We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful B&B - with best breakfasts in Vancouver!”
Review of O Canada House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O Canada House
Ranked #3 of 56 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2007

My girlfriend and I spent a lovely 4 nights in O Canada House, after spending a week in Whistler. As soon as we arrived, we made to feel like we were home from home. Helene the proprieter could not have been more friendly, helpful and accomodating. The recommendations of places to visit and eat (even kindly making a booking for us at a particularly busy restaurant) were all fantastic; real gems.
The sherry hour each evening is a treat - and a chance to share stories with other guests in front of the warm fire, situated in the period restored sitting room.
There are also helpful tips such as a recommended laundery close by - who pick up your clothes from O Canada House, and deliver back the next day!

Our room was a good size, cosy and very clean - with a dvd player that you can watch movies from the modest (I suspect donated) movie selection in the lobby.

But probably the best part about O Canada are the breakfasts! Rick and Ann are nothing short of miracle-makers in the kitchen! Three courses, homecooked muffins and pastries, the freshest fruit salads, and eggs benedicts and baked apples with cinnamon to die for! I have an egg yolk allergy, and bless them, they made special breakfasts from scratch for me containing only egg whites and variations on the themes of the main entree. Absolutely some of the best food we had was in this B&B - before we even set off for the day.

We heartedly recommend this b&b to everyone - a rustic yet elegant retreat from city exploring.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 436 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2007

We arrived at O Canada House after a fantastic holiday at Big White, a ski resort. It was a little add on at the end of our trip to recharge the batteries and prepare for the big flight home. We arrived at this beautiful bed and breakfast that evening to be ushered in by Helene, who has surely answered her calling in running O Canada House. Aside from her gracious and gentle manner, she went above and beyond by chasing after the airline that mislaid our ski bag, which enabled us to get out and explore Vancouver. I also have to mention the lovely chef who tried to get us hockey tickets through her son for a big match!

My family and I stayed in the Penthouse Suite, which is a large room at the top of the house with two king sized beds and a couple of inviting nooks and crannies with sitting areas. We travelled with our two fairly house-trained teenagers, who were made to feel very welcome. However, to be fair to the house and other guests, young children are not allowed. And fair enough, too- this is an oasis of calm.

The antique furnishings are tasteful and beautifully maintained, soft antique lamps lighting the room in mellow warmth. There is a great selection of "coffee table" books to ponder over in the parlour, as well as a selection of games, movies and novels that you can take up to your room. I preferred the parlour- I had it to myself in the late evening! We had two wonderful and extremely filling breakfasts in the dining area before going out for the day, and came home in the evenings to a sherry or two by the fireplace. To end the day, a solid sleep tucked into a comfy, firm but not hard, bed.

The location is fantastic- walking distance to Stanley Park, the Aquarium, and the sea bus and skytrain, and Robson Street (full of shops and great restaurants). When I go to Vancouver again the only place I will ever stay at is O Canada House!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank raverraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2006

O'Canada House B&B is an amazingly wonderful oasis in Vancouver. We absolutely loved the whole experience !!
The room was extremely comfortable and the hospitality shown was incredible. The presentation and attention to detail is second to none !!
Rick's breakfasts were just a slice of heaven - it was great to have such a varied and beautifully presented breakfast every moring.
Each of the three days we were guests we were treated so kindly -thank you Helene & Rick. It was a truly unforgettable experience !!
I would recommend O ' Canada House to anyone wanting first class accommodation in Vancouver.We hope to stay again next time we are in the area.
Simply the best !!! Linda & Ken from Australia.

52  Thank LinfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2006

Just a quick update:
The previous glowing reviews were not wrong.
In spite of one extremely rainy day (umbrellas provided), we had a wonderfull week-end in Vancouver.
O Canada House is warm and welcoming.
Great location, 2 blocks from Robson and a short walk to the watertaxis to Granville Island (a must).
Not as fussy and frilly as a lot of B&B's, just cosy.
Breakfast was delicious, but in our opinion had too much sugar and too little protein.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
50  Thank deliberate_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

Could walk to Robson street, great breakfast & hostess

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
46  Thank jmiddle565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2006

this is a fantastic hidden gem, its so good i dont reallywant to tell anyone else about it , in case i cant get in if i go again!!

Dont miss it

44  Thank Judy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

My husband and I stayed in O Canada for 4 nights. Helene was so sweet- it was like staying at a friend's house. She was very accomodating and a real pleasure to speak with. The house was beautiful and the breakfasts were amazing. The staff is very helpful and the location is perfect. I don't understand why everyone is talking about how expensive it is. We stayed in the Coast Plaza Suites for one night. The room smelled and it was nothing special without breakfast and it was more money! All it offered was a view. For the kind of service, accomodations and breakfast you get it is an exceptional deal. Don't forget the free wi-fi and 24 hour guest pantry.
Samantha and Jason

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
50  Thank GivemeaTfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,038 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
831 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 92 in Vancouver
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,583 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 56 in Vancouver
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Canada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Canada House

Address: 1114 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: $143 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Canada House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B and home of the Buchan version of the Canadian National Athem in 1909. Perfectly situated on a quiet West End residential street yet only minutes walking to Robson St shops and restaurants, Stanley Park, the cruise ships, English Bay Beach, Granville Island and the downtown centre. Perfect for sightseeing, romantic getaways or the business traveller. Full hot delicous breakfasts are included as well as parking and a guest panry. Vancouver's foremost B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your O Canada House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Canada House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing