We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O Canada House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O Canada House
Ranked #3 of 50 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Biggleswade
Level Contributor
280 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Best ever bead and breakfast we have ever had. We arrived late evening, but Danny although not on duty, greeted us, showed us the kitchen where we could help ourselves to drinks and snacks. The great sitting room, chocolates everywhere and a sherry to welcome us. We had a lovely room, complete with toy moose on the bed! Easy distance to city, and such a lovely ouse amongst the high rise, bets any chain hotel. The breakfasts where great, out of the ordinary. We would always go back there if in Vancouver.

Room Tip: All rooms great, no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank georgiegirl1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    51
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
248
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed in the South Suite. The breakfasts were great, and you have access to complimentary beverages and snacks from the kitchen. The room was clean, and the building had a lot of charm. It was quite close to the downtown core, definitely within walking distance of major transit stops. We were also allowed to store our luggage in the house after checkout, free of charge.

I had an excellent experience, and I can't think of anything negative to say.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Located within easy walking distance of downtown Vancouver proved invaluable. The service was first rate from all the staff and they were more than happy to go out of their way to assist us. Our breakfasts were varied and delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Rowanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

we stayed just one night before our cruise. we arrived early an dvorka met us, welcomed us, made a fresh pot of coffee and pointed out fresh cookies. She helped us directions as we set out to walk this wonderfully located b n b. returning after dinner at the bridges in granville island, we joined other guests around the ever lit fireplace ...with feet curled up we had options of tea,sherry...then off to one of the most comfy beds... in the am. we had a salmon/fresh crab on a bagel...with juice, fresh muffin....umbrellas were available if needed. again a warm welcome and conversation with guests and staff...we found several people return regularly. for less than the price of most downtown, and even away hotels, this is a secret worth sharing...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights at O'Canada House and would highly recommend it to others staying in the area. The staff are very helpful, friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. It was a pleasure to be so close to busy downtown Vancouver, but removed enough not to be bothered by the hustle and bustle + the noise of a big city. Our thanks to Danny and his staff.

Janet and Mike Collns, Cambridge, Ontario

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetCDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Already our first email contact with the innkeepers of O Canada house was nice but arriving there gave us a warm and very welcome feeling. Next to the nice atmosfeer the location is perfect as it is in a very quiet neighbourhood but only 5 minutes away from the lively city and in the vicinity of nice restaurants and shopping possibilities. Stanley park is a 10 minute walk away as well! And then, yes the breakfast: Danny made us eat breakfast as we had never done before! We will definately stay here again when being back in Vancouver!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pannekeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Located just several blocks from Robson street on a quiet residential street is this historic property AND parking is included as well as breakfast. We stayed here for a few days in August. The management allows you to not only use the living room but also to wander the kitchen where (warning) there always seems to be no shortage of baked goodies to snack on along with various beverages. We'll stay there again, next time we are in B.C.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamagee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,524 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,394 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Canada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Canada House

Property: O Canada House
Address: 1114 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Canada House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B and home of the Buchan version of the Canadian National Athem in 1909. Perfectly situated on a quiet West End residential street yet only minutes walking to Robson St shops and restaurants, Stanley Park, the cruise ships, English Bay Beach, Granville Island and the downtown centre. Perfect for sightseeing, romantic getaways or the business traveller. Full hot delicous breakfasts are included as well as parking and a guest panry. Vancouver's foremost B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your O Canada House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Canada House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing