We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
british columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Water view, executive suite. Very comfortable and fantastic views of False Creek and Yale Town. King size bed with quality linens. Granville Island market, shops and galleries great places to visit. Harbour Ferries make it easy to go just about anywhere or just take a lovely tour of False Creek. Everything at your fingertips. Great hotel staff. Fine dining in diningroom, lounge, or outside during fine weather. Snacks and meals available everywhere on Granville Island.

Room Tip: Perfect little hideaway for a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    528
    136
    51
    30
See reviews for
478
805
118
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We really liked the hotel and our room - it was our first time there since it was renovated - we were impressed with the renovation. The staff were very friendly and we got very good service. Loved the shower and the bedding.
I have only one suggestion to make it a perfect stay: I'm a 55 yr. old woman and as we get older, we need better light & magnification to put on make-up. You should add magnified make-up mirrors (attached to the wall on a swing-out arm). The only place that I've ever seen this is at the Waterfront Suites in Sydney, B.C. (it's one of our favorite places to stay) - there must have been a woman involved in their en suite designs. In your room, I had to sit at the window and prop up my tiny magnified mirror on our suitcases. Unfortunately, no one puts adequate lighting in bathrooms and the only way to get close enough to the mirror to apply make-up is to lean over the counter which is very uncomfortable. Of course, that's just MY opinion.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danusia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2011

My favorite place to stay in Vancouver, excellent location, comfy beds, helpful staff, soothing ambience, convenient parking. Quiet!!

Room Tip: Some free parking is available on G Island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou499153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Please note:

Parking on Granville Island is complimentary for 3 hours only! People who move their car around the island in the 3 hour spots can get tickets due to the fact that it is 3 hours of parking per day!

Parking passes for hotel guests can be purchased for $12 plus tax at the front desk or guests planning to visit for longer than 3 hours can park in the pay parking lots located around the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed at the Granville Island Hotel a few times for business. It is an excellent location and the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is quite a small hotel, rooms are very nice, restaurant food is good. Excellent support for organizing meetings. My only complaint is that the business centre has older computers and I had troubles getting them to recognize my memory stick.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLAfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the share your hotel experience. We really appreciate it.

I appreciate your comments regarding the business centre computers, as we try to continuously maintain and improve the computers for our guests convenience.

Looking forward to seeing you next time you visit Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This is the third time I've stayed at the Granville Island Hotel while on business in Vancouver.
I love everything about this hotel - the clean, quite rooms and comfy beds, the great location, which is central to the Granville Market, downtown, Kitslano and even UBC, the restaurant situated next to the marina, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, and even the sauna and small gym. When I return to Vancouver, this hotel will be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We live on the North Shore and decided to have a down town holiday. Granville Island Hotel was brilliantly located in the middle of False Creek activity. Hotel was friendly, staff helpful, room lovely, bathroom really lovely, restaurant and bar great food and drink and service.
Took the little aquabus across to Yaletown and rode bikes along sea wall. Took Aquabus back via Science World, live theatre on Granville island, great exploring all over the island - shops, food market, craftspeople and artists. Great fun for us and would be good for a family. And they takes dogs.
Simply a lovely time for us and the sun shone!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffers0n12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2011

It is the only hotel on the island however it is so convenient as a base to tour the island, eat & play! Beautiful views from every room, friendly staff and nice restaurant. I felt the room quality of furnishings could be updated and sized more appropriately for the room size. The beds were extremely comfortable and plush! I loved the bath products given for our use/convenience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisYoungOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
3,593 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
1,417 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
2,321 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 89 in Vancouver
1,991 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelClick, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing