We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hostel”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in early June in a private room with a shared bathroom. The hostel was a great choice. Within Vancouver but in a quiet area with easy access to downtown Vancouver. The room was small but comfortable. Hostel was very clean. Staff were helpful with answering questions and giving advice. Unfortunately parking is in the street if travelling in your own or rented vehicle. It's easy to locate a place at night. Free wifi. A place to cook downstairs. Also a place where food and drinks can be purchased. Somewhat veggie friendly menu.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HopeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    21
    14
    8
See reviews for
5
23
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I brought my girl guide unit to this hostel and loved it!! The girls and guiders loved the location and the staff at the hostel. Very friendly and pleased that they had a dormitory room that all the girls stayed in :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KymKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I found this place to be extremely quiet and the beds were very comfy. Only thing is the design of the place, its kinda a bit prison like or mental institution. The washrooms and showers could do with a bit of a revamp. They are clean, just old style. They need to get vending machines that sell food. The closest shop is 30 minutes away so come here with all the food you need. Great for a short stay and staff are very friendly. I stayed in co-ed dorm and was fine, big lockers and big windows for air. Only downside is one light for 16 bed dorm (difficult if dorm is full of people)

Room Tip: I stayed in a co -ed dorm room and was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniatarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the co-ed dorm for the first couple of nights as the private rooms were fully booked. Then we moved into a private room for our last night which topped off a good stay here.
The only downside to the dorm was there was no power points accessible for bed 1&2 as the outlets are behind a bench seat that goes along the wall & our plugs would not fit behind. There was 2 plugs accessible to beds 3&4 but were used by our room mates. The barracks style dorm accommodation is not for us, I don't mind dorms but these only have a curtain blocking off the entrance to the room which offered less privacy to what dorms already normally lack.
Once in the private room we had a great stay, still used the shared washrooms but slept much better without people coming in at all hours & turning lights on & banging doors.
The staff were very friendly & helpful & the location was ideal for us to relax at the beach & also walked to BCU via the beach :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwide_wandererz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We bought a private room here.... The hostel is clean and has plenty of space along with all the usual facilities. (Large kitchen) A room fan would have been nice. They run a cafe for breakfast, lunch and dinner, although it did close quite early.
A short walk to the beach (Sailing club with good eatery) and the park, which is inhabited by a myriad of rabbits.
It is a bit of a hike up the road if you go into the city by bus, which is 15 minutes. but not too bad.
The Hostel hires bikes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband has been staying here for 20 years now. I have for about 10. We stay here whenever we go to Vancouver. When staying in a Hostel, you have to expect noise, even if in a private room. The building is historic... I think old military housing or a school, so it will suffer from door slams and strange odors, but each year they do a significant upgrade. BONUS, SCREENS IN THE WINDOW!

Anyhow, I have stayed here and adore the location, you cannot get better. The beach and dock is maybe 50 steps away and is enchanting on a warm summer night. There are wild fauna all over the place, which I think is charming. Bunnies, squirrels, coyotes, birds, seals, otters.... I enjoy talking with fellow travelers, I've met folks fromNew Zealand, Scotland, England, France... You name it.

The hostel is surrounded by big beautiful trees, lush park grounds, and there is free parking just up the block. Be careful with the parking situation here. I got there and went to check in and get change for the machine, literally 3 minutes later I had a parking ticket. The manager graciously helped us with this situation and it just solidifies my firm belief that if you want a place to stay just minutes for the city, with a decent rate and brilliant energy to check this place out. The staff is helpful and personally, I like that they employ young people.

If you are looking for some place silent and with a clinical feeling and room service, go somewhere else. A Hostel is meant to be an experience, this place is magic and this place isn't for someone who is a stick in the mud.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank huntermanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Slamming door again and again all night long... I did not sleep at all because of this and also because of the noise coming from the park.

If you want to complain to the manager, the only answer you will get is : Unfortunatly I just can't do anything for this. I know this because I ask the staff at the front desk to call him.

I won't even recommend this hotel to my worst enemy! I don't hate him at this point!

DO NOT BOOK A ROOM THERE. It is too much expensive for trying to sleep!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b3rnatch3z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
University Land Endowments
West Coast Suites at UBC
West Coast Suites at UBC
#63 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
University Land Endowments
Gage Residence at UBC
Gage Residence at UBC
#70 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
West End
Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
West Point Grey
Point Grey Guest House
Point Grey Guest House
#15 of 54 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Granville Street
Samesun Vancouver
Samesun Vancouver
#3 of 49 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel

Property: Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel
Address: 1515 Discovery St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6R 4K5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West Point Grey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vancouver's hostel by the beach is located just 20 minutes from downtown and 10 minutes from the University of BC. At HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach you'll be surrounded by parkland and sandy beaches, with views of downtown Vancouver, Stanley Park, and the North Shore Mountains at your doorstep.Live like a local and experience all Vancouver has to offer. Cycling, kayaking, beach volleyball, wind-surfing and hiking are within easy reach. Travelling to Vancouver with your bike? HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach provides secure bike storage, and our friendly staff can direct you to the many bike trails, street routes and pathways.HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach is the only Vancouver hostel with a licensed café on site. Jerry's Cafe is open for breakfast, dinner, and drinks seven days a week. Join us for our weekly activities while experiencing the great food and some great Canadian Beer selections.HI-Vancouver Jericho Beach is the ideal West Coast home base for outdoor adventurers, beach-goers and summertime relaxers - we've got it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Jericho Beach Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing