We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse is to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2005

We arrived from the UK tired and, hungry, and dirty, and found to our delight that we had been upgraded to a penthouse suite. The staff were very apologetic about the fire that had temporarily closed the restaurant, but when we saw our room, we forgot all about food. It was vast, with a dining room, 2 bathrooms - and a jacuzzi in the bedroom! We were so comfortable in the hotel that it was hard to leave it to join our cruise ship (where the bed was far less comfortable). The public market was amazing in the variety and quality of the food - nothing at all like the sad collection of vegetable stalls that you find at most UK town markets. The hotel staff were very helpful in getting us to and from the aquarium, giving change, arranging taxis. They really seemed to care about the guests. The hotel brought in free pastries and coffee every morning, while the restaurant was being refurbished. We ate them in the sunshine by the water, looking at the Vancouver skyline. It was pure bliss.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hairykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,165 - 2,171 of 2,236 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
17
Reviewed August 16, 2005

My husband and I spent five nights at the Granville Island Hotel, selecting it based on reviews from this site, and we were delighted. The first night we were in a smaller room without a view, which was quite small, and upon request, they moved us the next morning to a larger room with a balcony and great view without any charges. We loved the brew pub as well. But the main high-light for us, as we are sick of being in our cars in Los Angeles, was the public transportation. We didn't want to rent a car, and this location was perfect. A cab from the airport cost around $18 US, and then the rest of the days we used the excellent public transportation system. The island itself is lovely to wander around, and each day we bought either breakfast or a picnic lunch at the market. We traveled to Gastown by bus, easily accessed at the entrance to the island, and we took a bus and then the waterbus to the suspension bridge. We actually walked home one night from the GM Center, a half-hour walk. There are plenty of paths to jog and walk around the water, and lots of choices for dinner and drinks. Very close by are two HUGE beachside public pools as well. We took a bus to Stanley Park, and then walked to the water ferry to come back to the island. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and accomodating, and we used the free internet and printer in the lobby to research the bus lines. The desk staff was also very knowledgable about getting around. The island is also super for kids with the kids market and a free water park.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2005

I posted a review of this hotel last year relating our experience of this hotel and Granville Island but I was roused to return by the recent review posted by the visitor from Chesterfield UK. I am a near neighbour coming from Sheffield UK and both my wife and I and our friends who stayed last year at total variance with the opinions of our fellow Brits! The position of the hotel is superb not only for visiting Granville Island but it is also central to visiting the rest of Vancouver. None of us recognise that markets exist in the UK with the variety and quality of the public market on Granville Island (not even the excellent market at Chesterfield) and its position at the heart of a mixture of cultural and top quality restaurants produced a vibrant and stimulating atmosphere. Some friends who subsequently visited agreed wholeheartedly with what we found.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SheffieldSteeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2005

I have to disagree with a recent reviewer who did not care as much for the location and setting of the Granville Island Hotel as we did.

We found the hotel to be quite comfortable, but were most pleased with its proximity to the market (which may be a commonplace thing in some English towns but is a rare thing in North America!), theatres, restaurants, and shops on the Island, as well as to the lively South Granville strip a very short walk uphill, the Kitsilano neighbourhood, Yaletown, and downtown. The ferry is cute and fun and not all that costly (no different than a bus), but it is possible to walk over the bridges into the downtown as well.

Our room was a reasonable size and afforded us views of the attractive homes around False Creek. We loved how cool the air conditioning made it - Vancouver can be warm and sunny, so the cool nights for sleeping in the king-sized bed were appreciated. Parking costs $7, but it was easily found adjacent to the hotel and, again, not a big deal compared to parking costs at downtown hotels.

The best measure of how comfortable our stay was came when the restaurant kitchen in the other wing of the hotel experienced a fire. There was no inconvenience for us in our wing, and thanks to all the eating establishments on Granville Island (as well as the abundance of foods in the Market), we didn't miss the loss of dining at the hotel for a handful of days.

We have stayed at a few hotels in the downtown and West End in the past, and always came away from our stays feeling like we didn't get to see much of Vancouver. The choice of the Granville Island Hotel was a good one for seeing a good deal of the city, on foot and by car. We'll happily go back!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cpdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2005

We stayed here for one night on July 30th after reading all the good reviews of this hotel. I have to say I was disappointed with the hotel.
The hotel is perfectly acceptable, but does not stand out. We stayed in room 319 which was of average size for the hotel. The room was the smallest we stayed in during our tour of western Canada, and it was a struggle to fit in a rollaway bed for my son.
The rooms are fairly well equipped, and on the surface look good, however the fittings when you look closely at them are not top quality, and will not last.
Parking is a problem, and you will probably need to use the valet parking available at the hotel which costs $7.
I personally do not think the location is particularly good, you do get a nice view across False Creek, but the downside is that access to the city is difficult. You really are forced to use the ferry boats to get across the creek. This is an enjoyable way to reach the city, but gets expensive if there is a group of you as it costs $2.50 each way.
Granville Island itself is very disappointing. Basically a food market and some specialist shops. The market may be unique in North America, but in the UK most towns and cities have a market at least as good.
We also stayed at the Slyvia Hotel in the West end, next door to Stanley Park, and that was much better value, both in regard to location, and space.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank needdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
24
Reviewed July 28, 2005

This was definately the best hotel in the city. It had views of the harbour and the rooms were absolutely beautiful -- nice marble floors too. The front desk will help you arrange any travel plans and are experts on the area.

Staying on Granville Island you can walk to the public market every morning and you're just a bus ride into downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle
15
Reviewed June 27, 2005

Nice room, but stench of vinyl in room was overpowering - headache city. Hotel staff indifferent to guests - very uninformative.

Restaurant/Lounge: Food was great; service was great.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,007 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,641 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,559 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $152 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing