We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AP & MM Thies review”
Review of O Canada House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O Canada House
Ranked #3 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AP & MM Thies review”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The main house is beautifully decorated, and there is attention to details. Sherry is always available for guests, and there are always snacks in the kitchen, including freshly baked scones and cookies. Staff is very friendly and eager to help. The house itself is within easy walking distance of fine restaurants and shopping and not too far from the water.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    53
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
257
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inerleithen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

O' Canada House was once home to the author of the Canadian National Anthem. It is a stylish 3 storey timber house in a quiet street close to the centre of the city and within walking distance of Stanley Park and Coal Harbour. We were in the South Suite, one of six rooms in this guest house, which had everything we needed for our two night stay. Downstairs on the first / ground floor there was a comfortable lounge with newspapers, books and games. As well as free wi-fi there was a computer for residents use. Complimentary sherry was available each evening and there was a pantry where residents could forage for tea, coffee or soft drinks and there were always cookies or buns (made by the resident chef) to stave off the pangs of hunger between meals. Despite arriving well outside the normal check-in time (by prior arrangement) Cheryl was there to welcome us and see us settled. Breakfast was excellent as well. We visit our son in BC every other year and will stay at O' Canada House next time if we can.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in late June and really appreciated the gracious hospitality of the staff there. Cheryl answered my emails personally before our arrival to give me helpful info for transportation and restaurants. Her daily beakfasts were all amazing. Flora was helpful and welcoming all the time. Shawn was gracious and all smile to us everyday. They all made us feel so at home. The inn is close to a nice supermarket on Burrard St where we can pick up anything we need. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Most of all, we enjoyed our daily walks to the Waterfront near Canada Place, or to Coal Harbour. Very safe and nice neighborhood. The only drawback is water pressure in our room a bit weak, but did have comfortable shower everyday. We felt the inn was like a home away from home during our entire stay. Walked to Christ Church Cathedral for Sunday Service the last day, super close to the inn. Will return again when we come to Vancouver--lovely city and friendly people!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohaRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

O Canada House is tucked quietly into the urban, high rise scene of Vancouver and it is a hidden gem! We stayed there for two nights and wished we were going to be there longer. The room was beautifully laid out, the main house had a computer for guests' use, newspapers, and a lovely wrap-around porch with comfortable furniture to sit in. The food was wonderful! Not only was there a gourmet breakfast each morning, but goodies set out in the guest pantry at all times for the taking. We highly recommend O Canada and we hope we'll be able to return someday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janievannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagen
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

close to downtown Vancouver (within short walking distance to Robson Street); friendly staff; great breakfast; cozy sitting and breakfast area; during the day fresh fruits, coffee, tea, juices and delicious scones and cookies are provided in the nice kitchen and sherry in the nice sitting area; free internet access in room; we stayed in the north suite, which is small but enough; the fridge in our room was loud so we had to switch it off during the night; it is an old house so the walls seem as thin as paper and we could hear our neighbours speaking very clearly, the same with the old windows, which do not block out the noise from the street

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Besides echoing the praise previous visitors' praise for the rooms and public area, for the breakfast, for the thoughtful and helpful staff, and for the location, I'd add that the staff makes you feel as if you're at home. Freebies include sherry in the parlor in the late afternoon; cookies and fruit in the kitchen any time for snacks; and a microwave available in the kitchen if you want to get ready-made food at Urban Fare a couple of blocks away and eat in the kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakerereOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I highly recommend staying at O'Canada House to anyone who plans to visit Vancouver. The house is beautiful and located only two blocks away from the main shopping area, Robson Street, 'Vancouver's Runway" and within walking distance to diverse restaurants on Davie Street and Vancouver's most popular attraction, Stanley Park. The hospitality was superb and the gourmet breakfasts were outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,781 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,958 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,631 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,421 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Canada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Canada House

Property: O Canada House
Address: 1114 Barclay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Canada House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B and home of the Buchan version of the Canadian National Athem in 1909. Perfectly situated on a quiet West End residential street yet only minutes walking to Robson St shops and restaurants, Stanley Park, the cruise ships, English Bay Beach, Granville Island and the downtown centre. Perfect for sightseeing, romantic getaways or the business traveller. Full hot delicous breakfasts are included as well as parking and a guest panry. Vancouver's foremost B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your O Canada House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Canada House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing