We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A genuine warmness towards guests” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West End Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West End Guest House
Ranked #1 of 48 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A genuine warmness towards guests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay in Vancouver prior to taking The Canadian train journey over The Rockies to Toronto, we could not have chosen anywhere better than West End Guest House.
The tastefully renovated property is to be found in Haro Street, running adjacent to the vibrant Robson Street and just a short walk to Downtown, English Bay, Stanley Park or even the ferry to Granville Island.

Our Victorian themed Deluxe room provided for a comfortable sleep in a Queen sized bed and benefited from a good sized well equipped & stocked en-suite, flat screen TV, direct dial telephone, wi-fi and clock radio. The bay window view over the leafy front garden with mountains in the distance and easy access to the sundeck were just the icing on the cake.

Hosts Evan and Ron have a genuine warmness towards their guests and this, together with their sense of humour, serves as an icebreaker at the communal breakfast table or the early evening sherry and informal chat session that takes place in the parlour between 5 and 7 daily. Their extensive and detailed local knowledge is readily imparted to their guests during these sessions, as well as randomly at all other times of the day.

The breakfast menu changes daily and never fails to come up with yet another delicious and unique, to die for, creation.

If your are seeking a warm welcome, a convivial, comfortable and clean place to stay in Vancouver – look no further, The West End Guest House is the place for you. This is not just another B&B; this is THE B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank landcruiserBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    31
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
367
88
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

House is exactly what a B&B should be...old, furnished and decorated accordingly, yet modern where necessary, and very clean.

Great atmosphere, wonderful front room to sit and chat with Evan and other guests.

Breakfasts that are elegant, tasty and filling, without being too much.

Bed was very comfortable...we slept soundly.

One of the very best B&B's we've ever stayed at.

My only requests would be:
- Make the entire property non-smoking. One guest was smoking on the balcony/porch, and the second hand smoke would find its way inside.
- Put a wireless internet repeater up on the second or third floor. Third floor internet access was very difficult.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iDogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a perfect stay at this charming guest house... Beautiful rooms & yummy breakfasts... But what set this place apart is how relaxing it is to stay here... It is truly a place to unwind and relax... Sherry hour is fun mingling with other guests and the host Evan.. We will be back for sure- the best B&B we have stayed in ever! Thanks Evan for making us feel like family!!! X

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaelaZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, inviting place to stay in Vancouver, West End Guest House is the place to stay. The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is to die for. I have stayed several times and my stay has always been amazing. Another great feature is the location. Close to the downtown, yet feels somewhat secluded, must be the large trees and quiet neighbourhood. Also, the staff is very knowledgeable and very accomodating. This is much more than just another hotel / motel experience. Once you have tried this you will definately stay here again. I know that I will be back whenever I am in Vancouver.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front give you a great view of the large trees and street activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gord B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay in Vancouver either side of a trip to Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, and we could not have chosen better. Evan, the proprietor, was helpful from the very start with his advice about car rental in the city. On arrival, we found a warm friendly atmosphere and very comfortable rooms. For breakfast, Evan sits his guests at one large table which gives the opportunity to open up and share experiences with fellow guests. The breakfasts are an experience in themselves - unique, delicious creations each morning.
The guest house is well located in leafy Horo Street with the West End, Downtown and Stanley Park within reasonable walking distance. Alternatively, the buses and trams are just one block away. Both Evan and Ron have a wry sense of humour which might show itself at breakfast time or as you share a sherry with them later in the day.
We therfore heartily recommend West End Guest House. As seasoned travellers, we have not found any B&B to match it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This beautiful property in the heart of Vancouver is a B&B that not only exudes the expected warmth of a home that hotels are void of, but Evan & Ron have elevated the expected experience further. Tucked a stone's throw away from the center of Vancouver's business district, its location was more pleasant than any of the 5-star city hotels of Vancouver. I could easily access Robson Street (1 block away), and both English Bay, Stanley Park, and the business district are less than 1km away.

Since I was there alone, I took a small bedroom but it was more than adequate. Nice hot showers at any time, and a bed that was so comfortable to sleep in. The neighbourhood is also peaceful and I saw many children playing in the nearby playgrounds. The delicious (American) breakfast option each morning was also very satisfying.

Complimentary parking also made it a simple decision to have a car so that I had the option of visiting all the surrounding sights of Vancouver. Definitely will return here next time I visit Vancouver!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianxteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The neighborhood is fun to walk in, feels very safe, leafy green in April, and reasonably close walking distance to many places to explore. The room was beautiful and quiet. Great shower - hot and good pressure. Comfortable bed. The breakfasts were beautiful, healthy, and delicious. Coffee excellent. Evan and Ron were very accomodating and helpful with directions and suggestions of what to see. I hope I do come back to Vancouver, and if so, I will definitely stay at the West End Guest House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,295 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 90 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Guest House

Property: West End Guest House
Address: 1362 Haro Street | Vancouver, British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian themed B&B in a convenient downtown residential location for tourists, visitors to the city and convention or business people. We emphasize service for our guests hoping that what we can offer will make their stay enjoyable, relaxing with no loose ends. All guest rooms have private bath, tv/dvd player - we have a dvd library, wi-fi and a guest computer and printer is provided. We have off street parking for every guest room- quite an accomplishment for the centre of the city! And we serve a full hot breakfast in a social atmosphere. And we offer bikes for touring the city, particularly the SeaWall and Stanley Park which are nearby. Everything we provide is included in the room rate except for the Packages we offer.We have 7 guest rooms and can accommodate couples, friends or family traveling together and needing two beds and single travelers. We do our utmost to make our guests feel welcome and we have done so for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your West End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Guest House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing