We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATIONLOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cranbrook, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“LOCATIONLOCATION”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a fantastic site to walk around, have a bike ride, visit the ocean, go shopping, go on a small bot tour, its all available next to the Granville Island Hotel.

I have stayed here before but my preferred room was not available. I accepted 211 but should have negotiated for a different room. It was exceptionally noisy.

I rented a bike but no one offered to show me how to use the lock. After sort of figuring it out how it worked i started out for a ride to the beach. On returning i found the key went missing from the lock I had secured to the bike. Informed then at the desk on my return. Initially they were less than courteous about it but i said if there is a charge of course i would play however it might be helpful for future guests to be escorted to the bike and given a brief safety instruction prior to giving someone a key. they did agree. I stay at other expensive hotels similar to this and they do this service, they also do not charge for the bikes if you are a guest of the hotel.

Room Tip: No not ACCEPT room 211. It overlooks the restaurant. You are only one floor up. there was a wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samsara_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    546
    150
    53
    32
See reviews for
509
851
122
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

A very clean, modern room. Appeared to have been recently upgraded. Friendly service. Nice location on the island. It does take a bit of time and expense if you are taking taxis to the city.

Went with my wife for a long weekend. Spent time at the market and nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donjoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This hotel is located close enough to downtown to walk to in 1/2 hour( using the aquabus to cross the channel) but also very close to local interesting sites on granville island and is a 15 min walk to Broadway St and 4th Ave where there are numerous placed to eat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Ideal location on Granville Island. A great area to go for a run (around the harbour). The room was very nice and the staff most pleasant. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaffyLaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed 2 nights at the Granville Island Hotel. Our room looked out to the water. It was fun watching the boats go by during the day and also at night. Large suite, needs some updating, however the view more than made up for it. We had a wonderful relaxing Sunday Brunch with live jazz music on the patio (Dockside Restaurant) at the hotel. The hotel is close to everything on the island. Walking to the public market was easy and fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out to the water near the Sea Village!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABKBPeoria_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, GA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Me and my family of 3 (Myself, Wife & Son) loved staying on Granville Island. It was like a peaceful oasis in a major metropolitan area. We simply loved starting and finishing every day on Granville Island. We would eat breakfast in the Market take one of the super cute little ferries over to Vancouver, explore the city and then take a cab back for a peaceful dinner in one of the many very nice restaurants on the island. If that sounds like how you want to spend a few days in Vancouver then the Granville Island Inn is the hotel for you. For one it is the only hotel on the island and two it is a very nice hotel. The rooms are small but nice, the lobby is modern and inviting and the staff is friendly. This is not a five star hotel but you are not paying five star prices and as stated above the location is awesome. When we return to Vancouver we will be stating at the property again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BABURGESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We love staying at the ranville Island Hotel. It's close walking distance to everything we want to walk to: shops, restaurants, views and the seawall trail. We have stayed as a couple and with our children. Both experiences were excellent. Food is fab too!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanE2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,556 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,170 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
3,019 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing