We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I have stayed here three times and I have always been impressed with the service and the quality of the rooms. It has always been quiet and clean. I go to Vancouver for work and my client's office is in Yaletown so I take the Aquabus across False Creek from the hotel every morning and evening and it is the best commute in Canada! (save $$$ and buy tickets if you are taking the aquabus over several days)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craignakamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,066 - 2,072 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

Truly a hidden gem! The staff were friendly and courteous, and the room and bed were comfortable. Really enjoyed sitting out on the patio enjoying the sun and the view.
3 visits to the dining room left me feeling a little conflicted. The food selection and the food itself were excellent, but the service was less so. Staff seemed flustered, not organzed, particularly at the host(ess) desk.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emeraldgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I booked an upgraded King room with a view and ended up beside the elevator in a room that looked pretty dated and uninviting. Same quality as a Sandman hotel but paid $250 per night for the room.
It was an acceptable hotel, but definitely not worth the outlandish price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuckrs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

I am very dispointed to hear that a guest did not see the value of upgrading to our Superior rooms. These rooms with a King Beds and full water views overlook False Creek and are very popular.

While the hotel realizes that guest opinions are subjective, for those looking to have a room overlooking the peaceful and beautiful False Creek, no hotel in Vancouver offers a better view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

granville island is a community in itself. you could easily spend most of your time there since there are lots of restaurants and a fantastic public market featuring lots of food. you can set off on serious walks or just hang out and watch the local water scene. quiet at night without the often ugly street level scene you encounter at more glamorous high-rises (yes the high-rises can give you great views but coming out at street level you feel like you've walked into a seedy bus station environment). A design school campus brings a funky element to the scene as well as individual artist studios. Overall seems to be a part of life for Vancouver residents so you're not stuck looking at crowds of unattractive tourists.

Room Tip: best-332,333,316,314,315. good-331,315 (balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilmikeyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed here for the simple reason of location. And Man! Was that a great reason to stay here. The hotel itself was average plus, but as I mentioned the location nails it. Seems the rooms were a bit limited when we stayed so the room wasn't as much as I had hoped. There was a large function going on when we got in 11:00 ish on a Sunday night. Really rocking and that's not a bad thing eh :) But chasing down something to eat this late on the island was hopeless. Understandable for the hour and it being a Sunday. Did check out the restaurant during regular business hours several times and the food, service and beer brewed on premisise was an all around thumbs up! The market is a must go too. I don't care where you've been in your travels. It's a really cool market. Hope this helps!

Room Tip: I think you have to book earlier than later :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mairc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Very enjoyable. The hotel location is fantastic, the staff were wonderful, they don't overcharge to park your car as many other Vancouver hotels do, and the casual restaurant was excellent. They have a few rooms that can accommodate a pet and it's important to book this in advance as those rooms are often booked up. The room we stayed in had a king bed, but almost no floorspace, so do be aware that the room is small. Nice modern bathroom, big shower. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

Thank you for your comments!

The hotel offers a wide selection of room sizes as each of our rooms is a little bit different.

For guests looking for a larger space, the Superior rooms and Executive Suites offer more square footage and fantastic views!

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Water view, executive suite. Very comfortable and fantastic views of False Creek and Yale Town. King size bed with quality linens. Granville Island market, shops and galleries great places to visit. Harbour Ferries make it easy to go just about anywhere or just take a lovely tour of False Creek. Everything at your fingertips. Great hotel staff. Fine dining in diningroom, lounge, or outside during fine weather. Snacks and meals available everywhere on Granville Island.

Room Tip: Perfect little hideaway for a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,038 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,583 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,821 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,358 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $187 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing