We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West End Guest House
Ranked #1 of 52 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The breakfasts are excellently prepared. They are tasty, colorful, always include a variety of good stuff (breads, rolls, fruit,eggs, smoothies, cheese, tomatoes). The breakfast table always has interesting folks from all around Canada, the States, and Austrailia. Their reputation is wide spread and well deserved. My wife enjoys examining their antique furniture which perfectly fits their Victorian house. The biggest change to the house in the last year was the remodel of room 2 which refreshed the room and upgraded the bathroom. They have great lighting, comfortable necessities, new tiled shower and heated bathroom floor.

There is no mystery why we enjoy our stays time after time.

Room Tip: Room 2 has lots of space and king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    31
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
373
88
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novosibirsk, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at this charming B&B so many times that I lost count, and every stay was fabulous. I love Vancouver and every time I visit this beautiful city, I stay at West End Guest House.This charming B&B is conveniently located on a quiet residential street downtown Vancouver, just one block off Robson. The owners, Evan and Ron, are very caring and helpful, and pay attention to every little detail.
Breakfasts are “to die for”: fresh homemade pastries, fruit smoothies, seasonal berries & yogurt, fancy main course (e.g. Salmon Egg Benedict, Frittata with Crab & Asparagus, Ham & Cream Cheese Omelette, etc.) plus variety of herbal teas, homemade jams and always fresh coffee. By the way, if you are not a seafood lover or have special dietary requirements, Evan and Ron will definitely accommodate your needs.
At breakfast I always enjoy meeting people from all over the world and learning about different cultures. Plus, complimentary cocktail hour in the afternoon, fresh homemade cookies every evening and filtered water, teas and seasonal fruits available in the kitchen 24/7 add a special touch to your experience here.
This is definitely my home away from home and I highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for peace and comfort in the heart of busy Vancouver. Dear Evan and Ron, thank you very much for your wonderful hospitality.
Svetlana from Russia

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvetlanaRussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The warmth of the welcome, the lovely house, the great breakfasts and the central location all made this a great place to stay. A visitor pantry meant drinks and yummy cake were available all day and the evening sherry a nice treat. Close to many good restaurants and tourist sites. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ateamgoestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I can only echo the fantastic reviews other people have given this place. Evan was wonderful and we both loved our stay here! He really went above and beyond for us and it felt like home away from home.

Rooms tastefully decorated and a beautiful living room with a fire place to sit by in the evenings. Breakfasts were delicious and enormous servings! Evan and Ron are both fantastic cooks.

Fantastic location just a street away from Robson street and an easy stroll into Downtown. They also have bikes which we used for a day to ride around Stanley park and the Seawall.

Overall, I can't recommend this place enough! We will definitely be back on our next visit to Vancouver.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natty_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

What a lovely guest house set in a beautiful Vancouver residential neighborhood one block from trendy Robson Street. The innkeepers are personable and thoughtful. The rooms are tastefully decorated with every amenity you could want. Breakfast was totally delicious and gourmet. The bed linens were luscious! Free off street parking. I can't wait to return in the summer. This is a find!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! The room was beautifully decorated with a clean and spacious bathroom and the rest of the house was meticulously decorated to fit the era the house was built in (I even got a bit of a history lesson through all of the old pictures of Vancouver through out the house). Evan and Ron could not have been more welcoming and the other guests at the time made the same comments. The breakfasts that were served were delicious and left our bellies full until well after lunch time. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgkubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The WEGH is located on the core of Vancouver in one of the few heritage homes that uses to populate the whole West End of Vancouver that survived the condo frenzy that now cover most of the peninsula. It is perfectly located near the shopping area of Robson street, walking distance from English Bay, Stanley Park, the business district and 100 of restaurants. You will also be treated to the best breakfasts you will ever find in a B&B. The home is charming, the rooms are superb and our host were perfect, always ready to help. This is the place to go whether for a business trip if you are tired of big hotels or for a gateway in Vancouver.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Guest House

Property: West End Guest House
Address: 1362 Haro Street | Vancouver, British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1G2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian themed B&B in a convenient downtown residential location for tourists, visitors to the city and convention or business people. We emphasize service for our guests hoping that what we can offer will make their stay enjoyable, relaxing with no loose ends. All guest rooms have private bath, tv/dvd player - we have a dvd library, wi-fi and a guest computer and printer is provided. We have off street parking for every guest room- quite an accomplishment for the centre of the city! And we serve a full hot breakfast in a social atmosphere. And we offer bikes for touring the city, particularly the SeaWall and Stanley Park which are nearby. Everything we provide is included in the room rate except for the Packages we offer.We have 7 guest rooms and can accommodate couples, friends or family traveling together and needing two beds and single travelers. We do our utmost to make our guests feel welcome and we have done so for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your West End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Guest House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing