We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly stay.”
Review of O Canada House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O Canada House
Ranked #3 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pitt Meadows, Canada
1 review
“Warm and friendly stay.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at O Canada house. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing place to stay in the midst of the busy downtown of Vancouver this is it. Manager is great and very helpful. Food is awesome. And they have a very cute dog for all to enjoy.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Claydawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    53
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
257
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ames, iowa
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just returned from 3 days in the Vancouver area. O'Canada house was one of our best b & b experiences! We loved FREE off street parking and the breakfasts were excellent. Would highly, highly recommend.

Room Tip: we had a large room on the front of the house - spacious and loved the claw footed tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joniefitz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My sister, niece and myself just spend an evening there on Monday of this week. This was actually my second stay and I picked again for its ideal location and excellent service. The B&B is actually also a historic house where the Canada national hymn was written.
They offer free parking to their guests which is precious and so convenient given that you do not need a car to tour downtown Vancouver.
We had the South suite this time and it is was fine for the 3 of us.
Everybody is extremely nice and welcoming. They make you feel at home with the cookies jar, well stocked beverages fridge and the bottle of sherry to enjoy in the living room.
The breakfast was not as good as I remembered it from our first stay 4 years ago.
I will for sure be back on my next visit to Vancouver.

Room Tip: Make sure to reserve in advance as it is quite known and sought after
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micheline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived after our long flight to a very friendly welcome from Danny, the manager/chef.
The house was lovely, full of interesting furniture and bric a brac.Our bedroom was comfortable and well-equipped and it was esoecially nice to have a comfortable sitting-rom on the ground floor for guests to share - there was also sherry left out for guests along with ample reading material.
The location is perfect for downtown and Danny was very helpful in suggesting restaurants etc.
Tea and coffee were available at any time as were muffins and cookies and this was a nice touch.
Breakfasts were not as good as we had hoped from reading other reviews but were nicely presented and adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at O'Canada House as part of a Western Canada roadtrip and were made to feel welcome and at home. Breakfasts were exceptional and the service wonderful. Special "hats off" to Danny for making us feel so "at home".
-Paul and Colette

Room Tip: Stayed in the penthouse suite...VERY NICE and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at O Canada House for 3 nights in June and couldn't have been more pleased! We stayed in the North Suite. Our room was very clean. The clawfoot bathtub was wonderful to soak in after a day of sightseeing. Breakfast was fantastic! Every evening there was a new baked good to snack on. The innkeepers were very helpful in suggesting restaurants, attractions, etc. for us to do. We walked to Chinatown from there and it was a pleasant walk. I highly recommend this B&B. We couldn't ask for more!

Room Tip: The north suite was over the parlor but we were never bothered by noise. Big bathroom and big bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sariebear08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

You couldn't do any better! Everything is perfection. Clean rooms, perfect location, great staff, great breakfast. Everything but a cat in your lap. Try this place first. Also, if you rent a car there is parking.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Baca707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,767 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,951 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,623 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,414 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Canada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Canada House

Property: O Canada House
Address: 1114 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Canada House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B and home of the Buchan version of the Canadian National Athem in 1909. Perfectly situated on a quiet West End residential street yet only minutes walking to Robson St shops and restaurants, Stanley Park, the cruise ships, English Bay Beach, Granville Island and the downtown centre. Perfect for sightseeing, romantic getaways or the business traveller. Full hot delicous breakfasts are included as well as parking and a guest panry. Vancouver's foremost B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your O Canada House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Canada House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing