We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Anniversary getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Comox, BC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary getaway”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the penthouse suites facing downtown Vancouver. The room was beautiful and very spacious with amazing views of False Creek. The hotel is not far from the Aqua Bus, taxis, and the Granville Island Public Market making it easy to get around. Our room was very quiet and well appointed. The bedroom area is so sound proof that we couldn't hear each other talk in separate rooms. There are wrap-around balconies off every room with chairs and a table.
We had in-room massages provided by the spa just down the road and there was plenty of space for side-by-side table setup. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast once and had room service as well. Both were good.
After living in Vancouver for several years, then coming back to visit, we found this hotel gave us an entirely different perspective of the city - one that we fully appreciated!
Our only slightly negative comment was that the large kitchen area had plenty of wine glasses, but nothing else - no cutlery, no plates, etc. so that when we bought food to bring back to the room, we had nothing to eat it with. However, a quick call down to the front desk had all that delivered within minutes. We mentioned this upon check-out and they seemed happy to add those items to the room in future.
I would definitely come back to this hotel and bring my kids next time!

Room Tip: The water view / downtown view penthouse probably had better views than the other penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ComoxTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    530
    144
    51
    30
See reviews for
485
818
119
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

My husband stayed at the Granville Island hotel in May of this year for the second time.

The location is perfect. With the convenience of the water taxis you can leave your car behind and explore the city. I love the character of Granville island. It is a wonderful eclectic community in Vancouver with great restaurants and wonderful views.

The hotel is lovely, however they truly need a major room makeover. We stayed there March 2009 and it needed updating then as the furniture was pretty banged up. They made a several changes I imagine due to the Olympics last year but from what I could tell from the room we were in this time they only got part way through the redecorating. The bathroom was remodeled and very modern - they did a great job there. The furniture in the room though was a comical combination of modern minimalism (design of lamps and headboard) with the older traditional style cherry wood dresser which had seen better days. It was as if they had stopped for a lunch break halfway through decorating and forgot to start again. What made it even more challenging was that there was almost too much furniture for such a tiny room

That being said ... the bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very clean.

The staff were so friendly and really made our stay enjoyable.

We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant which was delicious. My husband is still talking about the French toast. The menu items are fabulous and wait staff were so nice.
I honestly recommend this hotel as the stay is a wonderful experience !

Room Tip: The view of the harbour area is wonderful - try to get a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sungirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your hotel experience.

We really appreciate your feedback. The hotel has been completing renovations in many phases over the last couple of years. These have included the lobby, restaurant, and some of the bathrooms in the guest rooms. The next phase will include new furniture for the bedrooms. We will be looking to modernize the rooms without losing our charm. We also hope to use more space effective pieces to increase the living space in some of the smaller rooms.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed the bed and the restaurant! The French toast is the Front Office's favorite as well.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Very nice hotels, very clean large rooms. Handicap bathroom in the room needed more bars for the toilet and a shower chair would have been great. Bathroom was large enough for a wheelchair just needed more hand bars for assistance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed for one night and got the last room that was available.....
It was above the kitchen so was noisey with staff smashing and crashing below and the view was of the parking lot. Although the hotel was nice and the people very curteous, a room like this should not be priced the same as the rest. ( over $300 for one night with taxes)

Room Tip: don't accept a room here that is not eqwuivilant to the rest It makes a big differeance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Overall a pretty nice place to stay - very clean rooms and mostly quietly - with the exception of Friday & Saturday nights. There is some entertainment venue nearby with loud music but it didn't go late - about midnight. The staff was helpful and the food in the restaurant was quite as good well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamloops_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We loved staying at the Granville Island Hotel. This hotel is an elegant, charming little treasure on the island. Our room was very clean and comfortable, with a cozy little balcony where we could sit and watch the water, and all the activities going on around us. We loved walking around the shops and shopping in the Public Market, and didnt have to worry about parking!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your hotel experience.

We offer some rooms that are larger for families. While our Balcony Double rooms tend to be larger, some are still a little small. Our Executive Suites are a perfect choice for families as they have a king sized bed in the bedroom and a very comfortable queen sized pull out in the living room area. While there is not a full wall separating the living room from the bedroom, the partial wall gives some sense of privacy and provides families with much more living space!

We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here for one night with our 2 young children. We had a van pulling a tent trailer and they were very helpful finding us a spot to park it. The hotel was beautifully renovated and you cannot go wrong with the location right on Granville Island. It is wonderful. We found our room to be quite cramped with 2 double beds and our balcony was so full with 2 chairs and a table that you couldn't even sit there with just 2 people so we had to take the plastic table into our room while we sat out there. Other than the very small room and the cramped balcony we can't complain about anything. We would stay again but probably wouldn't bring our kids with us. Just didn't think there was much to do here with young kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing