We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delighted with stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granville Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
1 review
“Delighted with stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I hesitate to write the rave review the Granville Island Hotel deserves because it is so good I want to keep the place all to myself. The hotel is a gem; the location is ideal for family visit and to explore Granville Island; it may not be ideal for business since getting in and out of the island during peak hours can bit time consuming but for couples, family, friends and singles I cannot think of a better location and more attentive service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,255
    516
    133
    50
    29
See reviews for
468
794
118
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Appears to have been recently upgraded throughout and they did a nice job. My room was very clean and spacious, well laid out and decent amenities. Reasonable work area. Strong Wifi, complimentary, gave me the ability to work unfettered. The location on Granville Island is unique and offers some nice areas to walk around at days end, several restaurants in the immediate area. A taxi ride away from downtown core if thats where your business takes you. Easy run to and from the airport. Two negative points. In my room (312) the bathroom is narrow and laid out a little weird. Because of the toilet location you can not stand in from of the sink to shave, brush your teeth, etc. You must lean in from one side. Surprisingly irritating. Second, the elevators are key controlled through the night until 6:00 a.m. - on its own, thats a great feature....but you can't get to the lobby unless you use your key....and thats unusual as most hotels have lobby access from each floor without a key. Why did it matter? Cause I checked out early for a flight, left my keys in the room (not realizing I would need them) and, after trying the elevator, had to walk down the three flights of stairs. VERY irritating though, I admit, it's not a mistake I'll make twice. Reprogramme your elevator, folks!

Room Tip: Stay away from 312 and, presumably, the rooms directly below it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Late-Day-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We've stayed there many times. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The location on Granville Island is great. Hotel's restaurant is excellent, and there are several others within walking distance, as well as the farmer's market and many crafts shops.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chuck_C2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Another pleasant stay at the Granville Island Hotel! My work is a 10 minute walk away, so it's very convenient. The front desk staff are always helpful and cordial. The room facilities were fine again.

Couple of things: 1) For the first time, I got a room with tile flooring. The floor was a little cold. 2) Forgot my shaving cream at home. Would have been great if they offered some shaving cream. But I know I'm getting picky with this one!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for the great review.

I just wanted to note that the tile roomed floors primarily pet rooms as the tiles is great for pets. Please let us know at the time of booking, if you prefer a room with carpet.

Also, the front desk has toothbrush, toothpaste, and shaving kits available at the front desk by request. If you forget something at home never hesitate to ask us!

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cheers,


Christine Louden
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lovely home away from home on the water in the centre of Vancouver. Pure bliss at the end of a busy day. You can get everywhere by foot or by boat on the water. For active vacationers, with bikes or walking shoes this the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WhistlerOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great location. Everything needed within easy walking distance. Make you check out the size of the room before you agree to stay in that particular room. Some rooms were notably smaller than others. Cleanliness and service and location and restaurant were all outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

As our hotel is a boutique hotel with no two rooms alike, our rooms are all different sizes. If you are looking for additional space I would suggest booking a Superior Room or Suite to guarantee more space.

Again, thank you for your review!

Sincerely,

Christine Louden
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Thank you for a great stay. Excellent location. Lovely linens and duvets. We both had a very comfortable sleep. Clean and comfortable room. Friendly staff.upon check in. Thank you for a memorable stay.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Myrna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing