We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical hotel next to Stanley Park”
Review of Buchan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buchan Hotel
Ranked #35 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Economical hotel next to Stanley Park”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is the second time we stayed at the Buchan Hotel, and loved it both times. Once with a family of four, and once as a couple. It is located in a residential area with easy access to Stanley Park, food on Denham and shopping on Robson. We rented a tandem bike and enjoyed Stanley Park. The accomodations are spartan without frills, but the staff is friendly and helpful. There is no air conditioning, but there is a great sea breeze on the third floor. There are some longer term residents there, and you feel less like a tourist and part of the neighbourhood.

We will return every time we go to Vancouver!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We do have fans available in all of our rooms, sometimes the room attendants put them away and they can't be seen in the rooms. I'll have a talk with them and make sure, especially on hot days, that the fans are easily seen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    731
    226
    52
    26
See reviews for
270
691
321
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

As other reviews have said, it's a great location. We walked to First Beach, Stanley Park, and Harbor Park, as well as to shops to rent bikes. There are tons of restaurants on Robson Street and Denman Street. The location and appearance of the hotel was quite beautiful and lush. The rooms feel old, which is fine, but it was also a bit smelly, there were a couple stains on the carpet, and the bed wasn't the most comfortable. All in all, it was a great price for people who are going to be spending considerably more time enjoying the sites of Vancouver than in their hotel room (and don't mind stairs/shared bathrooms)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraDanae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, General Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm aware of your concern about the smell, one of the problems of an old wood building is that it can sometimes hold odors. Regarding the carpets, we do have a professional carpet cleaner in 12-15 times a year, I'll have our housekeeping look at that room and see if I can address it ASAP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed there in June for 3 nights in a first floor room with private bath. Chose it for both location and cost and were not disappointed. As we were traveling without a car, we loved the quiet, residential street, with easy access to Stanley Park, the restaurants on Denman St and English Bay. The room was clean and comfortable, but spare and perfectly adequate. We were worried about possible noise from the restaurant just outside our window, but it was quiet by 10:00 pm, even on a weekend. We would definitely stay there again if visiting Vancouver!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 76Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments! I agree with you about this neighborhood, I've lived nearby for nearly 25 years and I can't imagine living anywhere else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel four times and each and every time I have had a great stay! Clean rooms, ccomfortable beds, clean bathrooms, GREAT staff and a quiet residential location.
The customer service in this hotel is second to none. I have been to many high end hotels across North America and the service at this hotel is just as good. The satff from the front desk to the cleaning crew were so helpful and professional at all times. WiFi is $2 dollars a day (cheap).
Downtown shopping is steps away along with Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Coal Harbour, Gastown, Yaletown and the West End.
Check it out folks, even if it is just for a weekend get away to the city!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is easily accessible by public transportation and just a few blocks from Stanley Park, so we thought the location was great. We didn't spend much time here other than to sleep, but the room was clean and comfortable and served our needs. The wi-fi is not free but it's very cheap. It's a little annoying though because you have to constantly sign in again. The lobby area has lots of relevant information posted such as ferry times. The staff were really friendly. If you're looking for a clean and safe but no-frills place to stay in a perfect location in Vancouver, this is your spot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Helpful staff, clean bathroom, comfortable beds, quiet, free parking possibilities on the street. No free wifi.
The location is perfect! Safe and quiet neighborhood. Stanley park, restaurants and grocery store right next door.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene_Swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

terribly noisy, loud sidewalk cleaning machine that goes on all day long wasteful of water, not ecological and very inconsiderate of residential location of hotel. If you are a person who cares for the environment or people don't stay here. It is absolutely unbearable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Sea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanhotel, General Manager at Buchan Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2015
You weren't a guest at the hotel, but rather a neighbor. Fair enough, you expressed an opinion. However, pressure washers use very little water compared to using a normal hose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 90 in Vancouver
742 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#16 of 90 in Vancouver
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 90 in Vancouver
840 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#66 of 90 in Vancouver
477 reviews
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 90 in Vancouver
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Hotel

Property: Buchan Hotel
Address: Buchan Hotel 1906 Haro St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Buchan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buchan Hotel is an economically priced 3 story walk up hotel ideal for travelers seeking clean, quiet, and comfortable accomodation. The Buchan hotel is located in a residential area of Vancouver's downtown West End, one block from Stanley Park, and three blocks from English Bay Beach. The Buchan hotel is 100% non smoking to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Buchan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing