We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West End Guest House
Ranked #1 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife booked room # 2 in February with a woman who answered the phone. This was after her friend had booked a room for three nights in July (12, 13, 14). Her friend said my wife would call her with our credit card info and she immediately called. The woman reserved the room from July 11 thru July 13 (wrong). When we arrived the owner said he expected us the night before based on the booking. We didn't have to pay for the room that was booked on the 11th, but we were being sent to another hotel for our last night. As it turned out, we were able to have a smaller room at the B & B for the last night. The room was small and cramped, designed for one person. Our original room that we paid well over $250.00 had a problem with the lock, you had to play with the key to make it work. We were unable to use the outside porch because there was an abundance of cat hair on the cushions. Very disappointed. On the positive side, the food was very good and the owner was helpful in providing us with a take out breakfast for our trip to Victory Island because we had to leave before breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan55, Owner at West End Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I can see that you would be disappointed. I was too because we never want our guests to not enjoy their stay. In this case I think the problem would have been nipped in the bud if our guests had read their confirmation email. (There were two couples traveling together and it was confusing on our end because they were to have disembarked from the same ship but made reservations for different days.) As always we try to be as professional as possible with the ultimate goal of our guests leaving with a smile on their faces. Despite the comments of the review I believe they were happy when I assisted them with their luggage to their taxi at check out. My apologies for the cat hair - we haven't managed to train her and obviously need to tidy the cat hairs from where humans sit on a more regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    31
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
373
88
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful vacation in Vancouver due in large part to Evan and Ron's gracious hospitality. Unlike many of the other guests who were staying at the West End on either side of a cruise we made it our home for 5 days. Evan and Ron take great pride in providing their guests with the best and make sure your stay is comfortable and your needs are met without being overly solicitous. Everything was perfect and it was really nice getting to know them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zolano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying at the West End during our first night in Vancouver and what a great way to start our trip!

The standard queen room was wonderful and our bed was very comfortable, making for a much-needed restful night's sleep.

We loved the small touches and amenities that were provided including the toiletries, the welcome fudge treats and the communal refrigerator with complimentary beverages. Evan & Ron were friendly & helpful hosts and I have to say, Evan's homemade baking was amazing. His afternoon baked good treats were so yummy and a fabulous surprise on that first day! My husband especially enjoyed the afternoon sherry too. The b&b has lovely decor & curb appeal...the backyard balcony is very pretty and its central location to the downtown core is a real plus....you can walk to everything. Our breakfast was delicious & satisfying-- it was also nice to have the opportunity to mingle with the other guests at the morning table. A great overall b&b experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first stay in Vancouver and we could not have been more pleased. Great location in the West End, walking to stores and Stanley Park. Beautifully furnished and delicious breakfasts with friendly innkeepers and guests. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grafwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent two nights in this lovely, old house. It was our first accommodation on our 12 days journey to Vancouver Island. We couldn't choosen a better place to start and will often think back to the great hospitality and awesome, incredible breakfast! Many thanks, we'll be back for sure. Highly recommended. Don't miss the friendly house cat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex68Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the West End Guest House. Cannot recommend this place more highly. Property is in a quiet location between Stanley Park and downtown which are both within a 15 minute walk (or a short cycle ride if you use the bikes at the B&B). Property is a beautiful Victorian house which is kept to a very high standard with the communal areas and the rooms both warm and inviting. Breakfasts are included and are impressive with several different courses, which set you up for the day. Free tea and coffee, and soft drinks are available all day which is a lovely touch as is the late afternoon sherry session which encourages guests to know each other. The owners of the property Evan and Ron are what makes staying this here so nice. They are both very friendly and helpful. Vancouver is also a beautiful city which is well worth coming to. I certainly plan to return and if I do will come back to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the West End Guest house between the 5th and 8th June this year. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and the accommodation was very clean and well equipped and full of old world charm in this excellently restored property. Breakfasts were freshly prepared, good quality and served in a well laid out and friendly atmosphere in the large dining area.

The guest house is conveniently located in the West End area of Vancouver and is within easy walking distance of Downtown, Canada Place and Stanley Park. There are many good restaurants and eating places within a short walking distance of the B&B. Overall an excellent place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,651 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Guest House

Property: West End Guest House
Address: 1362 Haro Street | Vancouver, British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1G2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian themed B&B in a convenient downtown residential location for tourists, visitors to the city and convention or business people. We emphasize service for our guests hoping that what we can offer will make their stay enjoyable, relaxing with no loose ends. All guest rooms have private bath, tv/dvd player - we have a dvd library, wi-fi and a guest computer and printer is provided. We have off street parking for every guest room- quite an accomplishment for the centre of the city! And we serve a full hot breakfast in a social atmosphere. And we offer bikes for touring the city, particularly the SeaWall and Stanley Park which are nearby. Everything we provide is included in the room rate except for the Packages we offer.We have 7 guest rooms and can accommodate couples, friends or family traveling together and needing two beds and single travelers. We do our utmost to make our guests feel welcome and we have done so for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your West End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Guest House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing