We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only choice in this area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked using Expedia as the hotel site showed no rooms available for our dates. When we searched using this site showed three rooms left. So we took a double bed room for our group and once we got off of our cruise ship, our daughter called to confirm that we had a rollaway bed for the room also. We arrived and sure enough room is ready and bed is in place. We expected a concierge which they do not have and the desk was always busy. They were ok in helping us for dining locations as dining not an option because of a wedding. Seemed to be the case for the second day as well. We had a clean room and got the needed towels from front desk. Parking is terrible. Our son in laws car was damaged the second nite after the valet told him where to park his vehicle. So beware especially during the weekend. Not a great way to end our vacation with our family as our son in law gets deployed in a few weeks. We expected a little more for the rather high price compared to other choices in Vancouver. And a side note...take ear plugs...the A/C runs very loud...doesn't cool well but its very noisy...we were on the second floor over looking the patio area..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crisndeefromde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,673 - 1,679 of 2,239 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

The room was totally relaxing and from the bed I had a beautiful view of all the activity in False Creek (the lights at night were soothing). Housekeeping did a wonderful job of keeping our room neat, comfortable, and replenished -- kudos!
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Parking can be challenging (writing this review I found a coupon for one night's free parking; which the front desk did not offer even though I was there for three nights).. It is not good when TripAdvisor outdoes the hotel's loyal guests.
It is also noteworthy that on the first night one gets a free bottle of Granville Island water; but not on successive nights. Guess I was only really welcome for one night.
The newspaper at the door was really a great touch and the TV and internet were superb.
Overall, given its outstanding location and unique "oasis" location -- I will return next August and hopefully the minor hospitality issues will be addressed!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is certainly worthwhile (if the sun is shining!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were visiting Vancouver to attend a family wedding at this hotel! What a great choice!
The hotel is comfortable and well appointed. The Dockside Restaurant is busy. The food is tasty and service is largely efficient. As Europeans we were a little confused by our lack of privilege as 'residents' but once we adjusted to the system we found everything worked well! The hotel is really well placed to enjoy Vancouver as a tourist. Granville Island is a busy, arty, foodie place. The Aquabus service is fun and makes trips downtown easy. Not a budget choice, but it's location make it good value. I would recommend this hotel for a short, concentrated stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jeannine20657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The corner room was very big with nice views of the harbor. The bathroom was gigantic. There is no concierge and the front desk can be quite busy. The wifi and business center Internet were not working the whole morning that we were trying to make plans for the day. The A/C in the room was the loudest thing we'd ever experienced. Forget trying to sleep with it on.. The shower from our room and the adjacent room rattled the walls so loudly we thought something was going to break. I wouldn't make this a long term stay but it worked for one night

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etan92612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I went on-line seeking a romantic getaway hotel on the Island - the way the internet site read was that we would receive a rose, chocolates on the pillow and a complimentary bottle of wine so I booked it on-line - upon arrival -we received none of these. When asking the desk clerk about it she informed us that is not what the advertisement on the internet meant - if that is what we wanted then we would have to pay an ever higher price for the room to get the wine etc. The room was clean although somewhat small with a tiny balcony overlooking False Creek but a nice view just the same - difficult to get on and off the balcony due to the small size - the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The bathroom had walk in shower which was nice, however the bathroom sink was plugged and wouldn't drain - after calling front desk we were told that they would notify maintenance but they would not show up until the next morning after 8 am. The mini bar fridge was not cold so nothing in it was worth drinking since nothing in it was cold. We ordered breakfast via room service which came from the dockside restaurant which was a disappointment. For the price - the bacon was way overdone, as were the potatoes (hash browns) - the eggs were ok although cold and the toast was also cold. We do a fair amount of travelling and stay at a variety of different luxury hotels throughout Canada and the US and have had bigger rooms with more amenities in it such as a microwave, cold fridges, and for less than half of the price we paid here. Not a place we will stay at again. Given that - the lobby ambience is nice and the staff at the front desk were pleasant enough. Nice way to walk around the Island without worrying about the traffic and parking problems during the busy times. We did stop at the patio at the Dockside for a drink and the atmosphere and staff were great although we opted out not to eat there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience. We really do appreciate your feedback. I would like to clarify a few issues:

Firstly, the guests booked their own reservation online. They selected to book a room, not the romance package, both which was available at the time of booking. A couple hours after check-in, when the guests complained that they had not received their romance package, the front desk agent offered them the romance package for the additional charge but the guest declined.

The Front Desk also sent maintenance up to the room and used a drain unplugging product. The maintenance person who came up the next morning was simply double checking the situation.
Again, I do apologize that you did not book what you expected and I hope in the future that you will book again!

Sincerely,

Christine Louden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We love this hotel. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Nothing, it seems, is too much trouble. We had a bit of trouble using the TV as the previous guests had fiddled with it. A service tech came immediately and made the needed adjustments. We were in a deluxe corner room with a comfy king size bed. Our room did not have a bathtub but instead had a spacious glassed walk-in rain shower. It was heaven. The water pressure was great. Although it is on busy Granville Island, our room was quiet and comfortable. We look forward to returning to this hotel on our next visit to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talktomona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed in a deluxe room, king size bed for 3 nights at the end of July. Delightful hotel situated at the opposite end of Granville Island from the market. Easy walk to and from the market and around the other areas of the Island.

Room was very clean and nicely appointed. Staff were all very pleasant. There is a coupon available on tripadvisor for free parking. It is for 1 night so I printed three coupons. Was told at check-in that only one could be used. Didn't argue but the coupon didn't state only one per stay. The Sales & Marketing Manager, Christine Louden, came to my aid and refunded the 2 days of parking that I was charged - great customer service.

We didn't eat at the hotel as we were visiting family in the area but the restaurant looked very popular. There were certainly a lot of people there for Sunday brunch.

Would certainly stay here again - it was great not to have to drive round and round looking for parking in the market area.

My only negative (and this is personal taste), the air conditioning would only go down to 70 degrees and it was fairly warm while we were there. My husband and I prefer the mid 60's.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sashalucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,013 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,642 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,563 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,787 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $149 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing