We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Arrived to an over-heated tiny room that was dark. No place to put carry on luggage so left it on 2nd bed. View of a deck for ventilation shafts. Bathroom appeared clean, modern, renovated. But how much time could I spend in the loo? Breakfast was memorably disappointing. Couldn't find the shrimp in my omellette. Pieces smaller than ants were under the lettuce. None in the omellete. Had to pay 3$ on top of the 17$ for toast with the omellette. Lunch was quite good, with a friendly efficient waiter compared to the ornery one who "served" breakfast. No offer of extra coffee refill, water, etc. In brief, this "boutique" hotel makes rooms at a Holiday Inn Select or Delta look like a 5* palace. Avoid this place, especially if you want to appreciate this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thetraveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

Thank you very much for taking time to comment on your hotel stay. I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay.
As Vancouver has reached the very cold temperature of -5 this week, we did turn the heat up in the rooms as we were afraid guests would be cold upon arrival. Each room has its own heat control panel so guests can adjust the temperature to their own comfort level.

All of our rooms offer a selection of different views and each room varies in size. For guests looking for larger rooms with views, we offer Superior and Executive Suites. All rooms are also equipped with a luggage rack for guest’s convenience.

The omelet which the guest refers to is a Malay Shrimp Omelet - this omelet comes with winter green and a fried jasmine rice cake instead of toast. Guest may choose to substitute the rice cake for toast for no charge or a side order of toast can also be ordered.

We do appreciate guests taking the time to comment on their hotel experience as it gives us an opportunity to improve and learn. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,866 - 1,872 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

After a very long direct flight from NZ and collecting a rental car, it was a delight to be greeted at the hotel by delightful staff. It was new years eve and we enjoyed the "hotel offered" celebrations, albeit we were rather tired from traveling. We stayed 3 nights before heading off skiing, and made sure we booked in again for our final night before flying home to NZ, would definitely recommend and stay again, fantastic location and the harbor location outstanding.

Room Tip: Some rooms bigger than others, views vary, ask when checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We spent two nights here and were not dissapointed. Friendly, clean, quiet...what more can you ask for? Right in the heart of Granville Island to make it really easy to explore. Great views of False Creek. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canukgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel on a regular basis for a number of years and continue to really enjoy the experience. The location, for me, is ideal, the reception very friendly and efficient and the rooms great value for the price. As I live in the UK I almost regard the hotel as my second home!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rugby59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

A clean, comfortable, convenient and scenic place to stay for visitors to Vancouver. Hop on a nearby ferry to explore downtown, the West End, Yaletown or Chinatown. Visit all the amenities on Granville island and enjoy a meal at the hotel restaurant Dockside - especially on the waterside plaza in the summer! Even though we're local, we've stayed here a few times when we've turned our place over to out-of-town family.

Room Tip: Request a room on the north or east for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

One of my favourite weekend retreats. The hotel is located on Granville Island in the heart of Vancouver. Granville Island is a shoppers bazaar by day for gifts, clothing, groceries, baked goods, quick snacks, sophisticated dining, aboriginal art and more and also popular among locals and tourists alike. Being on the water, there is never a lack of things to do or see. At night there is live theatre and great dining both on the island as well as a short drive or cab ride away. The evenings are quiet and perfect for a good nights sleep.
Living in the 'burbs' of Vancouver, my wife and I enjoy staying at the Granville Island Hotel as our home away from home. It allows us to enjoy the Vancouver night life without the drive back home in the early morning hours. We find the hotel rooms well appointed and comfortable; the staff friendly and accomodating.
The dining room in the hotel is the Dockside Restaurant which offers a fine menu for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. On the weekend, we especially enjoy items on the brunch menu.
We have on occasion had many out of town guests attend a celebration or reunion and have not hesitated to recommend the Granville Island Hotel for their stay in Vancouver.
The Granville Island Hotel continues to be one of our favourites.

Room Tip: Get a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iceman43c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We have stayed at the Granville Island Hotel several times over the past few years, usually to attend Bard on the Beach and the Fireworks (which are within walking distance). We have always been impressed with the service the staff provides and all the amenities offered. We decided to spend this past New Year’s Eve there as the package they were offering sounded wonderful. The only difference this time was we had to bring our 2 small dogs with us as we had no one to dog sit. Never having taken our dogs to a hotel before we were a little apprehensive about what to expect from both the hotel and our dogs. To our delight we were accommodated in a beautifully appointed room on the 3rd floor with a view out over the Marina and south False Creek. The only difference between a pet friendly room and a people only room was the tiled floor (very smart for accommodating a pet). There is a gorgeous and very quiet green space right next to the hotel for walking dogs and a 10 minute walk to an off leash area. The staff made us feel very welcome and comfortable with the dogs being there and we were even offered doggy treats and waste bags upon arrival. As all pet friendly rooms are located side by side we did not even have to worry about the occasional woof or growl. Our dogs were very well behaved and seemed to enjoy their visit nearly as much as we did.
All in all it was a great experience and one we would not hesitate to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barkie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,617 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,935 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,757 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,266 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $214 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing