We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Landis Hotel & Suites
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

Generally I find hotel accomodation in Vancouver to be problematic. Its over-priced and inadequate. Planning a 5 night stay in Vancouver to visit friends and family I initially booked a single room at a Holiday Inn at $169 a night. I changed this to the Landis because I could get a 2 bedroomed suite for roughly the same cost. I was not disappointed.

The accomodation is of a decent standard. Pretty clean although a bit frayed around the edges. The beds were not great I have to say - hard and somewhat "flat" and still using the good old brown hotel blanket rather then a comforter. There is a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher and full size 'fridge. Plenty of closet space, good shower, 3 TVs, a DVD player. Apart from the beds it was fine. Housekeeping was prompt and efficient.

The breakfast was good by Canadian hotel standards - nothing hot but plenty of pastries and yogurt, cereal etc.

There is a coin-operated laundry and the pool and fitness area were fine too.

Overall I enjoyed my stay here. The staff were helpful when you needed them but unobtrusive otherwise which I like. The key cards were a bit of a hassle but nothing that ruined my day and parking ($14 a day) good. I liked that you could access the rooms straight from the garage. It was also very well sound-proofed from other guest noise (although to be fair the hotel was pretty empty when we were there) Location is good - walking distance to everything you may need.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PicaPica60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Landis Hotel & Suites. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found it was good value for your money. You will be happy to know that we have done quite a bit of upgrading to our suites. New sofa beds, chairs, carpets, lamps and TVs. We apologize the beds were not comfortable for you and will look into how we can improve upon this.
Again, thank you for your review it means a lot to us. We hope to welcome you again the next time you are in Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    166
    55
    15
    17
See reviews for
259
34
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

We needed a place to stay for one night in Vancouver after an 8 hour plane ride so that we could relax before taking the drive up to Whistler the next day. We looked for a reasonably priced property with 2 bedrooms, centrally located in Vancouver. The Landis fit this description perfectly. It is a wonderful mid-tier property that offers excellent value, particularly for families or groups.

Don't let the exterior of the building fool you. The property's facade is quiet and non-descript . When we pulled up to the curb, we were tempted to cancel our reservation at the Landis and check into the familiar Marriott Residence Inn, which is adjacent to the Landis. However, we decided to at least look at the Landis' rooms and I'm so glad we did. We had reserved the 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite which costs less than CAD200/night and includes free wireless internet and free continental breakfast. The suite was spacious, comfortable and perfect for a family with children. The kitchen is well stocked with necessities including coffee, tea, microwave, full size refigerator, dishwasher, etc. The bedrooms are adequately sized and each has its own television. The living room is well apportioned, the dining room has seating for 5 and there is also a small patio terrace with table and chairs. The Landis has limited staff, so when we called them at 5 am (still hadn't adjusted to local time so we were up early) to get the user name and password to access the Internet, no on answered the phone despite long rings. However by 6 am, the staff was available and helped us with no problems. The breakfast is good and they offer underground parking for about CAD14.00/night.

Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank PearlVision2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Thank you for your great review! We are happy you decided to stay with us despite your first impression (noted!). We continue to improve our services and facilities and hope to have the opportunity to have you again!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

We stayed at the Landis Suites with our children during the Christmas holidays. The hotel itself was fine. Our room included a full kitchen, 2 bedrooms with a living room and dining area. The secured, covered parking was great because we were there during the worst snowstorm in decades.

Some issues we encountered included the key cards that would not work and some of the front desk clerks (not all of them). The key cards were just horrible (we met many others who carried all the key cards for their parties in the hopes that one would work)! Though we complained, we were told to just keep trying to swipe the cards! One gal actually rekeyed our cards but to no avail... At times, some of the desk clerks were busy reading and doing other things in the office. It seemed like we were bothering them (though some clerks were quite helpful).

The location is convenient though we encountered some homeless people who seem to have their "homes" set-up just steps from the door. I guess like any big city, the problem is quite blatant as twilight nears and night falls (some of them were quite loud yelling at us or talking to themselves, etc.). We walked most every day and night (walking distance to Robson Street, shops and numerous fabulous eateries).

Overall, the hotel experience was okay but the environment that surrounds the hotel at night is sketchy. The hotel seemed safe and I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Difficult key cards
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lehua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay. It means a lot to us. Thank you for your comments regarding the key cards. This is something we will review and look in to ways to improve this. I apologize that some of the staff were not attention to your needs. I have ensured to speak with all staff to ensure they are constantly exceding guest expections.

Thank you for all of your comments we have taken them all in to consideration and will continue to improve our services.

thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2009

We were delighted by the clean, comfortable and spacious rooms and facilities provided. The free breakfast was simple but appropriate and satisfied all the children. The spa was a delight. The proximity of the hotel to local shopping sites and the CBD was excellent and the free shuttle a bonus. The manager understood the meaning of the term " service" and no problem was too difficult to resolve. His ongoing good cheer and practical advice, and his willingness to find solutions to our needs, was greatly appreciated. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — location and quality and spaciousness of rooms
  • Disliked — poor level of lighting in living room- an issue when trying to read at night
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Minkie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Thank you for your kind review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Landis Hotel & Suites. We are continuing to improve our services all the time and hope you will come see us again!
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2008

My wife and two children (3 & 5 yrs) decided to spend a few days in Vancouver to work through the jetlag (8 hours time difference) before heading up to Whistler for a week of skiing. I would highly recommend the Landis Suites as a wonderful place to stay, both for families and business travellers alike. We had a wonderful two bedroom suite which was clean, large and well appointed -- the free wireless internet was also a great perk. The staff were very helpful (especially the manager, Kalid, who went out of his way to make our stay as pleasant as possible) and the continental breakfast was better than we expected.

Although this is by no means a complaint, our only warning is to make sure you pay attention where you park your car -- their car park levels are a bit confusing (i.,e. split into no-so-clearly named half-levels) and so it's quite easy to lose your car. We had a bit of a panic when we thought our car had been towed/stolen when in fact it was simply on a different level.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Canguy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Thank you for your review! I am so happy to hear that we met all your needs during your stay in Vancouver. It was great having you! I am very sorry that the parking was confusing. We will make sure to remind other guests as well!
thank you again for your comments and we truly hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Aus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

Great place to stay for a family. Area of Vancouver is quite colourful but the accomodation was excellent. Only hiccup was that our booking was lost when we checked in. This was qucikly fixed by the staff. Brekkie room is excellent and facilities very good. Plenty of space and heaps better than a motel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AverageFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
WOW! Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very sorry that your reservation was not there when you checked in, but I am happy it was quickly resolved! We have made a lot of changes to the property, if you are ever in town again we would love to see you!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

Booked on line and got a Manager's Special price of $169 for a two bedroom suite. Parking $14 a day and tricky to find, but safe enough and the elevator takes you right up to your room from the parking garage, Didn't use but they do have a shuttle going to nearby shopping and business district.

Very simple, low key lobby - very pleasant staff. Room was very clean with great glassed in sunroom with spectacular views. Bedding clean and fresh with selection of pillows. Bathroom nice - large with only one sink. We didn't use the kitchen but it seemed sufficient.

Upgraded televisions would be a great addition as the current ones are very dated and small.

The Landis is very central - only a two block walk to a great seafood restaurant. Two minute drive to Robson Street for shopping.

  • Liked — roominess and clean fresh bedding
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BeamerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landis681, General Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
Thank you for your great review! I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience. It will please you to know that all the TVs have been upgraded along with many other things in the suites! We would love to welcome you back in the near future to show you the changes we have made. If you ever plan a trip back to Vancouver, give us a call! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
West End
Gec Granville
Gec Granville
#54 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landis Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landis Hotel & Suites

Property: Landis Hotel & Suites
Address: 1200 Hornby Street | Vancouver British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z1W2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Landis Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Landis Hotel & Suites offer all the needs of both business and leisure travellers. Our objective at The Landis Hotel & Suites is to meet the needs of our guests coming from around the world, who are seeking hotel accommodations for short or extended stays, for personal or professional reasons. The Landis Hotel & Suites offers 53 spacious two bedroom suites that were designed to suit all type of stays. Looking for the extra space, our two bedroom suites are available in either our 800 sq ft, Executive Suites or our 1,000 sq ft, Deluxe Suites. If you are looking for that little bit extra, our Penthouse Suites offer a full 1,450 sq ft of spacious luxury combined with some truly spectacular views of Vancouver.Full size kitchens & appliances in all the suites can help to reduce food costs. The Landis Hotel & Suites contains vital communications amenities including multiple in-suite telephones,wireless Internet & front desk fax service. The hotel is located in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia. The Landis Hotel & Suites is only minutes from the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Center, Cruise Ship Terminals and Vancouver shopping and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Landis Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Hotel And Suites
Landis Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing