We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Landis Hotel & Suites
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our family spent 5 nights here in October. Its a good location, just a couple of blocks from the city centre, and in a relatively quiet street. All the amenities we needed, and the complimentary breakfast was very handy. Staff were great, and complimentary shuttle for the city centre area very handy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    167
    55
    15
    17
See reviews for
259
34
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here for only one night...to meet a friend heading back to Australia. When comparing to other hotels at this price point, it came down to "waterview maybe or 2nd bathroom"?...2 girls traveling & getting ready for the airport made it easy...2 bedrooms/2 baths. Excellent choice! I've always stayed Robson/ Coal harbor end, but was pleasantly surprised by this location.
Front desk service is excellent ( esp. Khali & John)...Friendly,welcoming, helpful and very accomodating. I got the impression from hanging in the lobby ,that they have alot of repeat clients, and that's a good thing!
Shuttle service free in the downtown core an added bonus, and made the carting of luggage to the skytrain a snap! Easy access to shopping;sightseeing;Yaletown,..and the Granville Island ferry a 5 min. walk down Hornby...perfect!!
The hotel provides a pool& hot tub & exercise equip. shared with Marriott Residence...(the carpet pattern shows which is which when debating which glass door to key through). Not lots of stuff, but good quality and totally sufficient. Pool & hot tub area clean!!!
Continental breakfast is exactly that...Cereals, breads, muffins & pastries, yogurt & fruits & juices...and of course tea & coffee. We brought ours upstairs to our room. A nice addition would be boiled eggs ( for those like me watching their carbs )
The 'suites' are great!!! We had a 6th floor 'deluxe' (corner suite) with a view to the Hornby/Davie intersection. I found it fairly quiet, considering location. The windows DO slide open ( at least in the dining area)...and comments prior, regarding sirens...well I think you'd hear them anywhere, depending where they are..they're meant to be loud!) This suite could easily be lived in long term stay, with a full sized kitchen ( although perhaps lacking some cooking supplies for that type of stay) We didn't use anything but the coffee maker and a couple of dishes, but a dishwasher & full sized fridge & stove would be a bonus for more than a day or 2. The bedrooms are nicely furnished, beds & pillows are comfy. One 'king' bedroom & one 'queen'. Bathrooms also well done, and clean! King room's bath has separate shower from tub, and dual sinks...nice & spacious. The other shower/tub combo & single sink. The Living room/dining & extra sitting/ glassed in balcony make for a very roomy & comfortable stay. TV isn't lacking...each bedroom& one in the living room. Definitely an AWESOME spot for anybody with kids who wants to be able to have some privacy!!....or for those who like 'space' :)...because there's lots of it! I found all areas to be clean & well kept. All staff encountered were friendly.
I will definitely stay here again, and highly recommend it for location & quality of service! NO REGRETS! Free wi-fi another bonus :)

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for 'deluxe' over executive for the extra bathroom :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srsues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in September. Had a two bed suite. The kitchen stuff was mismatched, the settee and chair really uncomfortable and it could do with triple glazing because once the traffic dies down you can here people talking and I was on the 8th floor !!! The area it's in is very dirty and noisy and feels unsafe at night. you're blocks from anywhere, horrendous traffic, lots of beggars....so would not recommend this hotel or any in this location

Room Tip: try to get a room that does not overlook a road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank decaugnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotel/suite set ups around. The front desk people could not have been more helpful . They have a breakfast each morning . Also work out room and nice pool. This was our second time there and may return next year for a third. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher up the better for views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Landis twice in July with our family of 6. I think it was rooms 821 and 721 and both rooms were spacious and comfortable with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There was a kitchen with a dishwasher and there was a coin operated laundry room downstairs in the changing rooms. There was free wifi although sometimes it didn't work for a little while. The key card sometimes didn't work on the swipe doors and we had to swipe it a few times or use another card. One of the two lifts was not working when we arrived so there were delays. But it was soon fixed the next day. Continental breakfast was included with some pastries, cereals, fruit and juice.

Service was good at the front desk. A man, I think his name is Ali, is always very helpful and informative. He allowed us to check in early in the morning as we arrived on an early morning flight. If you are intending to see any sights around Vancouver, maybe check with front desk first for tickets. We already bought our Capilano suspension bridge tickets before the man at the front desk told us he could get us tickets at a discounted price if we got them through the Landis.

The location is about a 20 minute walk to Canada Place. We used the Landis free shuttle into town once which was good. We had a rented car so we paid to use the underground parking lot.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Landis. Accommodation in Vancouver is expensive and Landis was quite reasonable as we had a special rate for booking early in advance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinklyToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed at the Landis suites early Sept 2013 for 3 nights. I wish I had not booked it when I arrived. The area was really rough!!! Upon entering the hotel a chap booked us and asked if a room on the 8th floor would be okay I asked for one a bit lower and he said there were no other rooms so tough!!!

We went to the suite and the corridors were filthy not sure when the carpets were last cleaned 1980 springs to mind.

The suite was awful the kitchen area was filthy and the cups and plates etc were all chipped. There was no washing up liquid, cloths or dishwasher tablets. We went to the 7/11 shop across the road and got a few bits.

I informed them at the reception re: cups etc but nothing was done about it. The room carpets were no better than the ones in the corridors and you had to put slippers on to walk around the room.

The hotel is not the cheapest in Vancouver but should be in my opinion. We had a two bedroom two bathroom condo. It had one king and two single beds which was okay for us as I had my son and daughter with me at the time.

Breakfast was awful the only thing worth having is the milk, bran flakes and bananas. The orange juice has never seen an orange and does not taste of anything at all it is just coloured water. The bread and muffins are frozen and cheap. We purchased our own stuff for breakfast we like good quality juices etc.

The area surrounding the hotel is really awful and I would not want to walk around at night. We went to Earls down the road the first night in a taxi. It was okay but again given the area not really that clean.

If I went to Vancouver again I would forget about the price and book the pan pacific near the harbour it looked lovely (plus it was clean in the public areas).

Others I have spoken to said Victoria Island is much nice than downtown Vancouver. We went to Stanley park which was nice and Granville Island which I enjoyed. We also went to Gas town to see the gas clock (not sure why) the area is run down and not very nice.

There are loads of beggars in Vancouver and it can be over powering at times especially with the drug addicts as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landis Hotel S, Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I would like to apologize for the unfortunate experienced you had with us during your stay in Vancouver. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.
I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel. I would invite you to contact me personally at 604 681 3555 to discuss this with you further. (email is khaled@landissuitesvancouver.com)

Regards,
Khaled Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our stay at the Landis was for 11 nights...and we are glad we chose this accommodation for our family of 4. The beds were very comfy, kitchenette a plus,and laundry facilities handy. The front desk staff, namely Kahlid, Jerry and John were very helpful and courteous always. Helen in the breakfast room was also very nice. For the price we paid per night,with the central location, with free shuttle to the local skytrain station, free local phone calls, breakfast included, it was for us, value for our money. Locality was also very close to nice restaurants and convenient supermarkets. We felt sad we had to leave the Landis after our 11th night, we were so comfortable there. Keep up the good work all at the Landis...thumbs up to you all!!!

Thank you
Mavis & Charlie
(Australia)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavis168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landis Hotel S, Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I’m so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for sharing your experience. We look forward to having you again. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
West End
Gec Granville
Gec Granville
#54 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landis Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landis Hotel & Suites

Property: Landis Hotel & Suites
Address: 1200 Hornby Street | Vancouver British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z1W2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Landis Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Landis Hotel & Suites offer all the needs of both business and leisure travellers. Our objective at The Landis Hotel & Suites is to meet the needs of our guests coming from around the world, who are seeking hotel accommodations for short or extended stays, for personal or professional reasons. The Landis Hotel & Suites offers 53 spacious two bedroom suites that were designed to suit all type of stays. Looking for the extra space, our two bedroom suites are available in either our 800 sq ft, Executive Suites or our 1,000 sq ft, Deluxe Suites. If you are looking for that little bit extra, our Penthouse Suites offer a full 1,450 sq ft of spacious luxury combined with some truly spectacular views of Vancouver.Full size kitchens & appliances in all the suites can help to reduce food costs. The Landis Hotel & Suites contains vital communications amenities including multiple in-suite telephones,wireless Internet & front desk fax service. The hotel is located in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia. The Landis Hotel & Suites is only minutes from the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Center, Cruise Ship Terminals and Vancouver shopping and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Landis Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Hotel And Suites
Landis Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing