We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Vancouver B.C.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #56 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best value in Vancouver B.C.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We love the Kingston B & B. Staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotless. We enjoy the continental breakfast. We have never had any issues with the shared bathroom. The value is
exceptional. It's location is great as we can walk to the bus station, train station, cruise ships,
or board light rail, sea bus or city bus for greater distances.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayJ554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    136
    71
    24
    20
See reviews for
31
143
96
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Kingston would appear that it is being swallowed up by the building developments on either side (a giant Telus complex while architecturally interesting in and of itself has been allowed by City Planners to diminish the quaint, historic character of the Kingston.) What you must know is that the quality, service and hospitality of this little gem is not compromised. The staff are superb and accommodating and while unpretentious the hotel is quiet, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have en suite so check to avoid a last minute surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnTrvlr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I spent 5 days and everything was good: room ( enough big to store 6 luggages), shared bathroom ( well clean )breakfast ( delicious bagels).

I'll come back here for my next trip in Vancouver.

Thank you !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valentin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have stayed two times, summer 2012 and 2013, for several days at a time at this small, quaint European style hotel. It is centrally located so you can walk everywhere: malls, restaurants, ethnic cafes, Davie Street bars, Canada Place to catch your cruise ship or to Stanley Park. It is only 3 stories tall and has an attached restaurant for dinners. All the staff are nice and at the front desk they are helpful if you need info on what to do or how to get around they'll help. There is wifi and a computer to use if you don't travel with one. The train/tram system is about 3 blocks away ( at the mall). There is construction going on next door but unless you sleep in the daytime it not a problem. Half a block away on the other side of the street is a nice little market with a deli. I brought my lunches back to the hotel and relaxed in the nice breakfast area that has a TV. The room I usually request has a small TV and cable so if I don't feel like going out at night I can watch my favorite programs/channels. There is also a set of coin laundry machines and a book exchange. The Kingston is really a little gem of a place to call home for a few days in this great to visit city. I especially liked meeting other fellow travelers at the continental breakfasts.

Note: As this hotel is a beautifully preserved antique hotel some rooms have a bathroom some share very clean facilities down the (hall which I used). I did not find this to be a problem.

Room Tip: If you like TV ask for a room with a TV. Not all rooms have a TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyVaninetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I love the Kingston. I will come back forever! Great price, great people, fantastic rooms. Lovely! I come to Vancouver on occasion for business and pleasure and the Kingston is my go-to place. Very European, quaint and wonderful :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaYapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stay here often for its prime downtown location and good price point. The staff are very friendly and since I am out of the hotel most of the day, the construction has never bothered me. The hotel is old, but recently renovated with new mirrors, vanity glass, mattresses, and a bit of paint. Having a desk and a sink in each room is one of the best parts for me as I can work and do my nightly routine without going to the shared bathroom. Internet is provided and usually pretty good, I've only had one night with slowness issues. It's very secure and safe which is especially great given its downtown location. My only reservations are the accent pillows, which are a bit sketchy sometimes as are the comforters, however the pillows, sheets, and mattress are super comfy and I have always slept well here. As others have said, the breakfast is so-so, so I usually eat out. This is my go-to hotel in Vancouver, so I hope you enjoy it as much as me!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We booked this hotel for 4 days as it suited our requirements and budget. It was a lovely experience staying here. Our room was great, fully furnished and with modern amenities. It was impeccably cleaned and fresh bed linens and upholstery were in place. In the bathroom toiletries and towels were provided. The service was good; the staff was efficient and friendly. Overall I would rate it very good and certainly recommend it at this price point.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raymond r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 90 in Vancouver
839 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 90 in Vancouver
1,610 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#15 of 90 in Vancouver
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 90 in Vancouver
740 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Address: 757 Richards St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingston Hotel is a heritage building, built in 1910 and family owned and operated. Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, only half a block from the Robson Street shopping district. Vancouver City Centre Skytrain Station is 2 blocks from The Kingston. Other nearby areas include Gastown, Chinatown and Yaletown. BC Place Stadium and Rogers Arena, the Vancouver Convention Centre and Cruise ship terminal are also only a 10-15 minute walk.A 52 room, European style Bed and Breakfast hotel, The Kingston offer rooms with either a shared or private bathroom. All rooms include a continental breakfast, served every morning between 6:30 and 11:00am. Some of the amenities The Kingston offers include free WiFi, a public computer terminal with available printer, a sauna, day and overnight storage and coin-operated laundry machines.The Kingston Taphouse and Grille restaurant is located right next door. One of the most popular spots in the city, offering a large menu fit for a variety of different taste buds. Try one of the 60 available beers, or choose a wine from the extensive wine list. Four different areas are perfect for any setting. Choose from Bar, Dining Room, Wrec Room (complete with dart boards and pool table), or Garden Patio. A great place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingston Hotel Vancouver
The Kingston Hotel Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing