We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of English Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
English Bay Inn
Ranked #6 of 50 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2007

Amazing location, wonderful breakfast, nice accomodations. Everyone was very helpful, accomodating, and generous. This is just 3 blocks from the beach, which is stunning, right at the entrance to Stanley Park, the aquarium, and neat pool right off the beach front. Will definitely stay here again, and definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvbiard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
141
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2007

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the English Bay Inn. It is on a quiet street , very close to Stanley Park and the English Bay. It is within easy walking distance to many good restaurants, as well as bus service to downtown centre. The host Boban was very helpful with maps, points of interest, and nearby locations of bike rentals. The breakfasts, served in the lovely dining room, were excellent.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank SB-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2006

We've stayed here twice now and loved both visits. The location, one block from Stanley Park in one direction and one block from English Bay and the seawall in another direction, is perfect! The Inn is lovely and breakfast is outstanding! The rooms are small but comfortable. Boban is an excellent host.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Schwanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2006

What a marvelous place to stay! Great location, just two blocks from the Bay and also two blocks from wonderful restaurants. The west end has an amazing variety of great places to eat: African and Maylasian among them. As a single woman, I'd say that it's a safe neighborhood to walk in at night. My room faced a lovely garden and was very quiet: I rarely heard the other guests. The bed had a featherbed on top of the mattress -- it was so comfortable I want to buy one for myself. Breakfast was always delicious: hot scones with butter and sliced fruit every day, plus a variable meal, including crab & rice wraps one day, quiche another day. There's also sherry and port by the fireplace. Helen and Boban were terrific: at one point, during breakfast by the fireplace, I pretended that this was my house and they were there just to take care of me! What a lovely fantasy! I really enjoyed my stay, and would definitely stay here again, and I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Liked — Extremely comfortable bed
  • Disliked — You have to be sociable to enjoy a bed and breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — You can get great rates in the "shoulder" season, fall and spring. Also, try Bard on the Beach for great theatre at reasonable rates.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DCKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2006

Ideally situated for English Bay, Stanley Park and a variety of restaurants in Denman Street and surrounding area. Easy access to bus routes or a 20 minute stroll to the centre of Downtown. The accommodation was very comfortable and furnished with antiques even complementary sherry and port were included. Our downstairs suite was ideal with plenty of room and all we needed, plus being quiet. It was a particular joy meeting other guests sat round the large dining table for a sumptuous breakfast each morning. Our host, the owner, made us particularly welcome, making our 4 day stay extremely enjoyable.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — None
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Henry60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2006

We were well looked after. Boban and Alan were very friendly and helpful with our questions. The room we stayed in was very clean and breakfast quite tasty.

The Inn was well located - very close to Stanley park and in reasonable walking distance to downtown. We went to some amazing restaurants just a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ActivatE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2006

Owner Boban greeted us and very efficiently pointed out areas of interest on a map, discussed walking distances, recommended restaurants, etc. Very quiet yet 2 blocks from Stanley Park for outdoorsy things and 2 blocks the other way from restaurants galore. All breakfasts at the inn were hot and delicious and accomodating personal preferences. Hosts were very friendly and helped with everything needed. Rooms were charming, clean, quiet, well-ventilated and had everything you could possibly need. We would definitely return to English Bay Inn!!!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank taichisir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#32 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bay Inn

Property: English Bay Inn
Address: 1968 Comox Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1R4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — English Bay Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English Bay Inn has been running as a bed & breakfast for more than 20 years. This beautifully maintained home is located just 1 block to English Bay, The Seawall and Stanley Park! Enjoy delicious breakfasts daily for stays in Rooms 1 thru 5, or go it on your own in Room 6, the full apartment with 2 Queen Beds & a full kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your English Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Bay Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing