We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Nice hotel in a wonderful location! Located down on the water in the False Creek area. Situated in the middle of many quaint shops and a market filled with wonderful fruits & veggies and a great atmosphere. It's especially nice in the summer when you an sit outside and enjoy wonderful food, listen to live music & talented buskers, watch boats sail by and enjoy people watching :) This market is steps away from your hotel. The hotel has a wonderful outside patio with a beautiful view of the water, city, mountains, floating houses and great food. Also has an indoor restaurant with a great menu (delicious Brunch menu) Many other great coffee shops & restaurants in very close proximity. You don't need a car it's all within walking distance :)
We have stayed at the Granville Island Hotel several times and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annlee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    541
    148
    53
    32
See reviews for
501
844
120
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We chose this hotel to finish off our Canadian Rockies experience. After 10 days driving through the mountains we wanted to spend our last 6 days winding down in a resort style hotel in Vancouver. Disappointingly, the Granville Island hotel did not measure up to this aim. The hotel is more a bunch of rooms attached to a restaurant with a patio (award winning). The hotel has no communal areas and so hotel residents have nowhere to sit and relax. The patio is for diners at the restaurant and the lounge was closed off, for most of our stay. So, if like us, you stay in a room with no balcony and no sitting area then the only place you have to sit and read a book is on one of the four upright chairs in reception.

The rooms themselves are ok, if a little small and the beds and showers are excellent.

The location, on Granville Island, as reported by other reviewers is great, very close to the restaurants, markets and the attractions of the island. This is very handy given that there is nowhere to spend any down-time at the hotel.

We stayed for 6 nights and never really felt at home. More like intruders at someone else's party.

When we left, only one person asked us if we had had a good holiday. This guy was Darren, an Aussie, who we had seen as we arrived. None of the other staff seemed bothered if we enjoyed our stay or not and as for the restaurant and patio staff, well they must have been specifically hired for their aloof attitude.

Our experience at this hotel was in stark contrast to the friendly staff at every other hotel we stayed at during our two week trip.

I am sure that if you happen to have a room on the top floor with a balcony then you might have an altogether better experience, but even this would not fix the atmosphere generated by the staff.

This is the first time I have been misled by the comments of TA reviewers. I can only assume, having re read previous comments, that all the positive comments are from overnight guests attending parties or those in rooms on the top floor.

I think the hotel is concentrating exclusively on day guests and diners and has completely forgotten to take care of it's longer term residents.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay the extra for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel and your experience. We really do appreciate feedback. I am greatly disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your hotel experience. The hotel prides itself on friendly staff, so I am very disappointed that you did not feel well looked after by our staff. I am very pleased though that Darren was able to make you feel welcome.
While the hotel does not have a lounge space for guests we do offer seating in the lobby as well as chairs down towards the restaurant for those looking for a space to relax. We also have a beautiful restaurant and lounge where people can go for tea or coffee as well as meals. For guests looking to spend more time at the hotel we also offer larger rooms, our superior rooms with king beds and more space or our Executive Suites which have a sitting area with a full sized couch. Both these room types also offer full water views and are great for relaxing in.
Please always feel free to call the hotel if you prefer a style or room or if you need more information regarding the hotel. Our staff would be most happy to assist you pick the best room or find a space that would work best for you during your stay.

Again, I appreciate your feedback as it only helps us grow as a property!

Sincerely,

Christine Louden
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

In the far corner of Grandville island, this hotel has the perfect location to explore the island on foot. A hidden gem on the island.
This is where everybody goes, particularly on weekends.
The hotel used to be a brewery, now, it’ is a very modern hotel, with all the amenities for you to enjoy.
We got a room with a nice view of “False Creek”.
This hotel is a favourite for couple to get married& for special celebrations.
The restaurant has the perfect view of False Creek.
They offer free WI-FI, laundry services, free newspapers, mini bars, air conditioning.
Very well kept, it has been recently renovated, and it shows. The bathroom are very modern,
with stan alone showers, plenty of room and all the toiletries you may need.
We keep coming back here because we feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Request a "superior room" with view of False Creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonnita02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

At the end of a cruise to Alaska, we wanted to spend a day on Granville Island and reserved a harbour view room at the Granville Island Hotel. We arrived early and the front desk offered to place our luggage in our room while it was cleaned and we toured the market. When we returned, our room was ready and we took in the stunning view of the harbour and the city. The boardwalk was clean and the view great. Unfortunately, the dinning room was closed for a wedding reception so we missed the chance to sample the great food.
We enjoyed the time spent at this hotel, will certainly return and highly recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had a two night stay at this boutique hotel on Granville Island, a destination spot for those inclined toward exploring the tiny island in the heart of Vancouver, or getting to downtown Vancouver on the little water taxi. The island houses the Emily Carr Design School as well as many other art focused shops. It also has a wonderful fresh market with lots of little food stalls. The Hotel has a lovely dinning room (indoors and out) which serves delicious meals. My room was comfortable, clean and included all the usual amenities. Staying in downtown Vancouver is not inexpensive, but the location of this little hotel make it worth the stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSPeters72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We loved our 5-night stay. The staff at the hotel were helpful and courteous with all our questions & scheduling a taxi for our departure. The hotel bed was more comfortable than any I've ever slept on and the room was clean and quiet. Granville Island is the perfect hub from which to see the city. Being close to the Market was also convenient as we breakfasted there each morning and planned our day sitting outside on the waterfront. I definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Amazing one night stay! Service was friendly, efficient and accommodating. Room was very clean and comfortable. Best hotel bed we've ever slept on! Fantastic location, arguably the best in Vancouver! With the city across the water, the Granville Island Market a short 5min walk away. We'll be staying here again, no doubt about that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,781 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,127 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,958 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,631 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing