We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still thinking about our trip..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West End Guest House
Ranked #1 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still thinking about our trip..”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the West End Guest House in August, and we're still talking about Evan's hospitality, the delicious breakfasts and the beautiful Victorian house! He welcomed two tired travelers with a warm smile, carried our suitcases up the stairs to our cozy room and helped us find a quiet restaurant within walking distance for dinner our first night. Loved the setting - we felt as though we were residents of Vancouver, only a 6-minute stroll to the water, and about a 15-minute walk to Stanley Park. Attention to detail - from a computer for guest use to ribbon-tied soap to a plate of freshly-made cookies at the base of the staircase in the evenings - is wonderful. Will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    31
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
374
89
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langley, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Charming B&B. Fantastic breakfast. Well appointed rooms with generous amenities. Enjoyed visiting with other guest during afternoon sherry time. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Could not have been better. Convenient location in a walkable City.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey6f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed for six nights in September and thoroughly enjoyed the West End Guest House 'experience'. Choose your room from the excellent website;They are all beautifully designed - I know, i looked when they were empty. It is a little like living in a well loved time warp - lots of lovely furnishings and finishes + books and dvds to borrow, a guest kitchen with tea and coffee, home baked cakes and cookies and fruit + freshy baked temptations in the hallway each aftrenoon + 7.00p.m. sherry in the lounge + computer access.
We booked the De Luxe Queen room, enjoyed the space and slept in real comfort.
Evan, Ron and team could not have done more to ensure that we had a memorable stay.
We loved Vancouver and know that pur choice of accomodation was a major factor in this.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlswjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2011

A heritage house, it sits quirkily among high-rise apartment blocks on a quiet, tree-lined, street. It is ideally positioned for eating and shopping, cycling in Stanley Park or accessing the endless activity on the waterfront.
Guests are encouraged to use the comfortable sitting room, with tea/coffee/sherry! on tap - plus a seemingly endless supply of home-baked goodies. Breakfast served by the owners Evan and Ron is both delicious and sociable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This was Ray's first visit to Vancouver and our stay at your delightful Inn will always serve to remind us of how impressive the visit was. Evan and Ron were cordial and friendly and made us feel quite at home. We were fortunate to be assigned the Grand Queen Room and it was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. Without doubt, West End Guest House will be our choice of accommodations when next we visit your lovely city.

Thanks and best wishes!

Ray Evans & Judy Daddona
The Villages, FL, USA

Room Tip: The Grand Queen Room is lovey but is located on the third floor; therefore, be mindful of the effort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed here at the first of Oct. Evan and his partners/staff were so very accommodating. We had great communication with him from the day we made our reservation Our room on the top floor faced the street and had a huge couch in it and large bathroom. The queen bed was extremely comfortable. We arrived by train and did not rent a car.
We borrowed their mountain bikes and road them around Stanley Park and over to Granville Island. Their location is so central we were able to walk to our dinner restaurant.
Evan arranged a bus tour for us which picked us up and dropped us off at the front door.
We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughWhitehorseYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom California USA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at the West End Guest House earlier this month and had a lovely, memorable stay. The whole house including our room was desiigned and furnished with a superb attention to detail. Built in 1906 everything was clearly lovingly, painstakingly renovated and refurbished and carefully maintained. The appointments were chosen with careful consideration for guest's comfort and pleasure. The hosts were delightful and always willing to help. We've been staying in B&Bs for many many years and this is one of the nicest we've come across. I can imagine staying anywhere else if we come back to Vancouver.

Room Tip: (oops - there is not pool but you can't uncheck that)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,632 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,959 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,782 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Guest House

Property: West End Guest House
Address: 1362 Haro Street | Vancouver, British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1G2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West End Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian themed B&B in a convenient downtown residential location for tourists, visitors to the city and convention or business people. We emphasize service for our guests hoping that what we can offer will make their stay enjoyable, relaxing with no loose ends. All guest rooms have private bath, tv/dvd player - we have a dvd library, wi-fi and a guest computer and printer is provided. We have off street parking for every guest room- quite an accomplishment for the centre of the city! And we serve a full hot breakfast in a social atmosphere. And we offer bikes for touring the city, particularly the SeaWall and Stanley Park which are nearby. Everything we provide is included in the room rate except for the Packages we offer.We have 7 guest rooms and can accommodate couples, friends or family traveling together and needing two beds and single travelers. We do our utmost to make our guests feel welcome and we have done so for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your West End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Guest House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing