We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC !!!!”
Review of Helen's Place

Helen's Place
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Helen's Place
Ranked #23 of 56 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at Helen's B&B for 2 weeks at the beginning of May. Our newborn baby was at the BC Children's Hospital, so we needed a place that was close. Helen's is a 4 minute walk away. Perfect. Helen is absolutely the best host to be running a B&B, she is genuine, caring, and keeps a very clean home. She bought us juice and cake when we arrived. She let us stay in her Carriage House in back of her beautiful home. Complete with a back yard that is what I can only describe as a botanical garden. So many nice smelling flowers and plants everywhere. It was very relaxing, and we needed the serenity, you can imagine spending all day in a hospital by your baby's incubator. When we go back to follow up appointments at the Hospital, we are definately staying with Helen.... She runs a fantastic operation...Thank You So Much Helen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PenDren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

Helen's Place is a rare gem in a beautiful city. I can't wait to come back, as much to stay with Helen, as to do any of the other things this place has to offer. Helen is a most gracious host, providing you with lovely accommodations, she is warm and welcoming. Sitting in her beautiful garden and eating the delicious highest quality foods she provides in her well stocked refrigerator plus her yummy homemade sticky buns, was a pure delight. If you are lucky she will play the harp for you. Her place is in a beautiful neighborhood a few blocks from Van Duesen Gardens, a huge botanical gardens with varieties of plants I had never seen before and a terrific restaurant. Public transportation is convenient and accessible. Stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erica123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I lived in Helen's garden suite for nearly three years as I moved from the United States to Canada to take a new job as Jewish clergy at a nearby congregation. I could not have asked for a more beautiful introduction to life in Vancouver. Helen's accommodations are the best I've seen - good enough to keep me there for so long. I've recommended this location to family and friends countless times over the years and will continue to do so. You will not find a better value for your dollar, nor a more welcoming, convenient base to explore this unique city. Whether it's a weekend holiday, month-long stay or seasonal getaway, you can expect professionalism, warmth and quality care at Helen's Place. - Mike

Room Tip: Call Helen. She has diversified options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cantormikezoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I stayed at Helen's while working at the VGH hospital. My suite was a comfortable bachelor that overlooked the garden.

The location is excellent for physicians who are looking for a place to stay while working at either the VGH or the Children's/Women's hospital. It is about a 20 minute walk to VGH through a very nice neighbourhood. Alternately, one can take a frequent bus that will get you to VGH in less than 5 minutes.

Helen is very friendly and often stops to chat with her tenants. She is an accomplished harpist and often she can be heard practicing. (Also, try to get one of her cinnamon buns if you stay...)

Highly recommended. Please note that "Helen's Place" is distinct from the similiarly named Helen's B and B.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pyrameus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank navaj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Cambie Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 56 in Vancouver
63 reviews
Kitsilano
A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage
A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage
#22 of 56 in Vancouver
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kitsilano
Suite Dreams Vancouver Bed and Breakfast
West Point Grey
House On Dunbar B&B
House On Dunbar B&B
#19 of 56 in Vancouver
70 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 56 in Vancouver
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helen's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helen's Place

Address: 1049 32nd Ave W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 2H7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing