We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West End Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West End Guest House
Ranked #1 of 50 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Upon entering 1362 Haro Street in Vancouver, we knew we were going to have a pleasant stay. The antique decor was warm and inviting. Fresh cookies were placed next to the stairs leading to our room. We had had a long day of travel and arrived after 9 p.m. We were greeted warmly and made to feel comfortable. The next morning breakfast was served with flair, tastefulness, and the right amount of conversation with the owners. Our room had everything we could possibly need including a welcome card and treat. Evan and Ron, the proprietors, took care of meeting needs specific to us: a very early morning taxi to the airport, packing a lunch since we left long before breakfast was served, storing skis so we didn't have to lug them up to our room, and more. We stayed three nights and heartily recommend West End Guest House to all who want to experience Vancouver. We were able to walk to Stanley Park, Granville Island, as well as a plethora of shopping and dining locations.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    31
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
372
88
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Evan and Ron - thank you for a memorable 1.5 day stay recently and for embracing my 'talkative and busy' 8 month old son! After more than 2 weeks of international travel and numerous 5* hotel stays, I so enjoyed the warmth, calmness and serenity of my overnight at your B&B. My stay was exactly what I had hoped it would be. Our high maintenance arrival (late night, tons of luggage and baby gear, starving) was handled with grace and generosity (thank you again for spoiling us with Ron's spaghetti!). Your thoughtfulness did not go unnoticed. I'll be back and the kid(s) will be older and the stay less high maintenance! Cheers to you both!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan55, Owner at West End Guest House, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thanks for the review. It was great having you and little (soon to be bigger) Maxton in the house. Max is just like his mommy - lots of personality and a loving disposition. And it was fun for me to go into my repertoire of funny faces for him as well. But I imagine by next year it will be a whole new travel experience and we'll all need to pull some different tricks out of the hat!

Even though we aren't really set up for babies - but we did find the crib even if he preferred to sleep with him Mom - it was a joy to have you with us. Ron and I will look forward to seeing you again.

Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Though I have slept in dozens of beds with breakfast, I have never been so graciously received as I was at the West End Guest House. Evan and Ron clearly take pride in being outstanding hosts, whether in the warm and witty conversation that accompanies their excellent breakfasts, or in their attention to every detail that makes one's stay comfortable. I felt so at home in their well-appointed rooms that I considered moving in. First I'll have to learn how to live up to the high standards set by such superior hosts.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CameronFitzsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

My husband and I always stay in B&Bs wherever we travel and the West End Guest House will stand out as one of our favorites. The WEGH is so charming and located walking distance to great dining and shopping. We loved our uniquely decorated bedroom and slept amazingly well in the very warm and comfy bed. And having a free place to park was a huge bonus. But what really made our stay was Evan and Ron! They are the most wonderful hosts! From their genuine interest in each of their guests, to their afternon "Sherry Social" - which is the perfect way to start each evening, yummy baked treats that appear throughout your stay, and gourmet breakfasts, they made our stay very special and memorable. In addition, most of the B&Bs where we've stayed provide a little history on the house, but Evan and Ron provide an entire book filled with the history of the house, how they became the owners, and lots of other fascinating information that you'd never get from the average B&B owner. It's that, among many other personal touches, that left us feeling like we were really special guests in someone's home and not just another passerby.

When we come back to Vancouver, this is the only place we will stay. Thank you Evan and Ron for everything! We look forward to our next visit to Vancouver!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Advntrgrl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We've stayed in B and B's in a number of countries, as well as many in the U.S., and the West End Guest House is beyond compare. Evan and Ron are superlative hosts and now, after our many stays there, good friends. All the rooms are beautifully decorated, the linens are exquisite, and the beds are soooooo comfortable. Breakfast is always a delight and served with such care. You won't need to eat again until dinner!! Evan and Ron provide the hospitality and attention to detail that we haven't seen anywhere else. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Vancouver!!

Room Tip: Any room in the house is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinette f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Couldn't have wished for better comfort, service or company! Can't wait to come back ! Nothing short of fabulous! We're telling everyone!

Kari & Thomi

Room Tip: The grand queen on the top floor. It is a outstanding experience of decor and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We've been staying at the West End Guest House since 1994. Once we found this treasure, we kept coming back year after year. There was no need to look elsewhere. The location near Stanley Park and downtown is perfect for us. And because we drive up from Seattle, the free parking is a real bonus.

Evan started restoring this heritage house in the West End in the 90's and has continued to refine and enhance it over the years. The result is a beautiful Victorian home, with all the modern conveniences and creature comforts - fine linens, comfy feather beds, great bathrooms, and lovely antiques. There is a room to suit everyone. Part of the fun for us is seeing "the latest project" that Evan has going to make the house even more special than it already is. As hosts, Evan and Ron attend to every detail, including homemade cookies, a self serve pantry for guests, delicious breakfasts, and lots of wonderful advice about Vancouver sights and dining.

Another wonderful aspect of the West End Guest House is the other guests. On every visit, we meet fascinating travelers from around the world. The breakfast conversation often keeps us at the table much longer than we planned. The breakfasts are fabulous and can be made to order for special dietary needs.

We love the West End Guest House and can't recommend it enough. When Evan's full, we sometimes have to stay elsewhere - but we always come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Guest House

Property: West End Guest House
Address: 1362 Haro Street | Vancouver, British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1G2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian themed B&B in a convenient downtown residential location for tourists, visitors to the city and convention or business people. We emphasize service for our guests hoping that what we can offer will make their stay enjoyable, relaxing with no loose ends. All guest rooms have private bath, tv/dvd player - we have a dvd library, wi-fi and a guest computer and printer is provided. We have off street parking for every guest room- quite an accomplishment for the centre of the city! And we serve a full hot breakfast in a social atmosphere. And we offer bikes for touring the city, particularly the SeaWall and Stanley Park which are nearby. Everything we provide is included in the room rate except for the Packages we offer.We have 7 guest rooms and can accommodate couples, friends or family traveling together and needing two beds and single travelers. We do our utmost to make our guests feel welcome and we have done so for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your West End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Guest House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing