We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Room very clean, very friendly staff. Had a family member that needed to come at the last minute and the hotel was booked but were able to get a cot for our room so she could come with us. Close to shopping and many places to chose from to eat

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,391 - 1,397 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

After a long & tiring day of touring Vancouver, we returned to our room about 4, wanting to rest, and it had not yet been cleaned. Yuck! Granville Island is fun and great for kids. The hotel catered well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Barbara K,

I'm sorry to hear that your room wasn't ready by the time you came back for the day. Our housekeepers work from 9 am to 530 pm, so I assure you weren't forgotten, we just hadn't gotten to your room yet. I will however speak to our housekeeping manager about making the stay over rooms a priority. Remember that whenever you are staying at any hotel you can always request housekeeping service at a specific time, and we'd be more than happy to accommodate.

If you are ever in the area again, please let me know. We'd love to see you again.

All the best,
John Fialkowski
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Excellent location on Granville Island. Rooms are similar to a new Hilton Hotel. Excellent restaurant on waterfront. Go for breakfast at a minimum. Island has many things to do. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel and the staff. Private parking is part of the hotel accommodations.


  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The perfect boutique hotel at a great location. The rooms were amazingly large and very modern. Everything was kept very clean. A great restaurant located on site along with its location on Granville Island make it a very convenient location to stay and play.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Get a room with a water view. You don't have to leave the island to find things to do. Lots of walking, and a quiet neighbourhood with a sea wall if you need a break from all the activity on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank happygirl064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

It is a lovely hotel on Granville Island that gives you the feeling of being away, even though you are in the middle sof the city. The Granville Island Market is a treasure with local delights and musical talent adding to the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were upgraded to the penthouse. Most memorable hotel experience we have ever had. The staff, facilities and ambience was second to none. A five minute cab ride to the heart of Vancouver (ie not within walking distance) giving you an abode from the big city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Wow, thanks Shane! Although I don't think I can promise you the penthouse again, come back soon!
All the best,
John Fialkowski
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,618 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,935 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,757 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,266 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $214 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing