We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel/Crap Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Had a very nice stay at the hotel, but the restaurant's customer service was terrible. We complained at the desk, but it continued throughout our stay until we just quit going. A ugly stain on an otherwise fine hotel. We probably would not return because of how lousy they were to us at the restaurant time and time agin.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck&Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,163)
There are newer reviews for Granville Island Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,932 - 1,938 of 2,163 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

We were tipped off to the Property by some good friends. Last time we were in town in April it was full up. We got lucky and bought a 3 day package and stayed in one of the suites. My wife and I were sooo relaxed and slept like babies on the RestWell bed. Love this place!

Room Tip: Pick a Suite
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4CNote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We really did not enjoy staying in this hotel. The location on Granville Island is unique, and this hotel seems to have a monopoly there, but it was not worth the outrageous prices for the room, food, and drinks. For just the room and taxes, and after the exchange rate, the tiny room costs $311 (US). I would have enjoyed a Motel 6 more. This hotel has a cold chrome, steel, and glass decor that made me feel uncomfortable. The rooms were so small that I had to step out into the hall if I wanted to change my mind. The weird mini-balcony looked out over a noisy outdoor bar scene.

The shower didn't work properly, and the response of the staff at the front desk ranged somewhere between indifference and surliness. The staff must have had a bad few days before we arrived. We couldn't wait to leave this place...........and won't ever be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pontevecchio56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We had a family dinner downtown and wanted to treat ourselves to a stay overnight so we could enjoy a few drinks and not worry about driving. Normally I would book the Fairmont Pacific Rim - which is glorious hotel perfection for only $60 more a night, but wanted something closer to Yaletown for brunch the next day. My BIG mistake in taking a chance on the Granville Island Hotel. This is a tired, dated hotel in a fantastic location in desperate need of either demolition or a more complete renovation. Looks like after they renovated the bathrooms (quite nicely done), they ran out of money. For $300+ a night we were transported back to 1982, complete with popcorn ceiling, mirrored walls, huge A/C units hanging crooked off the wall. Chipped and worn cherry (really...cherry??) furniture with gold hardware, old baseboards and cracked doors. Eeee gawds. The A/C by the way, sounded like a 747 engine that would suck through a seagull every 2-3 minutes - we turned it on, laughed until some tears came and turned it off. Thus we couldn't use it for sleeping and sweltered all night. I think the guests above us used theirs though, and it sounded like somebody dragging a table across the floor all night. Did not sleep - at all. Almost left at 3am. They have a brewery on site and the tanks line the 2nd floor interior space - again, something that could be really cool, but they semi-hide it behind frosted glass and it's full of cardboard boxes and junk. Nice. If you have something like that, showcase it - clear glass, keep it spotless and show off your equipment. Somebody with some vision could turn this into a world class hotel - the location on False Creek is great, but not utilized as it should be. As it stands they are just trading on the location. Sad. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YVRme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

The Granville Island Hotel is a boutique property, with all rooms unique in size and charm. While the hotel has been renovated, we are still working to replaces pieces of furniture. Part of the charm of a property like the Granville Island Hotel is that mixture between elegances and quaintness.

I do not think it is correct to compare our hotel to a property like the Pacific Rim which is not only brand new but also of a different star rating.

The hotel has taken the maintenance issues which this trip advisor member commented on very seriously and has corrected these issues. We do pride ourselves on maintaining our rooms and decor so we really appreciate comments that let us know when issues are being faced. As far as the furniture, we have already put a plan in place prior to this posting to update some of the larger wood pieces.

Again, I think the trip advisor member for their comments and hope that they will try us out again to experience the continuous change that the hotel offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the way to our cruise boat to Alaska. We liked it so we book a room for the day we got back from Alaska also. There was a great market on the island and walking paths. The Marina was great to take a short ride around False Creek.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Granville Island Hotel for 2 nights in early June 2011 and really enjoyed it. It is a small-medium sized hotel in the perfect location. Granville island is on the Vancouver waterfront and is idlyic. The hotel is clean, comfortable and friendly and I would recommend it to anyone. I would 'though suggest you book early and if possible get in on any of their deals. We booked late and although enjoyed our time felt it was a little pricey, and considering they don't do breakfast for the price either. That said the Granville Island food market is amazing and is more than you could want for breakfast or lunch, and the little ferry boats shoot you across the harbour. I would also recommend to everyone to walk around Stanley park as it is gorgeous and gives you a very different feel to the city.

Room Tip: Obviously the water view rooms are best.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JensHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We had a business meeting at the Granville Island Hotel. THe room and food were great, but the part I liked most was sitting on the patio for lunch. The food, the view and ambiance were all spectacular!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joncgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

The hotel and restaurant are very pleased with our new patio!

The patio was launched officially two weeks ago!
We look forward to guests enjoying the heated cabana on the patio or lounging beside the fire pit. With our patio also comes the addition of a Jazz Brunch on Sundays throughout the summer.
We look forward to seeing everyone soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,587 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,880 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,069 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,694 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $227 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing