We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveler rating
158
187
87
35
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
187
87
35
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom small fan great location continental breakfast private bath single room robes and slippers laundry room small hotel cruise port canada line an older hotel would stay here again downtown location canada place stanley park sink
Filter
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 494 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel ha a good location in the middle of downtown Vancouver, so you can walk to many attractions. It is only a couple of blocks from the Skyrail station and a bus passes the hotel, so getting around is easy. Rooms are very small and the beds are only 3/4 size doubles, so its very pokey. Bathrooms are on each floor and there is a basin in each room.During our visits the toilets were sometimes blocked and the toilet paper ran out in the bathroom At the time of our visits major works were going on on both sides of the hotel, ie they had demolished the neighbouring buildings and the hotel ws an island in a huge hole of earthworks. Consequently there was noise from the construction sites surrounding the hotel. Staff were friendly and a small breakfast of bagels, juice and coffee was provided. We paid about Can$90 for a double. We stayed on 2 occasions and I would stay again for the location and price.

Room tip: All rooms were a bit noisy due to construction works, but try to avoid rooms above the bistro.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leighae54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

center of Downtown Vancouver. Only 2 blocks from Canada Line - City Centre skytrain station. quick breakfast and wireless included. Clean common bathroom & shower, robe & slippers a nice touch. Have stayed here many times including honeymoon.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neko888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed here for on night on my way home after a 3 month trip. It was very easy to find and reach, within a few minutes walk of Granville and City Centre train lines.

The hotel was perfect for me, my room was very clean and tidy, the staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating (Fred). It's a great location and there are plenty of coffee shops and restaurants nearby. A good supermarket on the same block with deli food for cheap lunches.

There was a sauna, which I didn't use. I had a shared bath with my room and didn't have a problem finding an empty bathroom to use when I needed it.

The hotel is currently sandwiched between 2 large building sites on the block. Work on these sites starts 7:30am and is due to go on for a couple of years, so for some might not be good, but for me that was not an issue. The pros clearly outweighed the cons. They have reduced their prices as a result of this work.

Compared to the place I stayed in in Seattle the night before, which was almost double the price, this was amazing value for money.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the Kingston for 3 nights and were very impressed - was great value for money and was in a fab location.

The bathrooms are down the hall but I never had to wait for one, and the breakfast is basic (bagels or toast with coffee, tea, juice) but perfectly fine for what we were after. It was clean and just what we were after - somewhere to sleep on a whirlwind stopover. The rooms aren't huge so might not be that suitable for those looking to spend a lot of time in their room. there are construction sites on both sides but wasnt noisy at all.

Definitely visit the pub next door too

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Kingston is an excellent budget option in central Vancouver. I used it for two days before an Alaska cruise. As noted in other reviews, it is Euro-style, with a sink in the room and the shower and toilet down the hall. For convenience, a nice white terry bathrobe and disposable slippers are included with the room.

The rooms are small but attractively decorated. Rooms and showers are well-maintained. Rooms with low numbers (--1) face the street and those with high numbers (-21) face the back alley.

Be aware that there is construction on both sides of the hotel (high rise glass and steel buildings are going up) and it will last until about 2015. As a result, room rates have been lowered. Noise is not an issue if one plans to sightsee during the day. Construction starts around 0800 and lasts till around 1700.

The hotel property must be extremely valuable, and my suspicion is that Telus (the adjacent owner) is hoping to lower the price by squeezing them out and then using the property as a plaza for their adjacent new buildings. Just my opinion, and I hope it does not happen since I want to stay at the Kingston in the future.

The staff are very friendly, the breakfast is abstemious (bagel, coffee, and juice), the on-site bar and restaurant attract a young professional crowd, and the location is perfect for public transportation (the Skytrain station is just 2 blocks west, and all central sights are a short walk away.)

Buy a daily transport pass ($9, $7 seniors 65+) and use it to cover the entire city from airport Skytrain to north side ferry. Bus drivers have a route map in their free schedule booklets.

Keep in mind that if your YVR flight is delayed past midnight or leaves very early, you may need to taxi for about $35 plus tip to/from the airport. On my return from the cruise I had to stay at a YVR airport hotel because of an 0630 international flight.

Room tip: --1 rooms face the street, -21 rooms face the back alley. Bathrooms are near the street end of the hall.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank efsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews