We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buchan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buchan Hotel
Ranked #36 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Pella, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at the Buchan Hotel, May 31, 1, 2 , 2014- we found it to be clean and comfortable. We had a basement room, so private bath and was cooler downstairs. Close to Denman Street (which we loved for the restaurants, and people watching), Stanley Park, close to the Hop on Hop off Trolly's and we enjoyed being in a "neighborhood" rather than in a big hotel downtown. Great was to see what life in Vancouver is REALLY like ! We found all of the front desk staff very helpful and friendly, we checked out early this am, appreciated the call for cab and the fresh coffee there for us ! THANK YOU ! Would highly recommend it if you are not looking for a "ritzy" hotel !!

Room Tip: Ask for the basement room with private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrappermom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, I'm also a resident of this neighborhood and I agree the West End is a great place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    681
    208
    51
    24
See reviews for
253
636
297
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

no fridge or microwave so the only option was to go out for dinner. The room was clean and comfy although small with the bathroom like a little cupboard. We actually stayed here two nights two days apart and the second night we were in room 4 which we think backed onto the restaurant kitchen and they were washing up the pots and pans and it was very noisy until 10pm!!!

Room Tip: not room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuddlefi5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We've been working with the restaurant to try and address these noise issues. We find it usually happens when they have someone new in the kitchen and we haven't had a chance to talk to him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

my daughter and I stayed at this hotel for a week in May 2014. It is a very quaint old hotel in a very quiet neighbourhood just one block off Denman St. The location is great as very short walk to Stanley Park and the Seawall. We did not have a car so was easy to walk to all the attractions . The rooms are quite small and the closet was very dark. could use a light, another hanging rod or a luggage bench as no place to open your suitcase other than on your bed as floor space limited
especially with 2 people.The hotel is very clean with fresh paint . I was very leary of staying where I needed to share a bathroom across the hallway. This turned out to not be a problem as never had to wait and it was just that I needed to remember my key. Their is a sink in the room and they have lots of fluffy towels. Remember this is an old hotel so not a lot of electrical outlets.The beds are very firm almost to the hard level . The rooms are not air conditioned but the window does open and they supply a fan but was still quite hot. I appreciated the free coffee in the mornings in the room off the lobby. This was a good place to visit with other guests as a very small hotel . It has a homey feel even though the furniture is showing it`s age but comfortable. There are always daily newspapers to read while having coffee.The front desk people were guite friendly and check in was very easy.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel apparently are larger and have private bathrooms.There is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. An electrical upgrade is up on our list of things to do, I agree with you entirely. I'm hoping the next time you're in Vancouver we'll have done that work for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogi Mirim, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We visited Vancouver in June 2013. The trip was very good, the city is amazing and the area is very pleasant. The only downside was the hotel. It is very well located: the street is very quiet, but it is very close to everything, like Stanley Park and English Bay. However, I found the service very poor. As I always book accomodation in advance (2 or 3 months before traveling), I did the same with this hotel. The price was too good to be true. It was told it was a promotion price, but didn't say anything about the quality of the room. As we get to the hotel, they couldn't find our reservation. When they found, we were told our room was in 3rd floor in the end of the corridor. I asked if we could change our room due to the heavy luggage (28 days traveling through Canada), they told the hotel was full (not confirmed as it didn't seemed so) and it was not possible. However, they would help us with the luggage. Well, there was no help, the person didn't show up to help us. The room was the last one in the corridor on the last floor and very small. The bathroom was smaller and its door didn't close. Wifi service didn't reach our room (!!) as we were told. I think they did the promotional price due to the quality of the room, but we were not advised about it. We felt fooled because we believed in the pictures we saw in their sites and in the site where we did the reservation. The other rooms seemed to be OK. So, distrust them and always ask about the room. We did enjoy the area and if you stay there, there is a nice Ukrainian restaurant around the corner. You have to try it.

Room Tip: If you book so in advance, ask about the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zibordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

I did notice that you spent last summer here, over the past winter we have updated all of our rooms, replacing every piece of furniture with new pieces. We have changed the carpets in many rooms and painted a significant number as well as the hallways. We are in the process (this week actually) of upgrading the power of our wi-fi signal.

I do hope if you're in Vancouver again, you give us another try, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The hotel is in a great location in downtown Vancouver, free tea and coffee was an added extra. Big TV and wifi worked ok but did sometimes keep disconnecting me. Check in was good as we were given a map and tips on where to go. We got put in a queen double room, so two queen beds in one room. It was a fair sized room, but with two beds and all our stuff there wasn't much space left to walk around. Also one of the beds looked like it hadn't been used to sleep in by the previous occupants and therefore the sheets weren't changed as there were crumbs on it...the room was a little worn too. Before we had time to unpack the guy from reception came up to say he found us a bigger room! This was great as we didn't really have a preference at check-in. This room was much bigger and brighter so we switched rooms happily. The only problem we found was that the walls were really really think it felt like the people in the room next to us were in the same room as us! They also had a creepy floorboard in their room that ran right under our bed, so every time they walked about, it disturbed us trying to sleep. The bathrooms were fine, never had to wait for one to be free. Some of the toilets were a little too small in that you had to stand next to the toilet in order to open the door to get out. It was also a little annoying having to wait to get back into the room before being able to wash my hands, but I guess that's why they put hand sanitiser in there for. Overall, everything was fine, but they really need to improve on sound proofing the walls a little better and sorting out creeky floor boards.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zobug3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. One of the most difficult aspects of a 100 year old building is balancing modern convenience with aged architecture. Sound proofing the walls of the Buchan is something we are trying to do while balancing the original structure of the building. I can't promise we'll fix it, but it is something we are trying to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I understand that you get what you pay for. At 100$ per night for a room for two, the Buchan offers a central location within a quiet suburb, a comfortable bed, clean room, and some good tv channels, and a comfy lounge area. The tea and coffee service offered in the lounge though was disappointing. Surely real cups and spoons, and real milk, can't be expensive for the hotel? Instead we had to drink from polystyrene cups, with wooden stirrers for spoons, and coffee creamer as a milk replacement. This I found disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, General Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We've spent the past winter updating our rooms, and you beat us to it, one of our next projects was going to be updating our coffee service.

As you can imagine, balancing satisfaction, safety and cost can be quite the juggling act, but we're hopeful in the near future we'll have a coffee service that you will enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I were looking for an inexpensive room in downtown Vancouver and so did not have high expectations in this expensive city. I had seen some photos of the old rooms and booked it anyway since we had planned to not spend much time in the room. When we checked in - WOW! The rooms have been updated and we laughed at how nice our room was when we were expecting circa 1975 bedspreads and decor. Score!

The best part, however, is the location. Right off lively Denman St. with Stanley Park at one end and a nice beach at the other. Loads of shops, restaurants and pubs all along. All that plus the friendly, helpful staff. We will definitely be staying here again if we come to Vancouver.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It's funny we're putting the last touches on the last couple of rooms this week and next and it's nice to see that our efforts were noticed. We're optimistic that this year is the first year of a lot of changes at The Buchan Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
715 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#17 of 89 in Vancouver
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#56 of 89 in Vancouver
800 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#65 of 89 in Vancouver
452 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Hotel

Property: Buchan Hotel
Address: 1906 Haro St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Buchan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buchan Hotel is an economically priced 3 story walk up hotel ideal for travelers seeking clean, quiet, and comfortable accomodation. The Buchan hotel is located in a residential area of Vancouver's downtown West End, one block from Stanley Park, and three blocks from English Bay Beach. The Buchan hotel is 100% non smoking to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buchan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing