We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for your money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown
Hamburg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The HI Hostel Vancouver downtown is one of a large size. But still it is very nice and comes with free wifi and a breakfast. You just have to keep in mind that it is still a hostel.
The staff was always very helpful and nice. You can rent bikes at the hostel and the location is just great for anyone who wants to explore the city by foot or bike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoergLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    132
    48
    14
    8
See reviews for
12
48
124
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hostel was in a good location and an easy walk to public transport. The breakfast is great with heaps of choice. I stayed in the 4 share room and they were a little small. The price and location make up for the size of the rooms as if like me you are going to be out most of the time it's not a huge concern. The staff are great and super helpful - they go out of there way to help and to organise tours from the hostel and fun stuff at the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaurshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was my first hostel ive ever stayed in and I was very impressed! Breakfast was fantastic (wide variety and they never seemed to run out!) and the cooking/dining area was spacious too.

Everything was clean and I stayed in a 4 bunk room which was cosy but not an issue at all. Reminded me of uni halls (but not quite that loud!) in terms of noise but I was expecting that and wasn't bothered as walking around the city and surrounding areas all day completely whack you out by 10pm!

Staff were very helpful-they even lended us their phone to book an activity ahead which was very kind! They seemed to organise lots of activities throughout the week so a solo traveller would be absolutely fine here. We got to know loads of different people and its great for gettting tips about the attractions and area in general. Hire a bike from here if you plan to as its cheaper than in town (unless you only plan to go out for 2 hours or less-then go to Spokes).

Toilets and shower rooms were spotless and never busy, beds were very comfortable and although it was a little warm at night (the windows dont open far!) it didnt bother me as they provide a sheet as well so if you dont want the warm duvet this is a good alternative!

You can buy a load of things you may have fogotten too (in my case a padlock for my locker!) and the storage spaces both in the kitchen and rooms are spacious.

cant recommend it enough-very pleasant place and I know where I will return to next time im in Vancouver!

Room Tip: if you do have a big bag, and i mean big (though i dont see why you would-there are laundry faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lgccpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
270 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I spent a couple of nights with some friends at this hostel. The location is very good and central, even if there are just a few free parking spots and the surroundings are reserved for residents only. Common areas are nice, and the free breakfast is a nice plus. The negative aspect concerned the size of the rooms: we shared one for four people, with 2 bunk beds, and the space for moving was very limited, and it was very hot inside. If this is not a problem for you, considering the good price, then I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miike78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My friend and I stayed here 8 nights at the end of June in a private bedroom. The room was of good size, plenty of room for our big suitcases. I have to say though, I've seen the 4-bedrooms, and those are really small. If you are travelling with a large suitcase I wouldn't recommend staying in a shared bedroom (unless you're sharing with people you know maybe). I added pictures of both rooms.

The room was clean (and cleaned everyday), and the shared bathrooms were clean as well. There are plenty of showers and toilets, so I never had to wait. A big plus was definitely the free breakfast, which consisted of all sorts of bagels and bread with pb&j and creamcheese available in the kitchen. There also were all kinds of muffins, fresh fruits and other things like pastries and biscotti, oj, coffee and tea. The kitchen is large (which is good because it can get pretty crowded over there), there are multiple stoves, a large fridge and plenty of cookware. The free wifi worked great in the common areas, but not so great in our room.

The hostel is easily reached by bus and altough located in Davie Village, the street itself is pretty quiet. There are lots of restaurants nearby and there's also a supermarket (all a 2 min walk). Sunset Beach is also nearby. The staff is friendly and helpful and they organize all sorts of fun things like bbqs and tours. Overall I had a good time here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank architecttraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I've stayed at this downtown Vancouver BC hostel for many years now. It is in a great location right in the heart (but quiet street) of Davie Village, a diverse neighborhood. From this hostel you can walk to downtown, English Bay to the North, Yale Street to the south and Canada Place to the East. They serve a very nice free breakfast that includes locally baked pastries. The rooms are a bit small and inadequately ventilated (minimal window openings) but the rooms are clean and so is the bedding. The wash rooms were recently renovated so this is a plus over previous. I recently left my very old glasses in the women's wash room and the staff kindly packaged them up and mailed them back to me for which was I very grateful. All in all, this is one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in and even surpasses another "home away from home" for me, the Hi-Y Hostel in downtown Santa Monica. One caveat and this is no fault of the hostel - don't leave anything you wouldn't want to have taken in the community cold storage. I had my food taken once. This never ever happened to me at Santa Monica. Just a caution.Finally, one other comment. Both times lately I've been placed on the same floor (4th) as groups of students (high school). Nice kids but extremely noisy until late at night. This made sleeping even with ear plugs a bit uncomfortable. Groups like this should observe the lights out rule, please. Otherwise thumbs up for this hostel! Good job!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILUVLA63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the HI hostel in Vancouver. I was the only person in my room when I stayed there for two nights which was nice. It was still possible to meet other travellers in the common area. Beds are okay and bathrooms were always clean. However, I could hear anything going on in the hallway, so it was quite noisy. They serve free breakfast which was really great, not just toast and jam, but a rather broad selection of food.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TripReporter177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Davie Village
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Davie Village
The Burrard
The Burrard
#32 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown

Property: Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1114 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing