We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

A great value hotel in every respect and one which I enjoy returning to,

The welcome from the Reception Desk, the servers and the housekeeping staff are all very pleasant.

The bedrooms are well equiped, pretty sound proof and have all the necessities.

The location is very good for me as I enjoy visiting the market and there are good walk along the creek with downtown a short distance away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugby59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    528
    137
    51
    30
See reviews for
478
807
118
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect when we recently attended our nephews wedding on Granville Island insofar as our accommodations were concerned. What a pleasant surprise. The. Granville island hotel is a warm and welcoming hotel. We would not hesitate to recommend it for one nighter or a home base for mini vacation to enjoy the surroundings. The room was ample and the restaurant was enjoyable for both menu and view.
Great location for walking about Granville island.
Service from all employees we came in contact with was courteous, and helpful.
Enjoy!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mugup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a lovely medium-sized hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the rooms are quite attractive, bright and comfy. My own room was tiny--if I had had to share it with a partner I can imagine we'd've been constantly bumping into each other but it was fine on my own. I was travelling with a large group and didn't book the room myself so I can't say what sort it was--a colleague said she had a far bigger one (with a phone in the bathroom). I did have a teeny balcony, which would've been lovely had the weather been nicer. If you leaned, you could see the harbour, which was lovely. Otherwise the view was just grass and trees. I never saw any people out my window, but still felt weird that there were only sheers and no proper curtains--odd.

The room was a bit chilly, which was not helped by the tile floor--no carpeting at all. There was a thermostat but no matter how you programmed it, you couldn't get the temp over 20. But I never did complain so probably that would've been remedied if I had.

The restaurant downstairs was lovely, but pretty pricey--I only ate there once and wouldn't have done so at all if it hadn't been a work trip. The food was great and so was the room! The area of Grandville Island is beautiful and fun to look around, but designed for upscale tourism--there's no fast-food or even cafes or grocery stores. If you don't want to eat in a fancy restaurant, your only option is the Public Market, which has lots of lovely fresh stuff, and isn't *too* expensive. Still, by my last day I just wanted a Starbucks or something mindless like that.Maybe other people don't have this problem.

The gym is really lame--the main reason this review isn't 5 stars. It's a lovely room with a glass ceiling and a view of the harbour, tile floor, and a jacuzzi sunk in the middle. However, then someone stuck a bunch of cardio equipment all around the jacuzzi, interrupting the view, making the room extremely crowded, and placing cords to trip you near a spot where you could fall into the water. It's also extremely humid in the room, of course, so you're sweating as soon as you start exercising. There are no weights of any kind--it's really not a real gym. Apparently you can get a temporary membership to a community centre gym 5 minutes away, but that seemed like a hassle so I didn't bother.

On the whole, this is really a very good hotel, with a few small quirks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visit our grandchildren often in Vancouver and always visit the Granville market, which is one of our favorite Vancouver spots for a very good latte, breakfast or w wonderful seafood meal. As a delightful complement to the market, the Granville Island Hotel is also a great treat. Located as it is among the flowery walks along the water to the science center, or over to English Bay, it is an oasis of charm. Not starchy, but a feeling of home, after a long day of walking or working out with the three year old and his brother. The rooms are beautifully done, with everything one may need, the beds are very comfortable and the staff, warm and helpful.

Room Tip: I cannot believe that there are bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 154933Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Comfortable beds, good service, good access to shops etc on Granville Island.
A nice little get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of Downtown Vancouver yet close enough to be able to visit city sights.
Reasonably priced - ask for specials!

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tianti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I recently stayed at the Granville Island Hotel in Vancouver BC and I have to say I was more than impressed. Firstly the location is fabulous, right on Granville Island, where there is so much to see and do, fresh produce,fresh fish, great dinning and shopping and close to all major amenities downtown. You can take a water taxi accross to downtown Vancouver. The hotel is a small Boutique Hotel, older but completely redone inside with great restaurant and lounge, indoor or outdoor seating. You can sit have, have a drink right on the Marina. The price is great for what you get. Next time I go back that is surely where I will be staying. Nothing bad to say at all, classy, comfortable and quiet!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria bc
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We purchased a Living Social deal which included a one nights stay, breakfast for two, parking, two tickets to a comedy show, $20 spa voucher, and a flight of beers (with the purchase of an appetizer) for $189 before taxes.

The hotel is located on Granville Island, situated beneath the Granville Street Bridge. It is full of things to do and see and is enjoyable for both tourists and locals alike. The streets are filled with artists studios, a public market, cute little shops and ample dining options. Parking is limited and can be very crowded on weekends. At the hotel parking offered for about $16 a day which is fairly reasonable in comparison to other downtown hotels. We ventured into downtown Vancouver via a short cab ride which cost about $10. There are also water taxis which provide access to and from Granville Island.

The Granville Island Hotel is operated in conjunction with the Granville Island brewery and features The Dockside Restaurant and Lounge a Business Centre, fitness room, spa, and bike rentals. Check in at the hotel was smooth and the staff were very friendly and accomodating. We experienced both the restaurant and lounge and found the food to be delicious. The restaurant serves primarily seafood dishes, though there were one or two non-seafood items listed. Our server was very personable and our food arrived very very quickly. The lounge is located adjacent to the restaurant and features a beautiful patio overlooking the harbour. The seating area has plenty of room and overhead heaters as well as blankets to keep you warm on cool evenings.

The room (#305) was on the smaller side, though not uncomfortable by any means. The room was pleasently decorated and clean. There is a small deck with two chairs, though it wasnt very private, with views of the water/parking lot. The bed was very comfortable, though both the pillow and mattress were on the firm side. The bed was on a plywood constructed base which stuck out farther than the mattress and my husband did hurt himself when walking by it. The t.v. was a flat screen with limited selection of channels as it seemed every channel we tried wasnt available. The bathrooms featured a rain style showerhead and spa utopia products which was a nice surprise. The only downside to our room was the air conditioner which turned on and off throughout the night and made a horrible loud clicking noise which woke me on several occasions.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would likely return again.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room with a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhejjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing