We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We truly enjoyed our pre-cruise stay at this hotel!”
Review of Rosedale on Robson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosedale on Robson
Ranked #41 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We truly enjoyed our pre-cruise stay at this hotel. Our flight arrived late at night and took a 20 minute taxi ride to the hotel. No hotel shuttle is provided. We were greeted by Steve at reception and checked in quickly to our beautiful suit. He was professional and friendly.

The room was large, bright and sunny with floor to ceiling windows, with a complete small kitchen, stove, oven, microwave, frig, coffee maker (several tea choices, coffee), utensils, dishes, pot, pan. The comfy king bed with thick fluffy pillows and very quiet room allowed for a much needed night’s sleep. A separate sitting area with couch and flat screen TV allowed my husband to stay up late and not wake me. Luxury bath amenities and fluffy robes and towels made us feel pampered.

Appreciated extras: Fuji water was complimentary and our ice bucket was filled daily. Room and hotel was very clean. The hot tub and pool were inviting and the perfect temperature. The pool area is large, but we could not sit because there were only two tables and limited chairs.

Wi-Fi is not complimentary, $5 for 24 hours. A guest computer is available in the lobby for $5 for 30 minutes. Parking $16/day.

Our package included a wonderful expanded continental breakfast. Great wide selection of teas! Yummy and satisfying meal.

Conveniently located; walking distance to stores, restaurants, convention center. 8 minute taxi ride to cruise terminal.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gershwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

In summary - great staff, fantastic location, view could be stunning, everything else is good enough.

We had a 3 night stay in a two bedroom suite on the 16th floor during a very busy weekend at the Rosedale. Staff got us into our room faster than expected (Lions kick off was in 4 hours, place was packed). The rooms are adequate, with no issues as far as cleaning or quality goes. Living space of our suite seemed a bit dark, but the trade off was both bedrooms had floor to ceiling windows with fantastic views of the ocean, mountains, the library and you could watch the big screen at BC Place through the dome!

Staff were always available and helpful. Parking was a breeze. Location is top notch, with easy access in and our of city. Near stations for both skytrain lines and bus hubs. If you're going to Rogers Arena or BC Place this is a no-brainer.

If you're going to spend large amounts of time in room while in Van (and why would you) then you might find the rooms small. If you need somewhere to sleep, have a coffee, whip up dinner (kitchens in room are small but fine) and store your stuff, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Go high! There's no view down low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hailnurgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days last year, the hotel is within walking distance to almost everything, we started on a cruise from Vancouver and we even walked to the cruise terminal, has a a terrific heated indoor pool and spa. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MVP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were there early July with our 2 children. Overall, it was good. Not fantastic, but suited us well. The suite was nice - good to have a separate sitting area where we could read/watch TV without disturbing the sleeping kids. The pool was ok, the hot tub was warm, but the kids still enjoyed it. Nice to be downtown and reasonable close to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheaj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

With some trepidation (as I had read previous reviews) we booked throough our agent for 3 nights ex-NZ. The property is tired and a bit shabby but a room 'with a view' was requested and we were given a lovely suite with 2 x double beds and a view to die for! great location for ease of getting to and from the best shopping in Vancouver. Also good for public transport.

We thoroughly enjoyed oour stay - staff were kind and helpful (of course the old greasing of the palm always helps!) The eating area is grubby however and the restuarant staff totally disinterested, forgetful of orders and is not recomended.

For short stop over - great!

Thanks Rosedale.

Room Tip: Go for the upper rooms - great view of vancouver and River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pippa64Oamaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your review. As for the restaurant, I will pass on your remarks to the owner operator. According to the owner, Rosie's is due for a renovation in January 2013.

Yours truly:
Jim Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This suite hotel is conveniently located in downtowntown Vancouver, close to yaletown, restaurants, and in the theatre, performing arts, and sports district.

We travelled with another couple and had adjoining One Bedroom Queen suites. Each of the suites had a comfortable sofabed and arm chair in the living room and a good sized desk and swivel chair. The bedroom had a comfortable king sized bed and an armchair. Both rooms had great views of Vancouver's downtown and beyond. The galley kitchen was well equipped with sufficient dishes for four. Groceries, liquor, bakeries, amd delis were close by amd we could all get together for socializing in one or the other suite.

Front desk checkin was effortless and pleasant and the room cleaning was superb. The cleaning staff cheerfully accomodated our timing and kept the suites well supplied with toiletries, tea and coffee. This hotel has some of the best staff we have found in Vancouver. It was a memorable few days and we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel website has suite layout plans and you canselect the layout that suits your needs. Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brijesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

First trip to Vancouver I picked the Rosedale based on the reviews on Travel Advisor and because I did not want to pay 100% of the room charges several months in advance which would be non-refundable. For me, the Rosedale worked out great.

Stayed 4 nights in late June. Arrived around 2pm and got checked-in quickly and easily. My room was on the 18th floor and was, by my standards, quite large. I should mention I paid the standard room rate off the internet and did not request anything special in the room. Two queen beds, sitting room with 2nd TV, small balcony with something of a view, kitchen but a small bathroom. Given all that room, I could not figure out why the bathroom ended up so small. Go figure. The room was clean, the bed was good and I got a good night's sleep, no noise to speak of and the hallways and elevators of which there were 3 were also clean and well maintained.

Breakfast is included and is standard fare without eggs or meat. Only strange thing was that the location was tucked away on the 2nd floor. Attached to the hotel is Rosie's - an Irish Pub themed restaurant. Ate there the first night for dinner and found the food surprisingly good (Shepherd's Pie plus local brew) as was the service.

WiFi is free but only in the lobby. Found a spot in the lobby that worked well where the throughput was terrific - so no real complaints there. I went there every morning before breakfast to download my files and newspapers.

The service desk was very helpful in (a) recommending and making reservations at a great seafood restaurant with a terrific view (The Boathouse), (b) steering me toward the nearest bus stop for the city tour, and (c) getting me a cab for the trip to the train station (not really within easy walking distance) to catch the Amtrak to Seattle.

All in all this is a good to very good hotel in a good location. Not in the center of things, but not very far from them either. Within 10 minutes you could easily walk to the Hotel Vancouver or the Vancouver Art Gallery. Plus lots of fast food restaurants on Robson if you are not in the mood for restaurant fare.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silicon_Valley_Guy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,612 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,523 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale on Robson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale on Robson

Address: 838 Hamilton Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $132 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedale on Robson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the entertainment and sports district, the Rosedale on Robson Suite Hotel offers you comfort and relaxation, with water and mountain views, in a perfect central location. We are a very short walking distance to Rogers Arena, BC Place, the Queen Elizabeth Theatre, the Westside Church, and historic Yaletown, Gastown, Chinatown.Discover fabulous shops and cafes along the way. Choose from our array of one and two bedroom suites with 2 doubles, queen-size and/or king-size beds. Every suite offers the comforts of home with fully equipped galley kitchens for people who love to have that convenience. Need to stay connected? You can access WiFi throughout the hotel. Need to relax? Enjoy our indoor lap pool and whirlpool or find a touch of nature in our second floor garden terrace. Fitness on your mind? The poolside lobby fitness area has treadmills and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosedale on Robson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Robson
Rosedale On Robson Hotel Vancouver
Rosedale On Robson Vancouver
Rosedale Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing