We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Old Lady” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orpheum Theatre

Orpheum Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.29*
and up
Downtown Vancouver Ghost Walking Tour
Ranked #46 of 345 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1927, this restored theater is home to the Vancouver Symphony.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
318 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This theatre has been restored with total attention to detail and authenticity. A great place for a concert, the acoustics are fabulous. I love hanging out in the upper lobby and people watching during the concert intermissions.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cmbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    66
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Interesting look behind the scenes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I did this tour last year and I still can't stop talking about the Orpheum and you get to look behind the scenes. The Tour begins at 11am, and you get to walk the hallways, sit in the balcony, go to the lighting room, under the stage, the rug room from carpets dating back to 1930's, to dressing rooms, back stage and on stage. If you have been here for a concert or theatre, you get to go to all the places you wanted to see. On this particular day, the Chandler that in the middle of the stage had been lowered to be cleaned, and go to see it up close. The accoustics are amazing from all area's of the stage, as our guide spoke in his normal voice on the balcony and throughout, never having to raise it.
When on stage, in my normal voice, I asked the cleaners a question, as they answered back and can have a conversation anywhere and be heard.
This tour is 90 minutes, be prepared to climb stairs and hear how the tour talks about the history, architecture and everything you ever wanted to know behind the scenes.
Loved it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank northshorejoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I Recommend the Theatre Tour !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

In July and August, there is the opportunity on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday mornings to take a one and a half hour tour of this fantastic historical theatre. Numbers are limited, and the cost of the tour is a very reasonable minimum contribution of $10.00. Pre booking is advised.

The guides are very knowledgeable, and clearly love their subject, as they take you through the history of the theatre. The tour is unhurried, and allows access to all the backstage areas, which would never be accessible to the public normally.

Really recommended for theatre or architectural buffs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dazc459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
“Not for me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I went to see Joe Bonamassa at the Orpheum and I thought it was okay. The theatre has a lot of history and it was beautiful but I got bored. There were a lot of people, almost everyone I went with, who loved it. I figure it wasn’t the Orpheum Theatre or the play it was me.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Orpheum Theatre in Vancouver is a treat to the senses. We went to watch the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra perform. Before the show, the assistant conductor gave us an overview of the music for the evening, explaining all the nuance's and storyline behind the music. This was really informative and soon after the show began. The VSO is a great orchestra and the Orpheum is grand theatre with magnificent architecture and good acoustics. We had an amazing evening.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldwidelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orpheum Theatre also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Orpheum Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing