We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Quiet Spot in Downtown Vancouver!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best Quiet Spot in Downtown Vancouver!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stay at the Granville for at least 4 to 6 weeks a year, and find it to be the best place in Vancouver to stay at, and entertain guests from. GREAT LOCATION!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfnut007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your hotel stay!

We really appreciate you posting your pictures. Not only do they show our beautiful penthouse, but that night shot looks fantastic.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next time you visit Vancouver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    528
    137
    51
    30
See reviews for
478
807
118
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

The Granville Island hotel concierge helped us get tickets on the trolley tour, and we are very glad we did. It was a fun, informative, and flexible way to view the entire city. We also sat on the balcony of our room to watch the boats go by and enjoy the view. The rooms were well appointed. We especially loved the modern shower with rainfall, massage, and regular options. The restaurant also has a terrific view and the people were very nice. The location of the hotel also makes it easy to have a stroll around Granville Island, but you'll need a taxi to get to the clubs and shopping in the city proper. If we have to pick something we missed, and it's hard to do, we would have loved a hot tub on premises. We will definitely return to Granville Island Hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Awesome check-in service as they were able to quickly set us up for early check in and a sweet room with a view of the water. The beds were luxuriously comfortable. The shower with the rain shower head felt so good. The hot tub/sauna facilities are pretty disappointing as there are workout machines right in the same spot. We were primed for a soak after tons of walking in the rain!! The workout equipment is again lame with minimal machines and people soaking in the tub right beside you. They really need to fix that up. I purchased the Bed and Breakfast package but was disappointed that the bill for a moderate breakfast was always more than the package would cover. Not a huge deal but still a hassle.
All on all I'd stay here again for a couple night get away for 2. Can't beat the location in one of my favourite spots Granville Island.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chase, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Great location, very quiet but interesting setting. I have stayed here many times.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMP054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

I have stayed here three times and I have always been impressed with the service and the quality of the rooms. It has always been quiet and clean. I go to Vancouver for work and my client's office is in Yaletown so I take the Aquabus across False Creek from the hotel every morning and evening and it is the best commute in Canada! (save $$$ and buy tickets if you are taking the aquabus over several days)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craignakamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Truly a hidden gem! The staff were friendly and courteous, and the room and bed were comfortable. Really enjoyed sitting out on the patio enjoying the sun and the view.
3 visits to the dining room left me feeling a little conflicted. The food selection and the food itself were excellent, but the service was less so. Staff seemed flustered, not organzed, particularly at the host(ess) desk.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emeraldgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

I booked an upgraded King room with a view and ended up beside the elevator in a room that looked pretty dated and uninviting. Same quality as a Sandman hotel but paid $250 per night for the room.
It was an acceptable hotel, but definitely not worth the outlandish price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckrs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
I am very dispointed to hear that a guest did not see the value of upgrading to our Superior rooms. These rooms with a King Beds and full water views overlook False Creek and are very popular.

While the hotel realizes that guest opinions are subjective, for those looking to have a room overlooking the peaceful and beautiful False Creek, no hotel in Vancouver offers a better view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing