very unfriendly owners - minimal communication. So disappointing because has great locale but just not worth the money.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I cut my toe open the first day of my trip and had to use a rag to wipe the blood off the floor. When I was wiping up my mess I noticed that the floors were filthy. The breakfast was just ok but it was always there. Would have been nice to include breakfast sausage or bacon. When we came back for our last day after a couple day excursion we arrived at 4:30 to a note on the door that they would not be back until 6. We were planning to take a shower and go out for the evening but our reservations were at 6:30. We ended up going as we were and coming home early as we were not dressed for the evening. They did not bother to call us or let us know at all and they knew we were coming back. Slightly disappointing.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a bathroom in it if that matters to you. Some of them do not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdcroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Kitsilano
A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage
A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage
#22 of 56 in Vancouver
15 reviews
Kitsilano
Suite Dreams Vancouver Bed and Breakfast
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
3,160 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Beach Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1533 Maple St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6J 3S2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Kitsilano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: $73 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maple Beach Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing