We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveler rating
184
195
68
19
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
195
68
19
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room free shuttle front desk granville island enclosed balcony continental breakfast full kitchen street noise second bedroom downtown vancouver the penthouse davie street twin beds kitchen facilities extra space small kitchen bit dated
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Landis for 3 nights. Although only 3 of us, we booked a 2-bedroom suite in order to provide our daughter with her own space - the suite was extremely spacious, and very comfortable.

The hotel provides all the facilities needed for a city break, including parking on site and access to the swimming pool at the neighbouring hotel. Having a kitchen available was also great for snacks and drinks. The hotel doesn't have its own dining room, but there are plenty of bakeries and cafes very close by, and it is a short walk to restaurants in Yaletown.

Don't expect luxury or the most up to date amenities, but for a comfortable, clean hotel in a good location, the Landis ticks all the boxes

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank jonc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisHotelGM, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Traveller,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear that you and your family had a great time. We are happy to hear that we tick all of the boxes for value. We hope to see you all back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We found this hotel through Expedia. The hotel looked pretty decent plus had 2 bedrooms so we booked it for a party of 5. The check in process was decent. There was a distinct old flooring and furniture smell in the unit as we entered but since the bedrooms looked okay we did not say anything to front desk. The problem started when my husband took a shower. The water did not drain right away and hair started coming up the drain. Now my husband has short hair so clearly those were not his. My husband called the front desk and the was told that there is no maintenance manager on site to come and unclog the drain. Front desk guy asked my husband to unclog the drain instead (wow!!!). When my husband said no (obviously) the guy asked him to go to the second floor and shower. He said there was nothing else he could do for us (so pretty much asked us to suck it up). At no point did he offer moving us to a different room or find a better solution. We stay at a lot of hotels and I have never had such bad customer service. Since we booked through Expedia we were told by front desk the next day that we cannot get a refund/compensation for unusable shower instead they compensated our parking. PS: The coffee maker was dirty, living rooms furniture was old and probably never replaced, some blinds did not open in the dining area. We would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nehahong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisHotelGM, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Traveller,
We are sincerely sorry to hear about your recent experience while staying with us. The state of your room is unacceptable and below the standard that we pride ourselves on. We appreciate that you told us about the issues, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused by this. We are currently looking into how we can prevent this from ever happening again. We hope that you are able to give us a second chance to show you why we are one of the best places to stay in town. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

My wife and I just returned from a very pleasant two (2) month stay at the Landis Hotel. Our suite was uniquely spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. Our suite consisted of two bedrooms, two full bathrooms, a very functional kitchen, a large dining area and an enclosed balcony which had a view of the mountains and a glimpse at English Bay. Suites of this size are rare in Vancouver as are the extremely low charges for secure underground parking. Beyond our accommodations, we were most impressed by the professional and efficient level of service rendered by the General Manager, Mr Khaled Ali and his staff. Mr. Ali is the consummate host who attends to every detail in a courteous and professional manner.
Housekeeping was was timely and meticulous. What better recommendation than to indicate that we've already booked our stay for next Summer.

Room Tip: Hotel is in the heart of Downtown, so street noises (sirens) are not uncommon. Higher floors or rear facing suites side might be quieter,
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisHotelGM, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Hello John,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for two months. We are happy to know that you and your wife had a great time with us. We will pass the message along to both Mr. Khaled and Mr. Ali. They are both wonderful staff members who do their best to ensure that every guest is taken care of. We look forward to seeing you back! All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

We picked this hotel so it could accommodate 5 of us, 2 adults, 2 teens and a 10 year old. There were 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms plus the sofa bed. The sofa bed was garbage. Just sitting on it as a sofa was uncomfortable and saggy but when we opened the bed it had a head end tilt about 5” lower than the bottom end. One teen slept on it awkwardly head at the wrong end, and the other slept on the floor. I complained and got a weak “sorry”. With parking and a seniors discount one night cost me $504.00, not worth it. The balcony window wouldn’t close and the smaller bedroom had no TV remote so I manually turned on the tv, but only got voice, no picture. No continental breakfast anymore and just 2 packs of coffee.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank LoloVictoriaBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisHotelGM, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Hello Lolo,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us with your big group! We are sincerely sorry about the layout of our room and have since been back in it to solve the levelling of the beds. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and hope that you are able to give us a second chance the next time you visit our beautiful city. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

We stayed only 1 night, and the accommodations were more than expected. Very large 2 bedroom suite for the same price and less than all the hotels in the area. We did not take advantage of the pool or gym, so I have no comment. We would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank dmp-1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandisHotelGM, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Hello Traveller,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear that we pleasantly surprised you. We look forward to seeing you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews