We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing on many levels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #67 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Disappointing on many levels”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Advertised as downtown but actually in West Vancouver, a residential area a long walk from downtown. We had a tiny room where the wifi, electrical outlet and coffee pot didn't work. Lots of water stains on walls and ceiling. Lobby is strangely arranged with only two agent desks hidden behind columns with no room for the many many people lined up to book in or out. Did have a fridge and nice view. Staff were not professional nor friendly. Maid opened our door at 8am, our room was right next to the staff elevator and staff were very loud very early in morning. Porters were rude and irritable. No staff could problem solve, particularly with the wifi which we really needed. It looked like a good price but given the problems, it iwas very overpriced.

Room Tip: Specify that you do not want the tiny rooms near the service elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    498
    373
    165
    90
See reviews for
214
453
145
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here during September 2012. Price was reasonable compare to other hotels in vicinity, but off course you will get slightly outdated rooms. I don't think that would be a problem as you don't go to Vancouver to stay in the hotel. There is lot to do in Vancouver so you will be using your hotel just at night. Hotel has very good view from the top, so try to request room in upper floor. I am slightly disappointed that i had to pay for parking ($15 per night).

Room Tip: Request a room in upper floor for good view of Vancouver in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJSheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Landmark Empire for three nights from the 6th September 2012.
The room was fairly large but the decor is tired, there was no safe in room and we had to use a safety deposit box in reception for our passports, money, etc.

We had breakfast in the Cloud Nine restaurant, it was a buffet breakfast and as is often the case with buffets the food was luke warm. However watching the sun come up over the mountains from the restaurant on the 42nd floor made up for the food.

The hotel is in an excellent position on Robson Street for getting around Vancouver. It's surround by excellent restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here for three days in September 2012. The hotel is an excellent business hotel, providing everything I needed. My room on the 37th floor had a balcony, and offered excellent views of the harbour as well as the city. Wi-Fi was complimentary, and really high-speed. It is on Robson Street, and there were a variety of restaurants just walking distance from the hotel. Breakfast everyday was in the restaurant on the 42nd floor, which again offered panoramic views of the city, the harbour, and the mountains beyond. All in all, I could not fault anything with this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on one of the higher floors. The views of Vancouver are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VipinZamvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The room isn't very large, but was tidy. It has a refrigerator. The higher you get, the better the view. It was walking distance to stanley park and the aquarium. Mattress and pillows were good. Lobby was nice. it is an older building but is ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiltedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Reception looked great and checkin staff were helpful and nice.

Room wallpaper looked water damaged and smelt of hospital cleaning products. We had to airout room for hours before we could sleep. Bathroom looked really grubby as grouting was black and crumbling in places. Not because it was dirty, just because it was old. Had an old nonslip shower mat I wasn't game to stand on.

Great location. Short walk to all shops and restaurants and 20 min walk to train to airport. Free Internet was a massive bonus.

I got a last minute special rate but wouldn't pay regular advertised rate.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPloppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent a few days at this hotel and were pleased with our choice.Our first time to Vancouver was a wonderful experience.The hotel was clean and the view from our balcony was awesome.
We were on the 25th floor and found the room quiet at night. The area around the Hotel is terrific
many restaurants,easy walk to English Bay,Coal Harbour,Canada Place, lots of shopping areas.
Public tranportation very easy to access. Would book this Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eugdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#66 of 90 in Vancouver
477 reviews
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 90 in Vancouver
1,402 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,484 reviews
Robson Street
Greenbrier Hotel
Greenbrier Hotel
#72 of 90 in Vancouver
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 1400 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Landmark Hotel Vancouver
Empire Landmark Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing