We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,153)
Filter reviews
2,153 results
Traveler rating
776
951
314
80
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
776
951
314
80
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stanley park no elevator great location denman street shared bathroom west end quiet street budget hotel no air conditioning quaint hotel private bath tea and coffee english bay beach lots of restaurants bed was comfortable would stay again within walking distance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 2,153 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2019

The Buchan Hotel is a quaint hotel on Haro Street tucked away off Denman. For those seeking a clean comfortable room with minimal amenities, this is the place. My room was rustic, had a little sink and a toilet which I was grateful for but had to share the shower which was down the hall. For the amount I paid for two nights I could have stayed at my usual place on Kingsway but I wanted to try something new. There was nothing special about the Buchan, the front desk seemed a little more than a hand-built counter. The room itself overlooked an aging apartment building and really no view of anything. The good thing is that it is close to Denman and walking distance to awesome restaurants (like the Ukrainian Village which I LOVE!!!!), shops and Robson. I don't think I'll be back but the experience was unique and I'm glad I stayed.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, General Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Thank you for an honest review, and hopefully you'll give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

This a a budget hotel but everything is properly done and you get fantastic value for money. There is no restaurant its location means restaurants are nearby. Coffee is available in the lounge downstairs. Hotel has no elevator.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank BillybobToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, General Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Thank you so much! What a great review to read first thing Monday morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019

The rooms are small and old, but the hotel has charm. Bed was a little firm. Biggest downfalls would be noise between rooms, we could hear other couples talking etc while lying in be and parking. It is an extra 25 if you can get a spot. Great location we walked home from Rogers arena, 40 minutes or so, and had coffee at english bay in the morning
Overall great stay!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NorthStar12550772750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, General Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Thank you for a great review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019

The Buchan is the best place to stay in Vancouver if you are, like myself, into the shopping and downtown atmosphere. It’s a short 15-20 minute walk into the main strip (Robson and Granville), which is perfect for me! It is also just a block and a half or so from the beautiful waterfront and Stanley park. Will always return and love this accommodation so very much.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trip16995862617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, General Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Thank you so very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

If you're looking for a small basic economical room with no frills in a great location to enjoy Vancouver, this is the place. Some rooms have showers and toilets, others do not, so be aware of that. There is free coffee and a nice lounge to enjoy. Paid parking provided by hotel may be available in alley behind hotel - have had no problems but wouldn't recommend for expensive car.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Odyssey34223214166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, General Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews