We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Decent room, Good Price, Few Amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #64 of 95 Hotels in Vancouver
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent room, Good Price, Few Amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a little weekend trip. Based on other reviews I thought it would be a good central place to stay.
Since we traveled in the winter the price was pretty low and there was not as much to do around the hotel. It is right on the main street with some shops near by.
We parked our car in the parking garage and took the elevator to our room. When we checked out of the hotel we tried taking the stairs to our car but there is a lack of labeling to indicate a floor or which way to parking versus the lobby.
The room had an okay bed and bathroom. Everything was clean and tidy. It had a good size HD tv but the room did not include Wifi internet (additional price). I was a little disappointed at that. There is a internet cafe across the street for those who do not want to pay a lot for in room wifi.
For amenities, it has a cool revolving top floor restaurant and bar. On a clear day there is probably a great views of the city that change as you eat or drink. Unfortunately, it was foggy when we were there. The drinks at the bar are tasty and worth the price. Also the hotel has a fair workout room. If I had to choose though I would rather have a spa/hot tub over a workout room.
Overall this hotel is good for the price and in the summer is probably a little more fun. Along with the rest of the city. It is pretty central to the city and is brief walk or easy taxi or car ride to many of the downtown shopping or attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Man_Travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    446
    320
    148
    81
See reviews for
188
403
129
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My friends and I held a birthday bash for our friend here and had a great time. We chose the hotel for its value, but it was also clean, roomy rooms (lol) and a great location. Right on Robson! And pretty close to Granville, so we had a good time going out!
The views were pretty amazing as well, overall it was a ton of fun!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is just right if you want to be downtown at a reasonable price. Set towards the quieter part of Robson St it is perfect for expolring on foot what Vancouver has to offer.

Rooms are of an adequate size and quality and as the hotel is very high most have good views. Mine had an absorbing view towards the north, the harbour and the city's ski slopes.

I was pleasingly surprised by the hotel's rotating restaurant on the top floor where at the bar section I managed to get some hot snacks and a local beer late one evening whilst taking in the 360 degree city skyline panorama. If you are staying at the hotel you do not pay the cover charge which I think to non-residents is $11 per person. So, it is a popular venue on Fridays and weekend evenings for locals and tourists a-like.

On the downside, the hotel has an air of slight neglect/tiredness. This might have been due to my stay being mid-January and maybe the lobby area and ambience is better in other seasons? Check in was fine, but check out was a slow process with a long queue and only one receptionist who spent quite a while dealing with a couple of people who had problems and complications whilst the queue lengthened. Short of staff/economizing at weekends?

On balance; good value and will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoderickSpode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently stayed for a 5 night trip in Vancouver. The Empire Landmark was the hotel chosen by a conference I was with, so I chose to stay there as well. Prices were very reasonable, and the view was beautiful (for the couple hours the sun came out that week!).

The positives include a friendly staff, good location, comfortable beds, and decent TVs fridges etc.

The negatives for me were no pool or hot tub, parking was not included (I guess this is standard in Vancouver?!?), heating unit was noisy and some fan speeds didn't work at all.

I haven't tried other hotels at this price point so I don't know how it compares, but I will likely not be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronP929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We found this hotel well located for a walk along Robson Street and pretty handy to the inner city. It also had a nice room with a good view, the staff were helpful and everything worked so we were pretty happy. The only black mark was the overnight carparking for which we were charged C$15.

Room Tip: I should imagine most of the rooms have a good view as it is a very tall hotel. North looks over Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blairsensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here on our wedding night. The room was dated and our air conditioner was not working. We asked to change rooms but they didn't have anything available so they brought us a portable fan. It helped but we were not too comfortable. For the second night they did move us and upgraded our room so it kind of made up for the uncomfortable night sleep before.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent location. We took the train to Waterfront from airport, hopped on a bus and were there in 20 minutes. Room is small but it was clean and staff helpful. There are nice restaurants and a liquor store nearby. Nice view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#63 of 95 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#20 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Robson Street
Greenbrier Hotel
Greenbrier Hotel
#69 of 95 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#38 of 95 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 1400 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 95 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Landmark Hotel Vancouver
Empire Landmark Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing