We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Old hotel, seen better days” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #65 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
kelowna
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Old hotel, seen better days”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I can honestly say one of the worst hotels I have stayed at. Anyone marking it must have had a vastly different room to me. I asked for one bed, thinking a Queen size. No, I got two doubles. This bed was very hard. I had to take the quilt from the other bed in the middle of the night to make some type of cushion between myself and the mattress. The light switches were filthy. The bolt that swung across the door was just about falling off. Wallpaper was old and the bathroom.. tiny. Housekeeping was fast but gave me a dirty look. TERRIBLE

Room Tip: Inspect the room first and don't be afraid to return to front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkswithafriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    465
    342
    152
    83
See reviews for
197
424
133
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Firstly let me state that this was booked for me by work. Rooms are massive and comfortable. Views from the rooms are awesome. However, it is a bit dated inside, but if you can overlook this then a good value base for Vancouver. Took a while to get hot water in the shower but came eventually. Excellent food options nearby, and the revolving bar on the 42nd floor is a great place for a nightcap. Probably wouldn't stay here again on my own back unless there was a really good deal, but wasn't a bad stay by any measure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandnontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is very nice although a little rough around the edges as it needs to be upgraded due to age. It's close to all amenities right downtown Vancouver. We asked for a room on a high floor and got one on the 27th storey with a beautiful view of Stanley Park and English Bay.
It was a very standard room with a balcony, king size bed, coffee machine, quite large fridge, and bathroom. It was half of the price of many of the hotels downtown, very comfortable and the view was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I staid for 6 days in this hotel, hotel location in best place in downtown (Robson street) near from Stanley Park, from beach, from Vancouver Lookout, all of them you can go by walk.
Hotel's rooms are clean, The lobby is very nice to set and had coffee.

The view from balcony was awesome (view on Stanley Park and ocean).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBabgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Bit pricey and a bit too far down Robson, but this is a fantastic hotel albeit a bit older now. Rooms are spacious for the area. Beds are very comfortable, pillows fantastic. Rooms looked a bit older. Surprised by the cathode ray TV still in the closet. Bathroom was clean but a bit dated. Wifi was faster than I thought. Beautiful views from the rotating restaurant on the 42nd floor. Service was great downstairs, check-in/out efficient, concierge was knowledgeable, even helping with a road map to drive to Washington. 5/5 overall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Empire Landmark and i'm happy that we didn't stayed longer in this accommodation. the location is really central and good for discover the city by feet. the view from our room was awesome and the bed was huge and comfortable. unfortunately the bathroom is a little old. we had problems with the sink and shower, after using them the floor was flooded.. for the price we payed i think the WiFi should be for free or at least possible to use more than 1 device and also the receptionist should be more friendly and motivated..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel is a real find! It is situated at the top end of Robson Street, close to shops and restaurants. The service is really attentive and the staff are helpful and knowledgeable. Superb concierge service also! The rooms are well upholstered and furnished. Although they are not state of the art "glass and chrome" finished type of rooms they are classical well appointed- including the rather quirky showers (variable temp but fixed flow rates!). The rooms also feature a full sized refrigerator and a real coffee making machine (pity about the creamer supplied, instead of milk containers, though!).
To top it all, there is the cocktail bar and Cloud Nine Restaurant, situated on floor 42, where drinkers and diners revolve at a statley pace of 360 degrees per hour!

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony and views of the downtown, Englsih Bay, Stanley Park or North Vancouver (mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#62 of 90 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 90 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#20 of 90 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 90 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Robson Street
Greenbrier Hotel
Greenbrier Hotel
#70 of 90 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 1400 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Landmark Hotel Vancouver
Empire Landmark Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing